We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot to enjoy California's wine country”
Review of Boonville Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boonville Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boonville
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We spent two nights here and loved it. Lots of pluses: comfortable and relaxed place, imaginatively decorated, staff was so friendly and welcoming, delicious dinner near a roaring fire, beautiful lounge to relax in, great coffee and home-made scones for breakfast, sweet town. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2008

Spent a night at the Boonville at the advice of a friend working in the area for a while. The room was charming, spotless, and with a comfortable bed. The dining room was not open that night (a loss for us..) but next morning we were offered hot out of the oven scones that were the best I've had, and after traveling around Ireland doing farm stays I've sampled alot. Douse them with the delicious raspberry jam from the Philo Apple Farm down the road and around the corner heading to a state park, it's available for sale at their farm stand or at the Boonville hotel itself. The owner was very friendly, offering tour tips for us while we had refills of organic apple juice (from same apple farm) and good coffee. Note per prior review, room did not have a hair dryer but another guest requested one and was given one to use with a smile. This is a road house, so you do hear the few cars going by, but it's well muted and not a heavily traveled road at night anyway. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Had dinner here on Saturday night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was great. The Seabass entree was delicious and they make one of the best Chocolate mousse I've ever tasted...inhaled. I would highly recommend.
(Did not stay at the hotel)

Stayed: October 2008
Thank cab_frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We loved this place! Not sure of the problems that those other reviewers had, but our experience was great - room was wonderful (spacious, beautifully decorated, comfortable) and the meal was fantastic, as was the service (grilled shrimp with corn risotto, yum!). We were visiting wineries in the area and this was the perfect place to stay. We stayed in the front room on the second floor, which was next to the road - there was some traffic noise earlier in the evening, but it was much quieter later.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ZGirlBirmingham_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

My husband & I took a road trip up the northern CA/southern OR coast for our anniversary 2 weeks ago. After checking out the Frida Kahlo exhibit in SF on a Sunday, we set out on our road adventure about 4p. We crossed the Golden Gate Bridge & then over to Hwy 1 thru Muir Woods.

I really wanted to stop at Nick's Cove for a glass of wine & oysters, but we also wanted to make it a little further up the coast before it got too late. This stretch of coast up thru Point Reyes Station and Tomales is a beautiful area though, and high on our list to come back and explore in the near future.

We decided to cut back over to Hwy 101 via Sebastopol in hopes of making better time vs the slow going Hwy 1. But that didn't last long; when I saw the exit sign for Booneville (just past Cloverdale on Hwy 101), I remember I'd read an article last year about the Booneville Hotel and thought it sounded perfect for our road side stop over.

Unfortunately, by the time we exited Hwy 101 and began our drive up Hwy 128 thru Anderson Valley, it was dark. But we could tell it would be an amazing drive in the daytime. After driving in darkness for well over half an hour, we finally entered Boonville and were immediately excited by the sight of a colorful ferris wheel spinning in the night! While we're not usually carnival people, we've found when traveling that a carnival brings out more of the locals, which always adds to a vacation experience (i.e. Mexico City at Christmas time!).

As we drove thru town we were even more excited to see two different restaurants had their outdoor taco stand grills in full serving swing, with lines of patrons ready for a late dinner bite! We love street tacos!

But first we found the Boonville Hotel near by and went inside to check it out. From the street it it had a welcoming glow and cute front porch. As we entered the front door, we could hear the soft buzz of happy eating and drinking in the back restaurant. It was a little confusing as to where the "front desk" was, but after poking around the front rooms, someone from the restaurant approached us to ask if we were checking in. After asking if they still had any rooms, we were very disappointed to hear no! The bubble I'd started to create about the perfectly random road side stop over complete with a taco stand, night cap in the hotel bar and a room in the historic hotel had just burst!

Oh, well. Now I know this for sure, despite the mixed reviews I've read on here about the hotel, we'll be planning a trip back to the Anderson Valley soon, and the Boonville Hotel will be our home base. For this trip, we continued on and spent the evening in Fort Bragg. Which turned out to be a nice discovery in it's self.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We selected this site to launch into the Anderson Valley and Mendocino for a romantic 3-day weekend. The staff seemed somewhat uninterested in our arrival and sent us upstairs with a key. The room was simple, clean, and nice looking, but upon further review we noticed the pillows were not much more than a doily, the shower had no shelf upon which to place soap products, the pedestal bed was the source of three bruises to my knees as I attempted to get around to "my side" and the owners provided no hair dryer and only 2 unmarked bath products (presumably shampoo and conditioner?). The lack of good plumbing necessitated a request for a toilet plunger.
Finally, and most importantly, the room lacked any sort of sound insullation. This became more apparent the second afternoon when a hootenany of people arrived with their children! The stomping, running, screaming, and yelling of children has a way of dampening any romantic thoughts and the adults were having long and loud conversations in the hallways - it sounded as if they were in our room... it seemed as though the new guests may have been invited by the owners, but their behavior was enormously inconsiderate of paying guests. We ate in the restaurant both nights for dinner. The lamb was excellent, the sirloin and mussels only mediocre. Coffee and scones were "provided" in the morning from 830-930am. Not very convenient for early risers and not very plentiful for anyone who wakes up hungry. The first morning, we got tired of waiting and headed out un-caffeinate and unfed. The second morning, "breakfast" was like being in a day care center. The bar hostess was more intent on filling her own coffee cup than being sure the guests had suffient provisions. For a $600 stay (2 nights + 2 dinners), this was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kitty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2007

Visiting San Francisco from New Zealand for a very limited time, we decided to make just one road trip for one night and the Boonville Hotel had been reccommended to us by a friend from the East Bay. It turned out to be everything we could have wanted and more.

The rambling and picturesque garden setting was just what the doctor ordered and the laid-back yet very attentive staff complemented the setting perfectly (the Pale Ale from the Anderson Valley Brewing Company just up the road didn't hurt either!). We had been given great advice on what to do in the area by one of the hotel's staff by phone prior to leaving NZ and visited the local apple farm and the nearby redwood grove before settling in for some good food and wine in the restaurant.

Our meals were excellent (the chef even found some lamb which was not on the menu for one of us) and the theme of relaxed yet attentive service continued. Retiring to the sitting room for a glass of port rounded off the evening nicely.

Our rooms were large and comfortable and, despite being in the two front rooms (with huge balconies with fantastic hammocks) which were adjacent to the main road, we had the best sleep of our entire trip.

Upon leaving the Boonville Hotel, our only regret was that we hadn't more time to stay longer and completely unwind in the welcoming, relaxing setting.

If you're looking for a super-smart joint where the staff jump to attention as soon as you appear, then this place is not for you. If, however, you're after a place that captures the gentle pace of Northern California and that will erase any lingering "rat-race" memories, then you've found your spot.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SFNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boonville
23.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
777 reviews
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
22.3 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
543 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Madrones
The Madrones
#1 of 4 in Philo
136 reviews
5.1 mi away
Indian Creek Inn
Indian Creek Inn
#2 of 4 in Philo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boonville Hotel

Address: 14050 Hwy. 128, Boonville, CA 95415
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Boonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boonville
Price Range: £56 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
– simplicity by design – at the boonville hotel, we have our own ideas about what makes a satisfying getaway. we pare down to the basics, then make those basics anything but. throughout the hotel, we reject clutter for quality, offering a small number of choice options. we have a limited staff so we can compensate them better, making for a higher quality of service. we have a small menu so we can showcase the best ingredients on every plate. this is simplicity by design. our luxuries are the light, the space, the landscape. amenities are thoughtfully selected with an eye on natural materials and ingredients, ecological impact, and the pleasure they provide. while you’re here, we invite you to BE here. the rooms have no tv or phones, and internet service is unpredictable. this is a rural roadhouse, where we put our energy into clean, comfortable beds, fresh, expertly prepared food, and friendly, down to earth staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing