We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely Mendocino experience”
Review of Boonville Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boonville Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boonville
San Francisco
1 review
“lovely Mendocino experience”
Reviewed 15 June 2009

My wife and I decided to drive up highway 1 from San Francisco on a gorgeous day and ended up staying in this charming, professionally run establishment. We enjoyed an excellent dinner with a menu offering fresh and seasonal cuisine. The service was friendly and attentive in the elegant setting. We look forward to our next visit so we can enjoy once again the very comfortable room, the freshly baked scones and a true sense of hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephane69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    26
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
16
71
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Our two night stay at the Boonville Hotel provided a magical oasis in 100 degree weather. Our front room had a comfortable bed, lovely sitting area and huge porch, and the gardens provided spectacular dapple and shade throughout the afternoon and evening. The food was delicious, the staff friendly and the location put all Boonville within walking distance. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We stayed in the "Studio" portion, a separate building behind the main hotel. No telephone, no TV, No Problem. We were there for peace and quiet and a look at northern California. The gardens were beautiful, the air smelled of blossoms and the food delicious. Sunrise on the hills opposite the hotel was lovely and such a different look than New England. The morning walks on the main street were a little short on sidewalk but the traffic was light and the road edge wide and flat. The staff in the main building were pleasant and helpful and whoever changed our towels was invisible.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wales19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

My husband and I stayed one night. Our room was clean and small with a shower - no tub. The linens were clean, bed nicely made. It didn't bother us but some people might miss having a phone, tv.,coffee maker or room service. However not even a brochure giving the history of the 1850 era roadhouse, seemed odd. Upon check-in, the woman at the front desk was officious and distant (maybe she was having a bad day).

We made reservations that night and ate at their restaurant - it was delicious. After dinner upon retiring to our room (#4) - it was VERY noisy. You could hear people outside having regular conversations, doors slamming etc.

While there was nothing bad about the Boonville Hotel, there wasn't that extra "...Gee, we're sure glad you're here..." vibe. I don't think we'd go back. We'lll just continue to head to Mendocino (MacCallum House or Headlands Inn).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artist26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We love this hotel! The staff is very friendly. The rooms are beautiful. The whole place has a wonderful, rustic, cozy feeling -- but with crisp, clean sheets and delicious food and wine. The grounds are rambling and full of beautiful gardens. The little town of Boonville is great too.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler22Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Ca
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We spent a comfortable, relaxing weekend at the Boonville Hotel. It is decorated in a shaker style that is minimal and beautiful. Everything I needed was provided. The staff was extremely accomadating, the beds were comfortable. The shower was fantastic and the rooms were clean. The food was delicious, and the owner Johnny is gracious and friendly. The gardens are lush and beautiful. Johnny grows the food and cooks with the fresh home grown ingredients.
I highly recommend this hotel,and I think it would be a great place for a family reunion, wedding or just a group of friends getting together because the is a large comfortable living room to hang out in.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyoftraveling9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I went to Boonville/Anderson Valley with a group of friends. I stayed in the room towards back of hotel. The grounds are very lovely. The hotel is charming and clean. The staff seem nice. But not overly hospitable. They did not leave an "awesome" impression.

Yes, the rooms are clean. And decorated very nicely and charming. But, Be warned. There is no TV. No radio. No clock. No hairdryer. ... no standard ammenities. For the room rates, its not really fair. Plus they do not mention how "bare-boned" it is on the website. Its way, waaaaayyy overpriced due to the lack of these basics.

The bed was not comfortable. I awoke with an achy back (its on a wood platform ...? ). And its damn noisy in the morning between the hallway noise and the street traffic.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rambler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boonville
23.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
771 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
517 reviews
12.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
The Lodge at Blue Lakes
#2 of 3 in Upper Lake
252 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Madrones
The Madrones
#1 of 4 in Philo
130 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boonville Hotel

Property: Boonville Hotel
Address: 14050 Hwy. 128, Boonville, CA 95415
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Boonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
– simplicity by design – at the boonville hotel, we have our own ideas about what makes a satisfying getaway. we pare down to the basics, then make those basics anything but. throughout the hotel, we reject clutter for quality, offering a small number of choice options. we have a limited staff so we can compensate them better, making for a higher quality of service. we have a small menu so we can showcase the best ingredients on every plate. this is simplicity by design. our luxuries are the light, the space, the landscape. amenities are thoughtfully selected with an eye on natural materials and ingredients, ecological impact, and the pleasure they provide. while you’re here, we invite you to BE here. the rooms have no tv or phones, and internet service is unpredictable. this is a rural roadhouse, where we put our energy into clean, comfortable beds, fresh, expertly prepared food, and friendly, down to earth staff. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing