We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful escape!”
Review of The Toll House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boonville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Toll House
Ranked #1 of 2 Boonville B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful escape!”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

What a wonderful escape and friendly bed and breakfast! Wifi works great, nice living room with a warm fireplace. Healthy and thoughtful breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWolff72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My stay at Toll House was perfect; everything was enjoyable and I would recommend this Inn to anyone traveling in the Anderson Valley area. The accommodations were elegant, clean and very comfortable. The setting/ambiance was beautiful, peaceful & relaxing, and the Inn is situated near many of the Mendicino wineries. The innkeepers were hospitable, warm, and friendly; there were freshly baked scones and chilled wine waiting for me every night when I got home. I will definitely return again to Toll House Inn the next time I am visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings on Hudson, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Toll House Inn for four nights this month. The house has been renovated so tastefully -- the furnishings, colors and ambience are just right for the area -- kind of sophisticated country. Everything is new and clean. I could have moved in without changing a single thing. The innkeepers are a young couple -- friendly, responsible and there to chat as much as you want/don't want. A couple of small suggestions: change up breakfast a little, add jam for the delicious scones, make sure the coffee is HOT, and add a lounge chair or two to the outdoor deck. I was unaware that in order to have your room made up, you have to specifically request it. We didn't and in four days the bed wasn't made -- to me not a big deal, but important to know if it matters to you. Now for the one unfortunate negative -- one that would probably prevent us from returning. The house (at one time a working "toll" house) sits directly on a road that is surprisingly busy with cars and logging trucks. It's the road between Boonville and Ukiah and is busy from early morning until dark. If you could pick up the inn and place it in a quiet location befitting it's sense of peace and relaxation, I'd be back in a minute.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abbef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
248 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We were unable to obtain reservations for the two nights we had available at any place we had previously stayed, so we decided to try the Toll House Inn. They have not been in business too long and are less known, being 5 miles from Boonville on the rode to Ukiah. We truly enjoyed the stay, especially for the nice ambience of the Inn including having breakfast outside in the back. Besides the room in which we stayed, we could see into two others. All were nicely period-decorated, as was the living room which guests freely use. Breakfast was self-serve buffet-style: food was good, but certainly not the affair one sometimes finds. The >60 acres are free for guests to hike and roam, which we did arriving late in the afternoon on the first day, with terrific (and quite private) views at the top of the hill/mountain. The only downside of our stay was that the road between Ukiah and Boonville is used more than I could imagine. As this was truly a Toll House to collect fares at one time, the Inn is sitting right next to the road. As the region is otherwise so quiet, a passing car or truck is noticeable, especially as we left windows open. Unlike us, I recommend getting one of the back bedrooms, or even better, the detached unit in back of the main house. In summary, I would book the Toll House Inn again utilizing that caution.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelin_tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at the Toll House for a wedding that was taking place at the Boonville Inn. The Toll House is a great place - all the rooms have their own unique charms. The sights to be seen while traveling there are lovely and everyone should take the time to appreciate.

Room Tip: Ask for the Porch room - great to sit out in the evening and enjoy the day is it comes to an end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tardis750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Toll House Inn is the perfect weekend escape from San Francisco. Located just a few hours away, it and the adorable town of Boonville transports you to a simpler time. A quiet atmosphere with no TV, but great wine and beer, leaves plenty of time for clearing you mind, playing card games and just talking with whomever you bring along with you for the adventure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maloriejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Toll House (the Red Room) over an exhausting working weekend in the area. Coming back in the evening after a long day to such a welcoming Inn and our comfortable room was a wonderfull treat. The simple breakfast was just what we needed to start our day - the scones were fantastic!
We look forward to our next stay - hopefully we'll have some time to explore the beautiful grounds and hiking trails.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boonville
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ukiah
Hampton Inn Ukiah
#1 of 15 in Ukiah
501 reviews
8.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ukiah
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 15 in Ukiah
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Madrones
The Madrones
#1 of 4 in Philo
126 reviews
8.0 mi away
Indian Creek Inn
Indian Creek Inn
#2 of 4 in Philo
22 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toll House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toll House

Property: The Toll House
Address: 12378 Boonville Rd / Hwy 253, Boonville, CA 95415
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Boonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Toll House is an historic Boonville landmark built in 1912. A two hour drive from San Francisco, the Toll House sits on 650 scenic acres. Enjoy easy access to wineries, parks, and gatherings in Anderson Valley, and explore the hills and meadows that make up the Toll House's backyard. The Toll House has four bedrooms, four and a half bathrooms, and can sleep up to 12 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing