We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's our little secret!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borrego Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Heber
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's our little secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Always a pleasure, even in the summer. Staff is friendly, property is clean and quaint. Very small and cozy. It is a pleasure to sit on the private patio or in front of the room and listen to the quiet.
(We love it because they request no cell phone calls in open areas!!!)
The early morning coffee angel has the coffee ready early- even in the summer - kept fresh all morning.

We love it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
It does feel like a "secret," doesn't it, especially in the summer months when everything is so quiet and low-key. We are very happy to know that you love it (so do we!), and we especially appreciate your acknowledgment of the Coffee Angel -- we'll pass your praise on. Thanks so much for your visit and for your post, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    37
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
298
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Borrego Valley Inn for three days in April 2012. We were in LA for my brother's birthday party and we decided to take a break just for us. We are hikers and birders, and we spent our days in the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park that surrounds the town. The park information center is a couple miles down the road from the Inn, and town is a couple miles the other way. We really enjoyed the famous walk to the palm tree canyon in the park.

The Inn has a Southwest flavor. The rooms are in two single-story row buildings that face each other. In between is a sandy desert floor with beautiful desert plants watered with drip irrigation. If you walk out of the Inn away from the road, there are no fences, just the open desert. Although the Inn is on the main road, we did not notice any road noise. There is no restaurant except for the free breakfast. The rooms are beautifully furnished, meticulously clean and nice, and quietly elegant. The Inn keepers are pleasant, helpful and genuinely interested in their guests. Altogether a wonderful experience.

The Inn is not cheap, and normally I would object to paying top dollar for a room I only sleep in. After all, we are away walking in the desert most of the day. But in this case the Inn seems to be another feature of the desert, and so our walk in the desert ends with a return to a desert Inn, and thus completes the day.

If you don't mind the cost, the Inn is a good base for exploring the park. I can see it would be relaxing for couples. It might not be ideal for those who don't really love the desert and think the desert is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nightheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the risk of paying "top dollar" during our peak season for your stay. The Inn is an expensive enterprise to operate, so we really appreciate that you found it worth your money and that you enjoyed a 'wonderful experience." That's what we're trying to create. Like you, most of our guests are hikers, birders, and explorers who relish the idea of "returning" to the desert at the end of the day to continue basking in the distinctive atmosphere. Thanks for visiting and for your generous comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed there July 13th-15th and eventhough it was considered the "off-season" by the locals, there was still plenty to see and do in town. However, the Inn is so nice we never wanted to leave. The rooms are very spacious and clean. We had clean robes in our room and a very nice breakfast basket placed in our fridge each day. We had our own private patio but I personally enjoyed sitting out in front of our room watching the birds and rabbits in the courtyard. The pools and hottubs are in good condition and there is a great view of the stars and mountains from them.
If you are looking for a very relaxful and romantic place then this is the one. The owners have really work hard to make you feel welcomed and relaxed. I would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Get rooms 1-7, then you will have a view of the mountains from your front porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolC1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
It sounds like you took full advantage of the off-season, when things are really quiet here and we can focus on the birds and the bunnies! Like you, we find that spending time in nature is one of the best ways to unwind and de-stress. Thank you for finding us and for visiting. We're very happy you had the chance to experience what the Inn has to offer, and thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

To celebrate our 25th anniversary, we decided to reserve a room here on the "Summer Sizzle" special which afforded us the luxury of a stay here. Generally speaking, the standard rates would be a far stretch on our limited budgets. We have stayed at many places previously in Borrego Springs and the Anza Borrego Desert in the past since we generally have visited here at least twice a year for the past 25 years. We started with primitive camping back in the late 80's and gradually moved on to the pay campgrounds and ultimately to most of the other motels and accomodations in the area. For about 9 months,we once lived out here too while running the general store and fuel depot at the Butterfield Ranch Resort. Lisa and I agree that the "Borrego Valley Inn" is by far the nicest accomodations in the area which we have visited to date. As many others have mentioned, this place is maintained with a high degree of standards. Not only was our room in immaculate condition upon our arrival but the entire grounds were clean, well maintained and inviting. The complimentary breakfasts provided were ample and we enjoyed these breakfasts on both mornings while sitting on our porch for hours, relaxing and enjoying the view of the birds and bunnies scrambling around in the peaceful and serene garden setting, The staff which we encountered were all friendly and attentive to our needs. While on most accounts, 3 days and 2 nights in the desert here are enough for me at one time, I actually found myself regretting that I had not reserved the room for 3 nights instead of the two. Time went too quicky as we cashed in on some quality R&R in this peaceful and quiet setting. I could not think of a place I would rather stay in the desert than here, ever again. I only hope the specials will remain forthcoming. Thank you BVI for the peace and serenity provided which I discovered on my birthday and our 25th anniversary. :-) ~Mike & Lisa

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #7 which is one of the larger rooms. Nicely equipped with a kitchinette including...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrazyDonkey1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Happy 25th Anniversary! Quite an accomplishment, and we couldn't be happier you found the Inn and the affordable SIZZLE special fit the bill for such a significant celebration. Many of our guests report stories similar to yours -- started out camping years ago and gradually moved on to include more creature comforts. It sounds like you made the most of the great combination of being in the desert and enjoying a little luxury, too. And not to worry -- we offer our summer specials every year. And now that you've visited, look for our up-coming "Welcome Back" specials (October through mid-December) for returning guests, too. Thanks so much for choosing the Inn and for your generous post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Decided to book here after reading many positive reviews and couldn't be happier with the choice. The grounds are meticulously maintained, common areas were very welcoming, and my room (#7) provided a great escape from the June heat.
Put simply, it lived up to the highest of my expectations and I will definitely be coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you, Chad! It makes us very happy to hear you were happy with your stay and that it exceeded your expectations. Room 7, a Palo Verde class room, is definitely a favorite, but if it's not available, #1, #8, and #14 have the same size and configuration. If you're a summer desert lover (hot sunny days, balmy starry nights), check out our new seasonal specials! Best available room at very inviting rates. Like you, we appreciate the decidedly quiet and Idyllic vibe in the desert's summer months. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

waouh... one of our best hotel experiences! Everything was perfect: staff, room, swimming pool, location. What else can we say except THANK YOU Borrego Valley Inn, we can't wait to come back again one day.
We stayed in Room #10 Cliffrose, just perfect for us: kitchenette with plates, glasses, well everything for you to eat in your room or private patio.
The cookies made by Luisa every afternoon were much appreciated after a long walk in the desert, along with the complimentary coffee/tea and cold drinks in the lobby.
Very good breakfast buffet with home made stuff (again by Luisa) and fresh fruits, so much appreciated to start the day.
Very good wireless internet, we were able to skype our friends and family back in France to share the view and location with them.
So nice to relax in the pool after a hot day in the desert.
Everybody was so nice, especially the staff but we also had the chance to meet couples of other guests very nice. This place is so quiet and peaceful, all guests seem to respect this peace.
In conclusion: THANK YOU BORREGO VALLEY INN.

Room Tip: Rooms #1 to #7 get the sun in their patio in the morning, rooms #8 to #14 get the sun in the afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne_Corinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
No, thank YOU! We so appreciate that you found your experience at the Inn to be pleasing and relaxing. And we LOVE that you were able to share the view via Skype with family and friends in France -- that's fun and a wonderful use of technology! We agree with your point about our guests -- they are universally lovely and wonderful folks who are fun to talk to and who have a deep appreciation for all things natural and peaceful, like you. Thank you so very much for finding us and making the long journey to join us. We hope to welcome you back some day, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is an excellent off-season get away! The southwest style rustic adobe hacienda is welcoming, quiet and clean. The staff is personable and eager to please. They know the area and willingly suggest places to go and things to do. Buffet breakfasts are wonderful with a variety of offerings. The homemade breads, compliments of staff, are yummy! The accommodations are simple, yet comfortable and the relaxing atmosphere is a boon to the spirit. I'm eager to return both off-season and during the winter.

Room Tip: There are 15 rooms in the single story inn and each one has its attraction. Staff is most willing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
You've got it right -- a "get away" for sure, and we're happy to know you find the Inn a place for much-needed re-charging of the battery. The desert has very distinct seasons ("off" and "on"!), with much to appreciate about all of them. Like you, we find early summer to be our favorite time of year. The nice warm days and the beautiful star-lit nights in May and June are just unbeatable! Thanks so much for your post, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.7 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort...
#1 of 2 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Property: Borrego Valley Inn
Address: 405 Palm Canyon Drive, Borrego Springs, CA 92004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Desert Inn with rustic southwestern elegance in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park(R). A refuge, not a resort, offering casual comforts in a desert wilderness. Located in the heart of the village of Borrego Springs. Serene gardens, pristine desert surroundings, 15 peaceful rooms, private sun/star patios, two pools and hot tubs, delicious breakfast... Your place in California's Secret Desert™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing