We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Peace and Quiet”
Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borrego Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

First off if you go out here looking for any night life then you are barking up the wrong tree. The tension had been building for a whlie, a short road trip was in order. Its the off season for them right now so I got a stellar rate on expedia (125).

The room was awesome, AC worked great and there was a little patio to lay out on. There are two pools which are open 24 hours and lights go out at 11pm which is great for star gazing. We put together a little good bag for ourselves to take to the pool and filled it with ice. Hung out at the pool until the sun went down. Stayed out in the court yard with a bottle of champagne and just relaxed and enjoyed the desert sounds. We really enjoyed our time together and the peace and quiet.

Breakfast at this time of year consist of a tray already in your fridge. There were two pieces of Frittata, 2 jars with yogurt, fruit, granola, 2 jars with fresh squeezed juice, piece of banana nut bread, scone and some fresh fruit along with fresh coffee brewed out in the courtyard starting at 7am. It was a lot of fun and we will be back. Helpful votes are appreciated!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTripandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Sounds to us like you got the "summer in the desert" experience completely dialed in! You're right -- not much night life here except for what you create for yourself. And it looks like you did a superb job at that! Thanks so much for choosing the Inn for your little road trip from LA. We used to do the same thing when we lived in Santa Monica. Borrego became our go to spot to reclaim sanity. We appreciate your visit and your review. Thanks so much, and we hope to see you again soon. Until then, be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I enjoy taking weekend excursions when we can. Not wanting to fight the Palm Springs crowd, and wanting some "downtime", we stayed a weekend at the Borrego Valley Inn. And, what a wonderful experience it was! The Inn is only a few blocks from central Borrego Springs, with a picturesque view of the desert and mountains surrounding Borrego Springs. Our room was decorated in a southwest theme, with careful attention paid to detail. The A/C worked flawlessly. The grounds are landscaped and maintained perfectly. Kaye at the front desk was so pleasant to talk to as well. We will return ASAP!

Room Tip: Choose one of the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StevieB92630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

It's wonderful that you found serenity on your recent weekend excursion to Borrego Springs. When time is short, we really don't want to fight any crowds (and that's rarely a problem here!) We're happy to know you had a wonderful experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back. In the meantime, thanks so much for choosing the Inn and for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate that. Happy trails!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We found an oasis of tranquility and a haven from the blazing summer sun...
Our 4th of July wedding anniversary always brings an anxious expectation of quiet celebration, and we have found the perfect place! Kaye welcomed us graciously and Luisa's creations enhanced our mornings...
We long for the magnificent sunset we experienced in this desert sanctuary, and will return often!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Happy Anniversary! How special that you found your quiet place for celebration at the Inn. As a refuge (not a resort), the Inn is a place where guests can find the quiet, tranquility, and privacy they crave -- and a magnificent desert sunset for good measure! We wish you the best and thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to post a review. Happy trails!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good breakfast, comfortable rooms, friendly staff, well maintained grounds. Central to Anza Borrego State Park and surrounding areas. All in all, a great desert getaway. Try to visit within the peak season, because dining options in Borrego Valley are limited in the summer months. Also, the driveway into the inn is a little tricky to find from the main road.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwriley819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to post your review. We're happy you found tranquility here with us out here in the middle of nowhere -- we try to keep things friendly and simple. And thanks for noting our low-key approach to the entry drive. It's our nod to subtlety! We appreciate that you stayed with us and hope to welcome you again. Until then, we wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A piece of paradise! Best part of our trip. Peaceful, relaxing, naturally beautiful. The only sounds are the birds. Enjoyed sitting in the hot tub under the stars. Magical. Breakfasts were a delight. The corner room was bright and private.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank levi4861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

How nice to hear the Inn was a memorable part of your recent trip! Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to post. We're happy you enjoyed the simplicity, peace and quiet of our small and intimate setting. We agree it's a bit of paradise! Happy trails to you on future travels, and we hope to welcome you back another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I joined TripAdvisor just so I could write a review of this magical place. I work in the hospitality industry ... fun fact: most people who work in the hospitality industry have a love-hate relationship with this website. Mostly hate. But I will contribute my two cents because TripAdvisor members deserve to know how amazing Borrego Valley Inn truly is. First, it's easy on the eyes: well-chosen western-style decor -- well-curated, not kitchy; wonderful courtyard layout with native plants both planted and potted; pathways leading to benches offering different vistas; rocking chairs scattered around the perimeter of the courtyard; an aviary with funny chirpy little zebra finches (don't worry ... they barely make a sweet little peep); and an outdoor sitting area outside the breakfast room complete with a fireplace. There are two swimming pools with two hot tubs. One of the pools is clothing optional. Um ... yeah. I wasn't aware of this when I booked and I just so happened to forget my swimsuit. I never would have thought in a million years that I would be brave enough to swim au naturel but I felt so comfortable here ... so free and peaceful ... that I just DID IT. I had the place to myself late at night, floating and looking up at the brightest, clearest night sky I have ever seen. I admire the owners' bravery to have a no young children & no pets policy. I like kids and pets (hey ... I even have two goats!), but that energy would just not fit here. The room was perfection: red tile floor that soaks up the warmth of the sun; white walls that reflect the transcendent desert light; kiva style fireplace; private patio for sipping and solitude (and blankets to warm you at night ... they have thought of everything here!). I loved my room's walk-in tile shower and the kitchenette complete with cups, glasses, plates, utensils ... even a trusty (and much appreciated) cerveza opener. The breakfast frittatas and pastries provided a fresh and tasty start to my two day visit. If you are searching for a place to relax -- somewhere "less travelled" and thoroughly enchanting -- choose the Borrego Valley Inn. To the owners: congratulations on creating such a special place. And thank you for sharing it with me!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Manager at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

You can't imagine how your kind words have touched our hearts and lightened our steps! We're pleased beyond measure that you discovered exactly what we hope to provide-- a memorable, relaxing experience. (We, too, love stargazing while floating, a divine warm-weather experience). Thank you for visiting, joining TripAdvisor, and making the time for your thoughtful, articulate post. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back another time. Until then, we wish you the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Borrego Valley Inn is our oasis in the desert. Once a year we always look forward to our stay there. The welcome is always warm and the quiet setting so inviting, it's hard to leave to get out to see the breathtaking scenery. Don't miss the great hiking in the area for all levels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamestmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

How nice of you to visit again and take the time to post a review. We're pleased you find the Inn an oasis and the quiet setting appealing. Like you, many guests report that they don't want to leave the property, and some arrive and don't budge, preferring much needed R&R to activity, especially in the warmer months. Even with nearby hiking trails calling, the scenery can be appreciated by simply relaxing in the courtyard. We hope the trails ahead for you are happy ones. Thanks again for coming back, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrego Springs
4.7 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
503 reviews
17.5 mi away
Julian Lodge
Julian Lodge
#1 of 4 in Julian
133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#5 of 7 in Borrego Springs
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Address: 405 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-3201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range: £151 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel the Highway West to Borrego Valley Inn where you can feel relaxed and rejuvenated underneath the serene starry skies of Borrego Springs. Comfortable rooms for two with private patios, native desert gardens, and abundant views of the surrounding landscape allow you to unwind in rustic elegance. Enjoy California’s best kept desert secret with a variety of on-site amenities including swimming pools, complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon cookies served from October to May, and premium coffee, as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. Explore the expansive Anza-Borrego Desert State Park, walk down the street to the quaint Borrego Springs village full of shops and restaurants, or soak in the hot tub as you take in the unparalleled views of the evening sky. If you are looking for a memorable vacation experience amongst the wildflowers and solitude of the Southern California desert, look no further than Borrego Valley Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing