We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the Desert”
Review of La Casa del Zorro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Casa del Zorro
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Borrego Springs
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in the Desert”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This vacation was just perfect. The deluxe rooms by the pool had all of the comforts we were looking for. While I'm sure this place is wonderful during peak season, if your looking to relax and unwind, summer is the perfect time to visit the resort. The food was fantastic and they have live entertainment on the weekends. This was my first trip to the desert, but it won't be my last. The staff was so friendly and we felt right at home. What made our stay even more special is the resort is pet friendly and our Caviler King Charles Spaniel was not only welcome (for a fee) but the staff was very accommodating to our little guy as well.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms by the pool are great for two, larger group will enjoy he private Casitas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank divawtude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, Front Office Manager at La Casa del Zorro, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Divawtude,

It's thrilling to hear that your "vacation was just perfect" at La Casa del Zorro! It sounds like you stayed in one of our fabulous Deluxe Poolside Rooms with the patio that opens to the pool. We enjoyed having your Spaniel here the for the experience also. Please do come back to see us again!

Tim Williams
Front Office Manager
La Casa del Zorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    117
    46
    17
    6
See reviews for
117
250
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had not been there for a while, last visit a few years ago was not pleasant. Since they now have new owners and have re-opened, we gave it a chance. We were very impressed, the same comfortable, friendly atmosphere is back! We will visit on a regular basis, as long as they keep the friendly attitude, we are hooked!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyvisitor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, Front Office Manager at La Casa del Zorro, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Happyvisitor2014,

YES, La Casa del Zorro is certainly back!! We are thoroughly pleased to know you enjoyed the revitalized La Casa. The resort has now been open for a little over a year, and our goal is recapturing the magic of La Casa del Zorro as it was for many years. Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience. You are always welcome as our guest!

Tim Williams
Front Office Manager
La Casa del Zorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I surprised my wife with a get-away weekend and I couldn't be happier with how it all played out. We had never been to the desert before so I did some research for a place to stay and kept seeing the name "La Casa del Zorro" popping up. Figured I'd give it a shot.
We arrived around 7:45 on a Friday evening and the temperature was a balmy 100 degrees! Check in was a breeze with a wonderful welcome from the front desk agent. We entered our room and was greeted with a 70 degree interior. Felt like heaven! The room was beautifully decorated in a simple, rustic manner with a wonderfully comfortable queen size bed and two super comfortable and handsome lounge chairs. I want these chairs for my living room! The bath room was gorgeous with marble tiles, large step-in shower and separate soaking tub. Everything was spotless! The water pressure was terrific. All-in-all our room was perfect.
The grounds of the property are well manicured and maintained. You can tell the employees take great pride in this resort. The restaurant was attractive (the first night we had dinner pool-side) and the food was good but not exceptional. The lounge area is small but fit the bill for the resort's size. We loved our bartender "Joanie."
Every employee we met had a smile on their face and were quick to ask if there was anything they could do for you.
The amenities were terrific! There are swimming pools everywhere here. The resort boasts about the tennis courts and I have to admit they might be some of the best courts I have ever seen! Loved the horseshoes, croquet, bocce, and life-size chess games. These were wonderful but the biggest attraction is the night sky. Being in the middle of the Anza-Borrego desert affords the most magnificent view of what most of us take for granted. My wife saw the Milky Way for the first time in her life. It was magical! We were able to rent a small telescope form the property too!
We loved our stay at the La Casa and we can not wait to return with our adult children so they can experience the amazing night sky as well.

Room Tip: Pool-side deluxe rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, Front Office Manager at La Casa del Zorro, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Michael C,

Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful experience with us! Your description of your lovely weekend getaway reads better and means more than any piece of marketing information that could be produced. We are absolutely thrilled that your wife saw the Milky Way for the first time!! "Magical, Experiential, Tranquil" is our motto to deliver that kind of experience for our guests.

Your positive comments about our resort and team members is greatly appreciated, and it is our pleasure to serve you. Come back soon to see more stars!

Tim Williams
Front Office Manager
La Casa del Zorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We think this is the nicest place to stay in Anza Borrego. The place is spread out and well-landscaped so you don't feel crowded in at all. This was a birthday surprise getaway weekend for my husband, who was just getting over some surgery so that he could now hike and play tennis. The girl who took our reservations said she could make my husband a "towel" animal for the bed as a surprise. She actually made her first labrador retriever head for him that contained a nice birthday card from the resort. We loved it. We didn't know we cold have brought our dog, but did enjoy other dogs people had brought to the resort. A French bulldog puppy joined us for breakfast on the resort patio.

We had high winds the day we arrived, so we didn't get to play tennis the first afternoon as we had planned. However, wandering around we found bocce ball, croquet, horse shoes and a gym as well as the heated pools and hot tubs outside each villa, so we had plenty to do. It was fun to just relax and fool around without a schedule right on site. Across the street from the villas is where the sculptors make the larger-than-life rusted metal sculptures that one can find out in the desert. That was fun to look at as well.

We had a nice dinner in the pub, with a very attentive bartender making sure all was to our satisfaction. The night sky was beautiful as we wandered back to our room that evening, and the room spacious and quiet, with beautiful bathrooms. Very quiet, too. The robes were a nice touch for an evening pool visit.

We did get to play tennis on the beautiful new courts the next morning, and used the gym - me to do yoga and my husband used the stationery bike. Then we had a rematch of bocce ball before exploring the desert on our way home to San Diego. A very romantic getaway - late April gave us perfect weather, too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TumblinSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, Front Office Manager at La Casa del Zorro, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear TumblinSun,

Wow, sounds like you both had an exciting visit full of fun, romance, and memories as you celebrated your husband's birthday! Yes, we certainly do accept well-behaved dogs with a $50/night pet fee in our 1st floor Deluxe rooms and Casitas, so please do feel free to bring your dog when you come again. Thank you for your kind words about La Casa del Zorro and your personal compliment of our bartender. We eagerly await your return!

Tim Williams
Front Office Manager
La Casa del Zorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Beautiful resort, huge gorgeous rooms, great food! Borrego Springs is a tiny town but perfect if you love the desert, and absolutely no fighting traffic! Casa del Zorro is a true oasis, with beautiful pools, fountains, trees, and flowers. And so many birds! Even in June the evenings were pleasantly cool, and the stars very bright.

We will come back with the family and rent one of the casitas. These have 2,3, or 4 bedrooms, and even have their own pools and hot tubs. The resort also offers croquet and horseshoes, not to mention giant chess, as well as a live band outside on the weekend. No need to go anywhere else, which is a good thing since in June not much else in the area is open!

Room Tip: Check for specials, and great summer prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, Front Office Manager at La Casa del Zorro, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Dagny111,

You seem to have captured for yourself a little snippet of the peace and tranquility that is Borrego Springs and La Casa del Zorro! Coming back to rent a Casita sounds like a great idea, as it provides lots of extra space and your own private pool. It's great to know you enjoyed the numerous activity amenities and the live band. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Tim Williams
Front Office Manager
La Casa del Zorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Took advantage of an internet special offer to try Casa del Zorro as a romantic weekend getaway with my sweetheart in January 2014. It fulfilled or exceeded all our expectations. The grounds were lovely, the rooms spacious, clean and pleasant, the dining excellent, and the overall atmosphere peaceful. It makes a great base from which to explore the Anza-Borrego Desert, the Galleta Meadows sculptures, and other nearby attractions. My only gripe is that heavier than usual cloud cover obscured our view of the night sky, but the lodge can hardly be blamed for that.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, Front Office Manager at La Casa del Zorro, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Taylor K,

We are excited to hear of your awesome "romantic weekend getaway" with your sweetheart earlier this year! La Casa del Zorro is the place where moments turn to memories, so it's great to know of your experience. You make an excellent point that the resort "makes a great base from which to explore" the local attractions. Come back soon and see us again!

Tim Williams
Front Office Manager
La Casa del Zorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I explored Borrego Springs on a impromptu visit and were pleasantly surprised by the whole valley. Casa Del Zorro is a lovely resort, with a reasonable price for the value. We had a poolside room, the room is very spacious and modern, with fireplace and amenities and the bathroom was great. Easy access to the pool. The sheets had a bit of a musky smell though. The lounge is open later than the other places in town which is convenient, but the menu is the same as the restaurant; it could use a little more variety. All in all, a great place. Next time we will try to go star gazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexzchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, Front Office Manager at La Casa del Zorro, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Alexzchef,

We are delighted to know of your lovely "impromptu" visit to La Casa del Zorro! Thank you kindly for your gracious compliments of the resort rooms (your Deluxe Poolside room) and grounds. I am sorry that your sheets had a "musky smell". The rooms do contain lovely wooden ceilings, so that may have been the source of the scent.

Regarding our dining options and menu, The Fox Den Bar & Cantina is our only restaurant open during the slower Summer season, but The Butterfield Room, our upscale dining venue, will re-open October 17th. The Fox Den has a brand-new menu for Summer season featuring a variety of light-fare and full meal options. We hope you return this Fall to try out Butterfield and see us again!

Sincerely,

Tim Williams
Front Office Manager
La Casa del Zorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
2.4 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
5.1 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
4.7 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#5 of 7 in Borrego Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort...
#1 of 2 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Zorro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Zorro

Property: La Casa del Zorro
Address: 3845 Yaqui Pass, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-5000
Region: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Casa del Zorro 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Zorro offers 44 deluxe poolside rooms, each with oversized bathrooms and large dressing areas, patios or balconies. Four King Garden Rooms are offered. The 19 rustic and private casitas, spread within the 42 acre property, feature a private pool, spa, or both, and are available in one to four-bedroom floor plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Casa del Zorro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing