We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owners & staff, but very basic room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrego Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol
Astoria, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly owners & staff, but very basic room”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The sink was missing the part to unplug it, and the dresser was really broken, but the room was just fine for our needs, and the price was right. The pool looked nice (but it was a bit too cold to swim) and the lounge was comfy, with wifi. Lots of choices of DVDs to watch, and outdoor seating everywhere for breakfast. I would have liked a refrigerator and wifi in the rooms, and a hair dryer.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    38
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
62
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My wife and I stayed in cottage #2 that includes a small kitchen, small sitting room, and single queen bed. Overall first impression is older, used, and shabby. Curtains are a mishmash of way too long tablecloth appearing sheets, flooring is disintegrating tile, and the furniture, including the bed, feel as if they were pulled out of a dump somewhere, truly appalling, especially for the cost of the room. To their credit the bathroom is recently redone with new tile including the shower, but again the mark is missed as the back wall of the shower is two courses shorter than the front wall, and the shower floor becomes slick as soon as the water is turned on because coarser tile was not used there, a definite accident waiting to happen, and no rubber floor mat to be found. During the night there were constant noises the unit was making- various cracking, creaking, snapping, and scratching sounds that had us a little on edge, was someone trying to get in, were there rats, etc. Because it is in the desert I didn't really mind the Darkling Beetles (look it up) the size of a small auto wandering around the floor when we first checked in, but it was just another thing to detract from the experience. Overall Hacienda Del Sol simply feels and looks like a place long past its prime, now entering the faded and shabby zone where it needs a redo.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda610, Owner at Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
I appreciate your thoughts and comments regarding your February visit to the Hacienda del Sol. The Hacienda is a vintage 1950's desert property that has been in our family for over 35 years. I am afraid I can't do anything about the creaking you hear (mostly at night). The extreme heat and cold, cause the wood to expand and contract, which causes the noise. I do understand that we have work to do.... maintenance is a constant concern, and we try to keep up with it. The beds in all of the cottages are all brand new, so I apologize if they were not comfortable for you, and the bathrooms, as you noted have been completely redone. The original Catalina pool has been completed restored to it's glory and is kept heated year round. The Hacienda del Sol isn't for everyone, however we do appreciate your stay with us.

Thanks again.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Had a nice stay here in one of the duplex rooms. Room was spacious and for the most part, clean. Within walking distance to numerous restaurants, stores and the supermarket. Friendly, helpful check-in and attentive cleaning staff. Newspaper at my door each morning. Issues I have are their are horizontal blinds but no curtains so it is very easy for others to see inside the room. And my door was left unlocked by the cleaning staff after returning one evening. Paper thin walls too. Heard the person next to me and their television no problem. Hard to beat the location in Borrego Springs though.

Room Tip: The 6 motel rooms are a good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HemisphereRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We have stayed at Hacienda Del Sol many times. Usually we go with our whole family after Christmas and use it as a base for day trips and hikes. This time we got two motel rooms and a duplex. We needed to sleep three in the duplex and ended up moving the extra bed into the front room for privacy. It would make much more sense to have two twins in the front room which could also serve as couches and sitting area. This configuration would accommodate a family better than one twin in the bedroom along with the king bed. Apart from that we had a good stay, it is pretty simple accommodation and our only other complaint is the lighting. It would be nice to have better lighting in the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSKS32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

When we checked in noticed in the office there was very comfy looking furniture, lots of books and dvd's which were available for guests' use. Mike showed us to our room which was one of the motel units. We were the only people there over our 3 night stay. Room was very large with 2 queen beds, tv, dvd player, coffee machine, was in need of updating but was clean. The air conditioning kept the room cool. Mike lent us an ice chest and there was a huge ice machine to use which kept our drinks cold. Loved the grounds, they were very natural and the pool was so welcoming after hiking in the heat. It was really clean but there were no pool towels had to use towels from room. The location is perfect - straight across the street from "The Mall". In the Mall there was the library (which we used for the free internet), bank, restaurants and some shops, (but not a lot open this time of year). Was within walking distance to pub and other shops unlike the other accomodations in the area. We will definately be back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayne-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hacienda610, Owner at Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you so much for your review and for staying at the Hacienda del Sol. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. You joined us just prior to the opening of the season. We recently renovated four of the bathrooms in our duplex units, added complimentary ice chests in all of the motel rooms, completely renovated our vintage Catalina swimming pool and repainted throughout the property.

Thanks again, I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I arrived without any reservation, and had a clean perfect room. There was a great AC and the coffee maker was an extra bonus; most unexpected. There is also free ice from a great ice machine so all my beverages were cold. The poo, was clean and the service was great. The perfect getaway!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed at the Hacienda over July 4th, which was midweek this year. It was an ideal overnight, was able to check in a little early as the place was completely empty. That was really a bonus as we made a beeline to the always perfect pool to begin our R&R. Mike put out some of the variety of rafts for us and I logged in at least 6 hours straight of floating in the pool, reading a good book, on day one, more on the second morning. If it is pool time you are seeking, this is the place.Sparkling clean pool, just a bit cool water to be comfortable, yet warm enough so that you can be in it hours on end without chilling, at least with summer temps. Fortunately for us, the sheep counters were arriving the next day, and would be taking up a number of the rooms, so I did not even have to share the quiet and pool at sunset, which is a lovely time poolside . (they are out early to bake all day in the hills, returning in the late afternoon)

I believe it was the quietest we have ever been to the town. Midweek holiday must have encouraged locals to take some days off and go into San Diego. Even the local haunts like Carly's, were pretty deserted. But we were happy and content in our simple motel room at the Hacienda. Very basic, but the rooms have enjoyed some improvements in the recent year or two; the redone bathrooms are hugely appreciated. Now on to replacing some of the raveling carpet...........

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovepalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.4 mi away
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
La Casa del Zorro Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
473 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#5 of 7 in Borrego Springs
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol

Property: Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol
Address: 610 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-5001
Region: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Borrego Springs, within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants and shops, the Hacienda del Sol, our family owned desert hotel awaits you. Cottages, duplexes, and motel rooms sit on our six-acre property. Full kitchens, fireplaces and private patios. Relax by our heated pool, or enjoy a BBQ in our lighted picnic area...complete with picnic tables, fireplace and Tiki Bar. Families welcome. Some pet friendly accommodations available for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boynton`s - Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing