We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a winyer weekend getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borrego Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a winyer weekend getaway”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

A beautiful place to get away from the city and beach life. My wife and I foumd this to be a nice cozy place to enjoy the outdoors yet be close to everything for dinner n drinks. Accomidations and service was right on from check in to check out. Lots of good months to come out here and only a short drive.from san diego. Looking forward to our next visit, c u soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joewkoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    38
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
13
62
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My first trip to Borrego Springs and it couldn't have been better. Perfect location for everything we wanted to do. We received friendly service throughout our stay--Mike & Cathy were very helpful. This place is not fancy but blends in perfectly with its desert surroundings. Everything was clean & well-maintained. We really enjoyed being able to watch the desert wildlife right from our own patio. The pool was comfortable and refreshing. Good selection of DVDs for us to borrow.
The hotel had everything we needed. Great desert setting with privacy. We want to return for another visit very soon!

Room Tip: The duplexes on the out side were best for us. #14. A kitchen, nice bathroom and comfortable livin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildroseonly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I normally find the TA's reviews right on target, but not this time. We stayed in the motel, and it is horribly neglected. Mattresses are very old and lumpy, several bulbs were burned out, and one of the others was a bare bulb with the shade missing. The heater was missing the knob to operate it, the toilet seat was not properly attached due to a broken bolt, the "furniture" consisted of a cheap plastic outdoor chair, there was mold throughout the bathroom, no headboards or footboards on the beds, the wall behind where the headboard would normally be was so sticky it was obviously the buildup of years of oily heads, the blankets were undersized, the bed sheets were so inadequate that you would find the bed in shambles every morning. The security chain was broken, the soap holder was missing, the toilet ran at random times, and we were awakened by maids who asked if we wanted service. When we said yes on the second day, they seemed disturbed, ......get the picture. Now for the good: Mike the manager is terrific, and we did get a newspaper delivered each morning. I should have heeded the warnings of our friends who live in Borrego. Lesson learned.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank jmichael-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a modest, old style motel (there are also separate cottages) of about 10 rooms where we spent one night on our way from San DIego to Temecula through the desert. The room came with good towels, soap, shampoo, and a coffee maker. The lighting was acceptable and there were space heaters for the cold morning. Wifi is available in the lobby and there is a Kendall's Cafe across the broad main street, which serves basic but adequate American fare. The motel takes one back to the 1950's.

Room Tip: Make sure you understand that you are getting a basic, old fashioned, motel room. Nothing special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our frist time staying in Borrego Springs, and it will not be our last becuase of the hotel. When we arrived Mike greeted us with a smile and made us feel at home, his help with POI within walking distance made my wifes day. The duplex was great, quit and very clean, the kitchen was well supplied with the small things I always forget. My wife spent more time taking pictures of the wildlife on the hotels grounds than most any thing else. I highly recomend you stay with these folks and enjoy the simple things life can give.

The Bielman family

Room Tip: The odd numbered duplexs have a great view of the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We found the Hacienda del Sol simple, but very good - exactly what we were after. We stayed in a kitchenette unit which had plenty of space. Clean, bright, well organised, and an excellent base to explore the desert and the town. Well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSaunders065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, Hampshire
Level Contributor
190 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hacienda del Sol, with its iconic illuminated sign, is a a great place to stay for 1950s style. It's suitably dated but clean with characterful hosts. The shower defeated me and I needed help but, once I knew the secret, there was plenty of lovely hot water. No fridge but snag some ice for the cool box and your drinks will be perfect. Lots of good places to eat within a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
4.4 mi away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Borrego Valley Inn
Borrego Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Borrego Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.5 mi away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#5 of 7 in Borrego Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol

Property: Boynton's - Hacienda del Sol
Address: 610 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-5001
Region: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Borrego Springs, within walking distance of a grocery store, restaurants and shops, the Hacienda del Sol, our family owned desert hotel awaits you. Cottages, duplexes, and motel rooms sit on our six-acre property. Full kitchens, fireplaces and private patios. Relax by our heated pool, or enjoy a BBQ in our lighted picnic area...complete with picnic tables, fireplace and Tiki Bar. Families welcome. Some pet friendly accommodations available for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boynton`s - Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing