We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming stay in the Santa Cruz mountains”
Review of Hartman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boulder Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hartman Inn
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

We needed to stay somewhere near the summer camp where friends were to wed (we did not care to bunk at the camp!). Few options exist in Boulder Creek, but the Hartman Inn had good TA reviews so we decided to try it. We stayed in the carriage house, which has been converted into a sizable one-room-has-all: queen bed, living area with two loveseats that also convert into beds, and a fully working kitchen (although we didn't need it, noted for future reference). It's old-fashioned country charm without being kitschy -- sort of like when you visited grandma in the late 1950s. Innkeeper Tamara O'Kelly greeted us on arrival, got us situated, and is a most charming, lovely person. It's not full-service lodging, it's staying in a cute little house; yet it was perfect for our needs and we enjoyed our stay and so I rate it as "excellent" in every category.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

Tamara O'Kelley's beautiful small guest house has an exquisite full kitchen and a tiny bath with Victorian tub. Magnolia Cottage is in the middle of her organic garden, and you can hear roosters in the morning, which I thought was great! Other than that, it's dead quiet here--a bit like sleeping in the nearby woods, which certainly was the motivated for staying here two nights last summer. A main attraction in Boulder Creek is its proximity to two state parks: the venerable Big Basin and verdant Henry Cowell (a short drive through nearby Ben Lomond). From the cottage, you can walk down two blocks to any of the restaurants in town for a decent meal, buy local gravensteins at the natural food store, or buy coffee beans to grind in the room and put through the French press. No breakfast, but there's a good local bakery/coffeeshop. The pretty bed is unfortunately a high end convertible daybed, which I didn't find all that comfortable, but in a cottage this size, flexibility is a virtue. If traveling with kids, check out her other accomodation, the carriage house.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cucinista24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We had a great time at the Hartman Inn. My partner and i enjoyed our privacy (more "space" than a thin-walled motel room), our freedom to come and go at will (less restrictive than a shared-house B&B), the lack of television and phone, the excellent shower and tub, the huge bed, the pleasing combination of rustic style and immaculate housekeeping.

Tamara is great, and generally available for conversation and information while conscious of vacationers' wishes for solitude-- we always approached her, she never bothered us. We also very much enjoyed the area-- Boulder Creek is a fun little town to walk around, with several decent places to eat, a good espresso bakery, and ORGANIC food incl. good wine and desserts at the New Leaf grocery. We never had to use the car to enjoy these amenities. The Big Basin Redwoods are a short drive away and gorgeous; then Santa Cruz and the ocean are barely a half-hour down the valley.

Overall, i would be happy to come back again-- it would feel like coming home. We would see how Tamara is doing on her project of recreating a Victorian landscaping scheme, with all the inviting outdoor spaces just civilized enough to make you feel cared for by a legion of grandmothers and great-aunts.

The price was high compared to conventional modern lodging and about on a par with other old-fashioned inns. But i'm not complaining, as that price does buy a much superior experience! We felt that we enjoyed a real treat by staying at the Hartman Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraIsMyRealName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

My grandmother could have easily grown organic vegetables, raised goats and chickens, and had a top drawer quality of life in this peaceful historic home, nestled at the foot of the mountains in adorable, but real and unassuming Boulder Creek. As one of the last ungentrified historic places of the California Bay Area, Boulder Creek is a tiny active community with a history of logging in the redwood mountains of Santa Cruz County, and features an Organic Grocery Store and its own Brewery, and yet it is just a few short minutes drive to the Town of Santa Cruz.

The Hartman Inn is a throwback to the late 19th Century when things seemed less complicated, but homes were built solidly and with high Victorian style. The good energy and charm of the place is mirrored by its easy going and good natured Owner/Proprietor, who is as charming as the style with which she has lovingly restored the old home. For those of us who love animals, there are a couple of purring kitties, a mellow (quiet) old hound dog, and a tiny farm, which features a friendly resident pygmy goat!

On top of all of these historic and natural wonders, the guest cottage is very tastefully decorated, very relaxing and quiet, private, and the bed offers the most up to date technology of good slumber...I slept like a rock. There is free Wi-Fi , and all the up to date amenities one needs in the super cute cottage. This is a rare treasure- a quiet refuge, a tiny organic farm with a beautifully restored historic home and guest cottage with the latest technology, just a block away from the Main Street of a small, friendly old logging town... it is like a place out of time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mercuryld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

This may very well be the cutest place I've ever stayed, and Tamara Kelly, the proprietress, could not be any more helpful. She has taken the concept of clean to an art form. I echo other comments that say the bed is incredibly comfortable, as is the claw foot tub, and the dinner plate sized bathroom sink from France is adorable. The kitchenette also is attractive and very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshineaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

It was a pleasure to stay at this lovely cottage a block away from Boulder Creek´s main street. Tamara (the owner) made me feel so welcome, and was very helpful about suggesting things to do and see in the area.

The cottage is small but tastefully furnished with pretty antiques, has a super-comfy bed, and I loved having a bubble bath in the old-timey claw-foot bathtub. As a bonus the cottage also has a fully equipped small kitchen where I could chill some wine and make a quick breakfast in the morning. Next to the cottage is a pretty patio, ideal for al fresco lingering or afternoon cocktails. Nearby is lots of hiking (Big Basin), wineries, swimming holes and horseback riding trails, so for sure Ill be back to explore more of the area. If youre looking or a home away from home in the Santa Cruz mountains, this sweet little cottage is perfect for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WinsomeWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

We enjoyed our stay in this guest cottage recommended by our daughter who lives in Boulder Creek. It was quiet and private with a full kitchen, lovely shower and historic books about the area to browse. Being there helped us to slow down and rest. There is a big magnolia tree outside which makes it pleasant to sit outside with a book and something to drink.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Throughthefog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Creek
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
152 reviews
10.2 mi away
Toll House Hotel
Toll House Hotel
#1 of 6 in Los Gatos
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
10.3 mi away
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
#2 of 2 in Saratoga
124 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Los Gatos - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartman Inn

Address: 13025 Pine Street, Boulder Creek, CA 95006-9101
Region: United States > California > Boulder Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boulder Creek
Price Range: £86 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one block from the historic town of Boulder Creek, the Historic Hartman House offers a vacation rental cottage that is the perfect spot for your get away. We offer rates for weekend and weekly visits. The Carriage House (sleeps up to 6) is a lovely historic cottage with an open floor plan. It's perfect for couples, families or friends traveling together who enjoy sharing a space. The Carriage House offers 1 QUEEN bed and 2 FULL sized sofa trundle beds as well as a fully equiped kitchen. You can enjoy preparing your own breakfast with makings from our local natural food store or choose from a number of pleasing cafes and restaurants in historic downtown Boulder Creek, conveniently located one block away.You will find our Carriage House located at the rear of our Victorian farm through our heirloom fruit orchard and organic vegetable garden. In addition, there is a little meadow/ lawn area for play or simply relaxing under the apple trees. There is also RV and off street parking and private access to this cottage for ease. Relax or visit nearby cities of Santa Cruz, Monterey, or San Francisco. Consider us your home away from home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing