We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and rustic, could use a few upgrades”
Review of Merrybrook Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boulder Creek
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merrybrook Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boulder Creek
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly and rustic, could use a few upgrades”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Merry rook is a cluster of cabins and a handful of motel rooms scattered about a redwood-studded lot next to a creek, quite pretty location, even though you're in town. It's a slow 8 mile drive up a twisting road from Big Basin Redwoods State Park. We had a 1 BR cabin, which had a could of twins in the living room and a queen in the BR. The kitchen is as described by shuff99. It was extremely poorly stocked, and we had to was most of the dishes before using them. There are a handful of pots and pans (including large and small cast iron pans), enough plates, cups and silverware for 4, but that is about it. We made do. The beds were horrible... Very soft. The heat worked well... And it was a cold night. Toasty warm inside. Love the innkeeper, very friendly. He just needs to invest in some new mattresses and some kitchen equipment. I feel like the price we paid ($180 plus tax) was high for what we got.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jag343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    9
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights in one of the cabins, in October 2013. We paid $160 per night, so expected reasonably good quality. The cabin we had was quite spacious, and could easily accommodate four people (we were just two). There was a half size fridge and a microwave, and a very old and smallish electric oven/range (which we never used). The interior was knotty-pine boards throughout - walls and ceiling - which is nice if you like that sort of thing, but also makes the interior quite dark, especially given the forest-type setting. The place felt very much like a ski chalet. There was a wood-burning fireplace (the type in which you could close the front door securely), but we didn’t need use it, given the time of year we were there. There was ample parking. The cabin had a nice deck overlooking a “babbling brook” which we enjoyed for morning coffee, however the deck only received about two hours of sunlight per day, because of the tall redwood trees all around the place. We could walk into Boulder Creek in five minutes or less to get coffee and other such necessities. Some of the negatives included: the collection of plates, silverware, etc. was very eclectic and poor quality (plastic plates of different sizes, etc.). There were no wineglasses. The television was very old, though it did at least work. There was no soap in the place whatsoever except for dishwashing soap, and no hairdryer. I asked the manager about the lack of soap in the bathroom, and he noted that there was soap under the kitchen sink (dishwasher soap). There was no Wi-Fi available. Management did not seem very helpful: we asked to stay in the room an extra half hour beyond the 11 AM checkout time, but the manager said flat out no, that they had a lot of people coming in (this was a Sunday in early October). We were able to sit on the outside deck for the extra half hour, and the cleaning staff never showed up during that time. The thing is, these cabins are really the “only game in town” if you want to stay in Boulder Creek, and the lack of competition may be responsible for less-than-stellar service quality and management attitude. Still, it's always nice to be located among the beautiful redwood trees.

Room Tip: cabins on the creek are a bit nicer - decks overlooking the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shuff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked a bunch of rooms for guests of our wedding party and we had a chance to check out several of the rooms. All were very clean; floors, tub, etc. The owners are sweet and accommodating. The cabins/rooms are nestled amongst the Redwoods and are a hop-skip to the creek. I love that the cabins/rooms are appropriate for the area so you feel like you've just gone upscale camping in the woods. Located roughly two blocks from adorable downtown Boulder Creek. Great spot for vacationers or for those looking to get away from the hustle & bustle of the Silicon Valley.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones closest to the creek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCM_Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

A beautiful setting in the forest makes this a good place to stay. Be advised that the property is older, and our cabin a bit worn. It reminded me of the cabins at a church camp. there is no daily room service but that was OK for our short stay. The staff was very pleasant and willing to accommodate our requests. We had a good time visiting relatives in Boulder Creek and enjoying the spectacular scenery.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeypal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

For those of you who would like to have a quiet trip in the woods, this is it. We were lucky to get cabin 3, which was the cabin with the best creek view. Love the deck and the BBQ grill outside. The kitchen has an electric stove, full size frige and full size sink, but no microwave. Used frying pan and spatula to heat up foold. No coffee pot, but a perculator (?) coffee pot. Who can blame this city for being environmentally green. There were metal forks, spoons and how about an egg beater. A dish rack is provided for the glass plates and mugs. These items are gentley used and may not be good for those who must have new utensils or plastics. You can cook for yourself and it feels like home, but expect to clean up after yourself as there is only cleaning service about once a week. You have to take out your own trash. As for the living room, one would need to provide their own firelog. Having basic cable TV is adequate. We were glad there wasn't any clock or telephone, but who needs those when everybody's got a cell phone or a smart phone. The couch was a 3 person couch. What we liked about the living room is that it appears to be a social room with another table and an extra bed in the living room. Other hotel rooms may not have a couch or a card table/ board game table. The bathroom only has a shower stall but adequate enough. Homes could have been built in this good area, which is within walking distance to the fine Italian restaurant, Scopazzi (?) and a nearby supermarket, Johnnie's. We felt priviledge to be in this location, which is only a couple miles away from the Big Basin State Park. We felt our $150 for a Saturday night was worth it because there was a creek and no neighbors next to our wall. We hope Merry Brook Lodge will continue to be a hotel and not a resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ang1370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MhawkJoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Checked in on Sunday night and from the first moment I knew I was home for the week. Friendly staff always greeting you with a smile. Clean cabins with everything you need for your stay. Private and quiet location. Had a creek right off the deck with the sound of running water all night.
If you're looking for some fancy five star Hilton Hotel, keep looking. This place is for the people in life that wants a lil more "mountain" in their trip and a little less "fluff".
We just didn't want to leave.

Thank you Merrybrook for a wonderful week!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MhawkJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We stayed two nights at the Merry Brook lodge this past weekend. I was a little anxious about staying after reading all of the reviews. I have to say I was quite impressed. The owners were very nice. The room was very clean. We stayed in the hotel style room with one queen bed. The room was HUGE. It was quite beautiful. It had a refrigerator and a microwave in our room also. It smelt a little musty at first but once the door was open for a few minutes it was fine. There was a seperate heater in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. We had taken an airbed for our daughter (she is 3) and there was plenty of room for that on the floor with room to spare. They also provide extra bedding in the closet. The country setting of the creek running behind the rooms and all of the redwood trees was amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone. We will be going back. Our trash was dumped and our towels were changed daily. However, as someone else stated the towels leave a lot to be desired. We planned ahead and brought our own. Other than that it was great.

  • Liked — It was beautlful
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rbobopuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boulder Creek
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Santa Cruz Mountains
8.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
12.6 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 54 in Santa Cruz
482 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#1 of 2 in Saratoga
146 reviews
10.5 mi away
Inn at Pasatiempo
Inn at Pasatiempo
#13 of 54 in Santa Cruz
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merrybrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrybrook Lodge

Property: Merrybrook Lodge
Address: 13420 Big Basin Way, Boulder Creek, CA 95006-9236
Region: United States > California > Boulder Creek
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boulder Creek
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Merrybrook Hotel Boulder Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing