We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making the most of location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Horseshoe and Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Cooling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here after a wedding at cooling castle. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very nice if a littlr small. In a separate annex of two rooms. At first we thought this was great being away from main pub but after a bad nights sleep we thought prob best to be in
Main building! Main reason was the noise from room above! Could hear every word and every movement through very thin floorboards! Terrible night sleep. Shame as room was nice and clean and breakfast nice. Friends stayed above pub and no noise complaints.

I think price is little steep making most of being only B&B near cooling castle.

Ok stay for a wedding rather than
Going all way to Rochester.


  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jordan1981London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart b, Manager at Horseshoe and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for your kind reveiw on our Inn. We look forward to welcomming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. The landlord (Kevin) stands by everything he serves and rightly so. The accommodation is excellent, the beer couldn't be better kept and the food is off the chart! I have returned several times when visiting the area and each time the whole experience has been amazing. The menu offers something for everyone & they pride themselves on their use of fresh local produce. Don't miss out on this hidden gem if ever you're in the surrounding area (Well worth going out of your way even if you're not!).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart b, Manager at Horseshoe and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for such a kind review, we look forward to welcomming you back soon! x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My family and I stayed for a couple nights at the Horseshoe & Castle while visiting some family friends in the area. The bar and restaurant are really cute and the food is fantastic - best fish and chips I've come across in England! The owner Kevin is incredibly friendly and he's great to have a chat to. Lovely place to visit and really recommend it if you're in the area, whether its a bed for the night or a good meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamsin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart b, Manager at Horseshoe and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for such a kind review,
It is always pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

If you're looking for a place you can just 'pop' into for a drink or somewhere to have a excellent meal in a wonderful comfy atmosphere then this is the place for you! We called in there (quite by chance) about 9 years ago now and had a drink or 2 and a bar snack (yummy)...and that was it! Had many happy times and meals there since then, Kevin (the owner) is a gem and his son Stuart can cook anything to perfection (and OMG that man can cook!). All food is locally sourced and extremely fresh, even the veggies. They also offer B&B and we stayed last New Year, evening was amazing (lovely place to see the new year in) rooms was very clean, quiet and comfy and a full breakfast in the morning! All round a lovely place and idealy suited for anyone visiting Cooling RSBC or Historic Rochester on their holiday or just good for a break x

Room Tip: Rooms in annexe at the back look over the fields, rooms at the front look over a VERY quiet country...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishughesRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart b, Manager at Horseshoe and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for a lovely review!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This pub was plucked from the 2001 Good Pub guide and it was not wrong. A really lovely and very English country pub, local ales eclectic menu and complete with an excellent "mien host"
I had a short stay to visit all the local delights in that part of England and had a great time.
In the immortal words of Arnold "I will be back"

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMacLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart b, Manager at Horseshoe and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for a lovely review!

We look forward to welcoming you back and continuing to provide with fantastic food & service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were also attending a wedding reception at Cooling Barn Castle who actually recommended the Horseshoe and are grateful that we booked an overnight stay there. We were given one of the rooms in the annex behind the pub as we did not want to disturb anyone coming back. It was a lovely, comfortable modern room. We walked back from the venue as we had left our car there (thank goodness being told when I booked to put comfy shoes in the boot)! Compared to some of our friends who had to wait 20-30 minutes for a cab to take them back to their respective hotels, we definitely got the better deal as the walk back along the quite quiet road was refreshing. As we arrived later than expected due to hubby finishing work late, we could not sample the menu or bar but our hosts were very welcoming nonetheless. However, we did sample the breakfast this morning and it was of an excellent standard and very welcome after a good night before! Would definitely go back and recommend it to anyone attending the castle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magsyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart b, Manager at Horseshoe and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for the kind review!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Perfect accommodation whilst at a Wedding at Cooling Barn. Host was very helpful and welcoming. Rooms were clean and tidy. Warm and cosy. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection. On the downside no hairdryer and some very squeaky doors!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jofog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart b, Manager at Horseshoe and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for the kind review!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Horseshoe and Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe and Castle

Address: Main Road | nr Rochester, Cooling ME3 8DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hoo Peninsula > Cooling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cooling
Price Range: £97 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horseshoe and Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful Country Pub with a 26 cover restaurant serving delicious Freshly Prepared Food from A la Carte Specials to traditional Bar Snacks.With Beautiful Views accross the North Kent Marshes and RSPB Reserve (Northward Hill) this truely is a little oasis in Medway. We are also able to offer 5 well appointed Guest Bedrooms if you are visiting the area and would like to take time to stay over night and enjoy our wonderful cooked English Breakfast in the Morning.We use all local Produce where possible supporting local projects and businesses Why not pop down to visit us and maybe see what the countryside in Kent has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Horseshoe and Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing