We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun environment, innovative cuisine”

Tempo Urban Kitchen
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 6/25
20:00
Ranked #13 of 227 Restaurants in Brea
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Located (almost hidden) in a nondescript shopping center, Tempo Urban Kitchen has become a popular destination, drawing diners from around the Orange County area.

The menu has a heavy Mexican influence but also touches on a variety of other cuisines. There is a focus on seasonal ingredients, so they update their menu regularly. The food is served tapas-style, mostly small plates meant to be shared. We ordered the Pork Belly Bites (amazing), grilled octopus, Korean tacos and the Rib-Eye table side grill. We must have enjoyed it because there wasn’t a speck of food left when we were done. There is a full drink menu – be warned that the margaritas are very large!

The restaurant itself has a very contemporary feel. You see their very impressive bar when you first walk in. The dining room is spacious with a sort of industrial chic design. The service provided to us was quite friendly and helpful.

Overall, Tempo Urban Kitchen provides a fun (albeit pricey) dining experience, and with their ever-changing menu they keep the offerings fresh and their return patrons guessing.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BruinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2016

Our group enjoyed a plate of shishito peppers with a lime crema to start. We were hooked! The margaritas were large and the server Stefany was fabulous at explaining the menu to us! WE loved the dirty enchiladas and the platters of tacos. Our group shared several entries and loved each and every one.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank 70annettec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Urban tempo always aims to please. We came here for taco Tuesday, and the food was great as usual.

Tacos are $2 and beers are $3. We ordered the asada and al pastor tacos which were pretty delicious, the dirty fries which were also amazing, but the highlight of this trip were the pork belly bites. Minus the fat, they were tdf.

Our server Erik was awesome, funny, very attentive, and made great recommendations. He made our experience at Urban tempo one of the best yet. The only thing missing was the lucha libre birthday shot.

You can never go wrong at urban tempo. Best Mexican hipster spot in the OC.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank thelifeofpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Got invited to soft opening of Tempo and can I just say how amazing and well put together it was. All cocktails wete available as they passed around trays of delicious appetizers ranging from cerviche, to pork belly flat breads and tacos. All were extremely good.
I just had to go back and a week ago I did. Tempo and its owner George did not disappoint. Stuck with appetizers again the Shrimp Green Aguachile was to die for. The sauce was delicious. Pow wow wings another favorite.
Cant wait to try some entrees next time.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KAREN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My interest perked, when I heard that Chef/Owner Charlie Medina, is planning on opening a sister restaurant in Mexico, at the vineyards of Valle de Guadalupe, Baja California. As I heard, this new restaurant will open sometime in 2017. So I wanted to get a “heads up” taste of what it might be like at Tempo in Brea.

We had a brief afternoon lunch at this new place, a bit boisterous but pleasant. Menu is “tapas” style with pricey small bites to share. My wife, our son and his girlfriend joined us. Food was just great emphasizing mainly a new wave fusion of Mexican with some Korean dishes thrown in for extra added zest...and the atmosphere is lively. Expect a longer wait, as weekends are crowded with new found gains of real interest for all the local and regional foodies. Veggies are sparse on the menu, so I would suggest complimenting your small bites with either roasted veggies or blue cheese salad. All and all, it was great. Looking forward to coming back, but since I don't like long waiting lines, during the week would be just fine.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank arturofranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tempo Urban Kitchen also viewed

 
Fullerton, Orange County
Brea, Orange County
 

Been to Tempo Urban Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.