We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best enchiladas/Guac in the Sierras” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Michaela - CLOSED

Casa Michaela
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Camarillo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best enchiladas/Guac in the Sierras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Lovely restaurant - wonderful owner - FANtastic food! Killer beans, great selections - excellent service - if you leav hungry - is your own dang fault. Call ahead - make sure they are open - owner may be fishing!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PowerbaitPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

If you are ever traveling on Hwy 395 on the east side of the Sierra's, make sure you stop at this wonderful family run restaurant. It is located on the south end of the town of Bridgeport. We had the best Mexican food EVER at the restaurant with "The Best Food & Fish Stories in the High Sierra!" Their on tap beers were a very pleasant surprise! Bridgeport is a good stopping point as you travel through this beautiful area of the eastern Sierra's. My bad for not reviewing this earlier in the year!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AshlandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fine Mexican at reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

A friend and I went on a three day photo tour of the eastern Sierra and had our dinner one night at Casa Michaela. The menu is mainly Mexican and steaks. The prices for all items are very reasonable for the area.
We had had a late lunch and my friend is not a big eater, so we had small items.
I had the two taco plate ($10.50) and he had the mini-tacos ($5). We each had a beer/wine.
The total with tax before tip was slightly over $25 for the two of us.
The tacos were excellent with lots of beef and rice and beans to complete the plate. We were both satisfied with our meals when we finished.
The man at the next table had a monstrous burrito or chimichanga. i didn't see those on the menu, so ask if you want something else. They may have it.
There is a large selection of Mexican dishes and steaks.
There was only one server on duty to handle a lot of people, so some patience was required, but it was worth it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank straehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best trout ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We recently meet up with relatives in Bridgeport Ca and six of us dined at Casa Michaela. It was wonderful. By far excelled out expectations and I have eaten at a few places on this section of highway. This was hands down the best. The owner Ramon was very welcoming and took great care of us. We ordered a variety of entrees and desserts and all were great. The pan fried trout was unbelievably good. I know this area is known for trout but they way they cooked it was the best. Chicken enchiladas were great. The steaks were all cooked to order and delicious. Not one of us had any complaints all rave reviews. So if you are up on 395 through Bridgeport do yourself a favor and stop in and see Ramon.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best find in Bridgeport!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

I asked where to eat dinner in Bridgeport which is small- and was told to go here!! Glad we did- homemade salsa and chips filled us up while we waited for our entrees. Great window view of the Stunning Sunset!! I had seared fish with vegetables and it was very flavorful-
Given the location- I don't think there is much for competition close by-everything was fresh-
And I started to think the wait for the food was a bit much..until the sunset.. and then I was thankful to have had to wait for my food to witness that sunset!! I would definitely recommend but again.. don't be in a hurry- kick back with some good friends.converse and let it happen!!
The portions were fillng but after being out several hours I know I was pretty hungary!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FallPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Michaela also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing