We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and as a tourist, you'll be better of in Lee Vining” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walker River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Walker River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgeport
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expensive and as a tourist, you'll be better of in Lee Vining”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed at this place for one night on my way to Mono lake en Yosemite. Paid 125 USD for one night at a basic room. The bed was not exactly horizontal aligned, so I felt like rolling out of my bed all night long. Unfortunately their water system makes a lot of noise. Someone else in the building (possibly the neighbors) decided at 6AM to take a shower. This woke me up. When showering myself I could barely hear myself.
Breakfast was also less than expected and I did not like much of what was served. Most of the sachets of honey they served where crystalized, some couldn't be used.
After checking out I came across Lee Vining. This seems to be a more touristic place and I regretted I did not drive 25 minutes longer to get to this place, as it had much more character than Bridgeport. More lodges, campings and better appealing restaurants. Although this has nothing to do with the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pault9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    89
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
39
92
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the lodge just one night last week, after making reservations over the phone, sight unseen. Our main concern was whether they would honor the government rate, since my husband had work in Bridgeport. They did, and we were pleasantly surprised to find the accomodations just immaculate. The pool was clean and refreshing, the hot tub great, and the staff was quite helpful in giving us directions to the Travertine Hot Springs nearby. Also they had an organized and yummy looking Continental breakfast, which we skipped and instead walked across the street to a nice cafe for a delicious breakfast. We'd definitely stay there again, even at the regular rate.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindy1951_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Maybe the rest of the hotels in town are fine, but only the Walker River Lodge has a pool, which is welcome after a long day of physical activity. I have spent many poolside hours there, enjoying the scenery and the late afternoon sunshine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hightinerary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

This is a very lovely place, very clean and relaxing. We stayed in a room that looked out to a river with a little deck. There is a large expanse of lawn and a few BBQ stands all along the back end of the hotel. If you arrive early enough to do your own cooking it is a lovely place. There is a refrigerator and a microwave also. The office personnel were very helpful and answered all our questions concerning the area. The continental breakfast was very adequate with several choices of cereal, muffins, bagels, hot cereal, fresh fruit, juices and coffee. We enjoyed our stay very much and would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gramsally04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

One the best locations in the Eastern Sierra with stream flowing in the back. Great staff was always busy cleaning and maintaining property. Rooms and grounds were really clean. Gas and charcoal barbeques in several locations for visitors use. They are child and pet friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

My folks had stayed at the walker River Lodge in the neat little Western desert town of Bridgeport many years ago and we stayed here this August and loved every minute of it. Fantastic little friendly town, dramatic open unspoiled scenery at the very foot of the 12,000 foot high Eastern wall of the Sierras and Yosemite. The Inn is warm, friendly and near everything in an idyllic quite on the shores of the walker River and views of the Nevada ranges to the East and the Sierras to the West. Heated pool and jacuzzi, free internet and Wifi, large satellite TV's comfortable large beds and private patios at the great price and very helpful staff. We will definitely recommend this to everyone as a please don't miss!

Room Tip: call ahead and ask for views of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kensnowelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We wanted to stay somewhere the night before heading to Yosemite, and most hotels in Lee Vining had mixed/questionable reviews. We took a chance and stayed here which was a decent hotel. The furnishings were dated and rather worn, but the room was clean and comfortable. (The pictures on their website are accurate). It had a bathroom with tub/shower and toilet, and outside was a sink which made it nice to get ready with two people.
We had requested the river view, which was pleasant. We had an attached deck on the back of our room and the sky was pretty at dusk. However, the insects increased as the evening progressed, and the seal to the sliding door/screen was not working well to keep the mosquitoes from entering the room so we could not let the fresh air in or stay on the deck very long.
There was free parking, Wi-Fi, and complimentary continental breakfast which was OK (bread, bagels, whole fruit, cold cereal, oatmeal, milk, juice, peanut butter, jelly, cream cheese). The pool was nice looking but we did not have time to swim.
The hotel was about 20 minutes from Mono Lake, which was explored that afternoon prior to going to Yosemite the next morning. Since we weren't sure how many restaurants there were in Bridgeport or how late they stayed open for dinner, we did eat in Lee Vining at a BBQ place (Bodie Mike's) which was really good. From the looks of the hotels that we saw in passing in Lee Vining, they didn't look as bad as they were described in reviews online, but we also did not stay there. We figured that there might not be any vacancies in Lee Vining (or that the hotels might be as shoddy as some of the reviews) since the town is the last before entering Yosemite. Even though we had to backtrack from Mono Lake to Bridgeport, and then back to Yosemite the next day, the Walker River Lodge was a clean and decent place to stay, and it was pretty quiet and serene (though when the showers got turned on they were easy to hear!)
All in all it was a good hotel with the added perk of breakfast--and there were charcoal grills out back to cook on if you wanted to and mini-fridge in the room.

Room Tip: The river view was nice (though I don't know what the alternate view would be)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InternetBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
0.3 mi away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
21.6 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
21.5 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Virginia Creek Settlement
Virginia Creek Settlement
#1 of 8 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Maple Inn
Silver Maple Inn
#1 of 4 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Redwood Motel
Redwood Motel
#3 of 5 in Bridgeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker River Lodge

Property: Walker River Lodge
Address: 100 Main St., Bridgeport, CA 93517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walker River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker River Lodge offers comfortable accommodations right on the bank of the World Renown East Walker River, welcoming all guests from the Fisherman to the Outdoor Enthusiast. We have a variety of sleeping accommodations:* 1 King/Queen Standard* 2 Queen Standard* 2&4 Queen Suites* 2 Bedroom Cottages* Enjoy our Outdoor Amenities: Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Barbecue Grills and Manicured Lawns, and much more. Our guests get a chance to experience our beautiful Lakes, Rivers, Streams and Mountains that are open all year round. Bring the family and enjoy Bridgeport's Scenery which is one of the most World Renown for Trout Fishing, Hiking, Hunting & Kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Walker River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walker River Hotel Bridgeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing