We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”
Review of Walker River Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Walker River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgeport
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We never actually got to stay here after making a reservation because the main road was closed due to an chemical spillage, we rung the hotel and they waived the fee. We think they deserve a mention due to the professional way they dealt with our situation, If we are ever near this hotel we would book it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erinn99, Owner at Walker River Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for the review, with a situation like we had, the road closed, we could not "force" the reservation on you. I do believe most hotels would do the same, under the circumstances. We are sorry we missed you this time, hopefully we will have you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    89
    38
    11
    7
See reviews for
40
95
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a traditional motel, but it has been upgraded and very clean, with a pool & several b-cues for guests. Rooms facing the Walker River are best: good views, private decks, potted petunias, green lawn. Pet friendly, good housekeeping service, friendly staff., convenient short walk to restaurants and hometown stores. This motel has the "drive-to-your door" ambiance of the 1950s and '60s, but it has stood the test of time and my family and I return there often.

Room Tip: Definitely choose one facing the river with deck and chairs. Lock the screen door facing the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Made a reservation via phone on 7/1 for a handicap room for the night of 8/5.

When i called on 7/31 to confirm that the handicap room was being held for me, I was told that someone had booked that room for a week and it was the only handicap room they had.

I cancelled and booked with another establishment.

Unfortunately, I've booked a handicap room in advance at other establishments and it wasn't available when I checked in. This is why I now call a couple of days in advance to make sure everything is in order.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erinn99, Owner at Walker River Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
We are very sorry the handicapped room was already rented on the night you requested. We are very handicapped friendly, we have all the necessary requirements per California law. Due to the fact that you did not even stay, I don't know how you could have reviewed our establishment, in its entirety - we hope you can come again and see all of handicapped upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just up there for two nights - snapped a couple of tickets for one of three nights a year Bodie is open until 10P. Actually, our parents stayed at this hotel some 40+ years ago - can see why they enjoyed it. Is your old time, drive up to your door, motor lodge. Wonderful! We requested a King/water view - pay the extra few bucks - you won't be disappointed. Small back deck - all open to the other rooms as well - over looks the river. Nice lawn, room had a frig, flat screen TV, all the little niceties you would expect - nice pool and jacuzzi. Nothing fancy - just a nice room, VERY comfortable bed and pillows. No road noise of any kind - no room noise from guest rooms on either side. Woman at the front desk was warm and helpful, very nice Lady. Simple continental breakie - just enough to get you going. We are up that way several times a year. The Walker River Lodge will be our go-to stop for easy access.

Room Tip: Ask for the King/river view - worth the nice open view of the grass lawn and river meandering past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PowerbaitPatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erinn99, Owner at Walker River Lodge, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words - and I loved your review title!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

For those of us who prefer the local motel/hotel to camping the Walker Inn on the River more than meets expectations where cell phone reception is spotty or non-existent. My attraction to Bridgeport is the Travertine Mineral Springs just a very short jaunt from the motel. My room was located right on the river with a porch and patio chairs just on the other side of the sliding glass door. Yes, it is an older style motel built when placing the bathroom sink outside the toilet/shower area - but, so what. The front desk clerk - I think her name was Amy - was extremely helpful with restaurant advise and help getting a telephone call through to AAA as I had a flat tire that needed attention. The morning breakfast was typical for the cold breakfast - bagel, coffee, juice - that is so common these days. Not a hearty meal that negates the need for lunch but a nice feature.

Room Tip: Rooms open to the river are a bit more expensive but if you're on vacation - go for it. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erinn99, Owner at Walker River Lodge, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review and we hope to see you again, real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

An average room in a small town provided a good overnight stop while travelling from Yosemite to San Fran.

In room coffee was welcome and the advice on local restaurants good.

Complimentary breakfast was more than adequate start to the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madorabaybums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location 4/5
Cleanliness 4/5
Staff friendliness 3,5/5
Bathroom 3/5

- Stay for one night (off-season) was ok, many rooms vacant.
- Old fashioned furniture
- Small bathroom, sink is in the bedroom (so it is a little bit annoying/loud if your partner wants to sleep and you wash your hands)
- nice pub with locals only a few minutes by foot away

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil_D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
0.3 mi away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
21.6 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
21.6 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Virginia Creek Settlement
Virginia Creek Settlement
#1 of 8 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Maple Inn
Silver Maple Inn
#1 of 4 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Redwood Motel
Redwood Motel
#3 of 5 in Bridgeport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker River Lodge

Property: Walker River Lodge
Address: 100 Main St., Bridgeport, CA 93517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walker River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walker River Lodge offers comfortable accommodations right on the bank of the World Renown East Walker River, welcoming all guests from the Fisherman to the Outdoor Enthusiast. We have a variety of sleeping accommodations:* 1 King/Queen Standard* 2 Queen Standard* 2&4 Queen Suites* 2 Bedroom Cottages* Enjoy our Outdoor Amenities: Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Barbecue Grills and Manicured Lawns, and much more. Our guests get a chance to experience our beautiful Lakes, Rivers, Streams and Mountains that are open all year round. Bring the family and enjoy Bridgeport's Scenery which is one of the most World Renown for Trout Fishing, Hiking, Hunting & Kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Walker River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walker River Hotel Bridgeport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing