We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mosquitoville, otherwise sufficient...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brisbane
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mosquitoville, otherwise sufficient...”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I have stayed in many Homewood suites while travelling on business. They have all been very good to excellent.
This hotel however seems to be suffering from a mosquito infestation. We stayed in room 106, 13th to 15th of October. All three nights we were awoken by mosquitoes buzzing our heads. The second night I killed 3 before sun-up. My wife's arms and left hand were welted up. I sleep mostly under the covers so it was only my face that they attacked. We told the front desk and they offered to look after the issue but we didn't want to sleep in a fumigated room so we declined chemical treatments.
No other rooms were offered to us and after 3 restless nights we didn't receive so much as an apology or discount. This is not usual for the Homewood chain, as they are usually top-notch. This hotel, however has to correct this issue before I would even come close to recommending them.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodster71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodSFO, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Rest assured we investigated the mosquito issue and took appropriate action to ensure a similar guest experience does not take place. To date, we have had no additional issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    281
    105
    71
    35
See reviews for
335
185
42
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

September 2010 we stayed 4 nights at this Homewood Suites. We were assigned an "accessible" studio suite, so I think it was laid out differently than others. It was very roomy, and we slept like rocks. Only one t.v., and it wasn't a flat screen, like we've had at other Homewood Suites; but it did swivel so you could watch it from various areas of the room. The included breakfast gets you started on the day. However, this hotel is laid out differently than others, and the breakfast area was tough to work your way through if several people were there at the same time. Nothing to really complain about, just inefficient and overcrowded. Staff was all very friendly. They do have a guest laundry, which is great, but it was not free like the previous Homewood Suites we stayed in. There is only one restaurant in the area close enough to walk to, so be prepared for that. They do have a restaurant that will deliver to the hotel, but we didn't try that. If you have a car, it is easy to find a close BART station to ride the train into downtown San Francisco and make your way to various attractions on other public transportation. Driving in SF is pretty nuts, and parking for free is pretty nill. This hotel's location makes it very easy to get to and from San Francisco airport. It is very close to the Bay and walking paths.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We chose this location because it was close to the airport for an early morning departure and the freeway to do our sightseeing. The rooms do seem a bit smaller than other Homewood Suites we've stayed at, but it was fine the way it was. The hotel only has a central elevator and we did have to walk quite a ways to get to our room. But we had a nice water view room #302 so that made up for the long walk. We always buy breakfast food for our kitchen so we don't need to get up and dressed for the breakfast buffet downstairs. The free dinner Mon-Thurs is nice but can be crowded. The only real complaint is the isolation of the hotel. It is in an office park and there are no restaraunts in the area. you need to hop on the freeway and over a few exits to find anything. Otherwise it is a great value if you need a kitchenette or 2-bedroom suite.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATourist2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I think this is a pretty typical Homewood Suites arrangement, so you get much of what you expect here. Good sized room with kitchen, microwave, refrigerator, stove-top, dishwasher, sofa, separate bedroom, and a bath/shower. The hotel also offers complimentary hot breakfast and an evening meal; I think the 'dinner' is just for weekdays. Free Wi-Fi is nice if you're toting a computing device or smartphone.

Price was about $120 per night which is not terrible for the Bay Area, and it includes shuttle service to and from SFO.

On the down side, the free breakfast is a free-for-all. Just not enough space in the dining area for the number of people in the hotel - so it's constant crush of bodies, too few seats, waits for food and drinks when they run out. The arrangement is so cramped that there is just no way to navigate this area without running into people. My guess is that they were counting on the outdoor seating, but since you're 100 yards from the Bay, it's cold and windy outside!

During our stay, one of the two elevators was inoperable - so we had long waits or took to the stairs. Only problem is that the stairs are really far from the elevator so it can involve some pretty long hikes depending on where your room is. To make matters slightly worse, the ice machine didn't work on our floor. So we had to deal with the elevator waits or hikes even more often. Just not idea - and not really up to par for a Homewood. I guess I'd say it's just "okay"; I'll probably look around a bit more before our next trip to the Bay Area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgcorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This is a great hotel to visit with family. Clean, about 20 mins away from SF and 15 from airport. Clean, breakfast is great and good overall value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traintrack1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We are a family of four, and we stayed in the 2 bedroom suite for more than a week. Our sons are 22 and 15. The suite was clean and comfortable with very comfortable beds. We took advantage of the complimentary breakfasts and also the evening meals that were available Mondays through Thursdays. The breakfasts were as advertised, if crowded (hotel was full the week we were there) and the evening meals were better than we have come to expect in such circumstances.
We found the location to be a convenient home base for our San Francisco area sightseeing, as long as you have a rental car. My only complaint was that the "high speed" internet was often very slow or not working at all.
This was a great value for the money and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suekende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We arrived late and the first thing I did was open up the pull out for my youngest son... and found at least a dozen mouse droppings on the underside of the bed, the part that you see first when you go to open it. Fortunately none actually IN the bed. We would have walked out right then, however, it was the holiday weekend and I knew we had nowhere else to go, and we only had to survive three nights. My partner found mouse feces on TOP of our bed. They were in the kitchen cupboards, on the table, the floor had not been adequately swept up and I found them in a little missed, unswept pile, as well as under the cushion of the chair in the bedroom. While the beds were comfy, the thought of critters running everywhere was not too sleep-inducing. We did not hear any, however. I have to say that the staff were actually all very friendly, and they do up a good breakfast (though, again, the mouse factor is less than appetizing). We only stayed here because the Residence Inn at Oyster Point, where we usually stay, didn't have a two-bedroom suite available, but we will NEVER stay here again. It doesn't surprise me that suites like this with kitchens do get infested from time to time, however you need to clean it up so it's not quite so obvious.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KEH65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodSFO, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We make every effort to ensure each guest is 100% satisfied before they leave. Had we known about these issues during your stay, we would have done everything possible to ensure they were remedied and you were satisfied as well. This is the first rodent issue that has been brought to our attention. Rest assured we are investigating the issue and will take appropriate action to ensure a similar guest experience does not take place. I would still like to speak with your in person to extend a personal apology. I look forward to a return phone call or email. Thank you again, and please let us know how we can make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brisbane
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport North
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Residence Inn San Francisco Airp...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/...
#7 of 28 in South San Francisco
368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#8 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North
Address: 2000 Shoreline Court, Brisbane, CA 94005-1870
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® SFO Airport North hotel is located in Brisbane, California, and is only a five mile complimentary airport shuttle ride from the San Francisco International Airport (SFO). Our upscale, all-suite hotel offers superb accommodations and amenities with a breathtaking view of the beautiful San Francisco Bay. The Homewood Suites by Hilton® San Francisco Airport hotel features upscale, all-suite accommodations for guests on short or extended stays. Your home away from home offers plenty of space for work, study, and entertaining as well as a wide range of superb amenities: * Spacious suites with king or queen size beds all with a pull out sofa bed * Studio, one- or two-bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas * Fully equipped kitchen with granite counter tops and spacious cabinets featuring a full-size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and two-burner stove top * Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access * TVs with premium cable channels * Full size work desk * Alarm clock with MP3 connectivity * Laundry/valet service * Iron and ironing board * Coin Laundry. Whenever you look for San Francisco Airport hotels, we invite you to Make Yourself at Home® at the Homewood Suites by Hilton® SFO Airport North! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Sfo Airport North Hotel Brisbane
Homewood Suites Brisbane
Homewood Brisbane
Brisbane Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing