We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glamping in a Vintage Airstream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glamping in a Vintage Airstream”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I were on wine weekend in the Central Coast and stayed at the fun Vintage Airstreams at this property.

How fun to remember and experience the a bit of the past in one of these beautifully decorated vintage Airstreams! Ours was in an art deco motif and very bright and happy!

Fully restored and decked out with the most comfortable mattress that rivals those of high-end hotels, we enjoyed a great night's sleep and the freedom to enjoy the outdoors in the morning. With all the new development planned for the park, the Airstreams "village" should be close to the new amenities.

As you would expect in an Airstream, the bathroom was a bit small but added to the ambiance of the good ole days! The park does have a bath/shower area shared by other RV'ers that can be used instead.

While we were able to enjoy only one night, we were delighted and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your stay in one of our renovated Airstream trailers made for a memorable experience while you explored the many wonderful wineries in the area. We have been working diligently to add value to the experience of our guests and we hope that you will visit again soon and enjoy the many new amenities here at Flying Flags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    69
    6
    11
    7
See reviews for
99
82
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a wonderful three night stay at the Flying Flags RV Resort and Campground. It was our first time and we will definitely return. The campsites were comfortable, we were able to be near our friends. The showers were clean and comfortable. Lots of trails to bike within the park. We at at Anderson's Split Pea Soup Restaurant, within easy walking distance. We drove to Solvang one day, we visited La Purisima Mission another day - all in all a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay with us. We have many wonderful attractions in the area and it sounds like you visited quite a few! We have recently made many improvements to the resort and have more improvements being implemented in the near future. We look forward to sharing these new accommodations with you and being of service during your next stay at Flying Flags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have stayed at this location off and on for many years in a motor home. Most recently, we took three nights beginning on Wednesday over the Valentine's day, departing on Saturday. The President's Day holiday fell on Monday this year making it a long weekend for lots of folks, hence the park was filled to capacity by Saturday.

We were surprised to find that there were several improvements to the park, including a re-imagined patio area just off the swimming pool, and some nice upgrades to the facilities over all. If you travel with dogs, the park has a nice facility for off-leash exercise. They moved it from where it was centrally located to a more remote area at one corner of the property, but it still provides a nice space for your pets.

I had received an email from the park outlining a Valentines day bonus, here's the text from the email:

You'll get a special Valentine's Day gift just for being a Flying Flags email subscriber!
All you have to do is say, "Will you be my Valentine?" when you check in, and we'll treat you to our special package that includes a cuddly teddy bear, complimentary fruit and cookies for dipping into our decadent chocolate fountain, and a coupon for 20% off our delectable Valentine's Day BBQ (Friday night).

I started asking everyone in sight if they would be my Valentine when I checked in, only to get a goofy reply. Finally, somebody told my wife that none of the offers outlined in the email would be available until Friday.. Hmmmmm.

On Friday, we cruised over to the park office around ten and asked again about the offer. This time everybody knew about it - but it wouldn't start until noon. Skunked again.

We went wine tasting and returned to the park about three, and indeed we received the items publicized in the email - although the teddy bear looked more like a Chinese version of a bobcat.

We decided to join in on the Friday Bar-B-Q offering, and around five we headed back to the patio area to enjoy the meal. When we arrived there were several people waiting in a loose line that had formed adjacent to the pool area. We had purchased tickets inside the store earlier, so we assumed that it would be a simple matter to exchange the tickets for a plate of food.

No real information was posted about how to go about this, nor was there any information on the flyer about how the Bar-B-Q was organized, so we just joined the rest of the folks staring blankly at each other.

After about a thirty minute wait we finally had a chance to eat, but considering that there were only about twenty guests present, it seemed that the staff was struggling to make things happen.

If you are visiting the central coast in an RV, Flying Flags is a good option. As RV parks go, they are a notch above most, but since they are about the only option in this area; they are a bit pricy. The park is neat and clean, maintenance staff are always present attending to the many common areas dotted around the facility. The cost to camp here is reflected in the quality of the grounds and the attention to service.

None of the issues I bring here are deal-breakers, but it would have been nice if there was more information available and the staff was on the same page about it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We are glad that you found Flying Flags to be a great place to stay in Santa Barbara wine country. As you noticed, we are at the beginning stages of a beautiful improvement project which will result in more camping options, a second lagoon style swimming pool, a new restaurant and a sports field just to name a few. We sincerely apologize for the misprint in our email. Our intention was to do something special for our guests on Valentine’s Day. The email really should have said come in between 12:00 pm and 8:00 pm on Friday, not upon check-in. And as you noted, the response to our BBQ was a little overwhelming. We served 60 dinners in the first hour! Our new restaurant opening later this spring certainly will help allow us to handle that volume more easily. We look forward to showing off more improvements the next time we see you here at Flying Flags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The RV Park is just a few miles from Solvang. Clean Park with many amenities. The only negative is the pads are dirt and not level but given the lack of rain here it isn't a problem. I would give 5 stars if there were level concrete pads. Next time I will come on Friday and try out their BBQ.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cookieman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent experience here at Flying Flags. Solvang is one of the many enjoyable locations to visit in close proximity to our resort and we are pleased to hear that we are your favorite RV resort in the area. Please come back soon to try out our barbecue or to see the many exciting improvements we have planned for the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We went with a big group and I have to admit I was skeptical. I'm so not a camper. This is nothing like camping. We stayed in an airstream trailer converted to a hip cool room on wheels. The pool area was beautiful with cabanas and lights in the trees around the courtyard and the Friday night BBQ was some of the best food I've had in a long time. It looked like they'd recently done a lot of work with more in progress. I peeked in the men's room near the pool area and it looked like a 5 star hotel rest room. They were working on the women's while we were there. The little store was really cute and full of fun hoodies and t shirts as well as the toothpaste i ran out of while I was there! We were really close (maybe too close) to local wineries and Solvang (super cute for Christmas). This is my kind of "roughing it". I'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask about the airstreams! They have all different ones done in fun styles so you can fit whatever m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It was our first rv camp ever. I specificaly chose this one cause it looked very clean and organized and as first timers we wanted to be sure. It was so nice, grasslands for the kids, clean pool, great shop with all that you need, lots of room between the RVs and so on.
If im ever around, ill go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pnina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that your first RV camping experience was enjoyable. We hope that if you ever travel this way again that you will stop by for another visit and experience all the new exciting changes that we have planned for our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortuna, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have always loved staying at this RV park, but while here in November 2013, noticed a huge potential problem for RVers, especially during peak season. For those without rv's, the cottages and cabins are a great way to experience camping, but now the park has installed at least 15 Airstreams and trailers (with no end in sight), taking prime spaces from RV customers and focusing on becoming more of a hotel rather than an RV park. We realize every business has to make a profit, but it's been the RV community who has been the backbone of Flying Flags and it seems Airstreams, cottages, cabins and long term residents have taken over in importance. Hopefully the owners' decision doesn't ruin what was a good thing.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your review. It is true that we have painstakingly restored 20 Airstreams for use as unique accommodations here at Flying Flags but do not worry, they will not be taking prime RV spaces. When you visited us, the Airstreams were temporarily on-site for testing. This winter we are constructing a new village at the southeast corner of the resort that will be specifically for our Airstreams. Also because of their popularity with RVers, we are building 20 new Super Premium spaces in the undeveloped field as well as planning for the construction of a 2nd swimming pool. We value our RV guests and we hope that we will be have the pleasure of sharing these new additions to our resort with you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
3.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
#2 of 8 in Buellton
363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#4 of 8 in Buellton
37 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
752 reviews
6.5 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground

Property: Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground
Address: 180 Avenue of the Flags, Buellton, CA 93427-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel the Highway West to Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground where you can unwind in unique accommodations such as vintage trailer and airstream rentals, cabins and cottages, luxury tents or your own RV or camping tent. Enjoy California's breathtaking central coast with a variety of on-site amenities including a swimming pool, resort playground and complimentary Wi-Fi. Flying Flags also allows guests to easily access many of the area's most popular attractions and destinations. Wine tasting at a local winery, the charming town of Solvang and the serene surroundings of Lake Cachuma and Los Padres National Forest are just a few of the points of interest situated just moments away from our resort. If you are looking for a memorable vacation experience in California's wine country, look no further than Flying Flags! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground Buellton, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing