We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Vintage Airstream made for a perfect engagement weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Renovated Vintage Airstream made for a perfect engagement weekend!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

After reading about Flying Flags' renovated Airstream campers in the L.A. Times, I knew this was the perfect place to take my new fiancee on a surprise trip to Santa Barbara wine country. I wanted something that would be nice, but more unique than a hotel room. After all, this weekend needed to be remembered for the ages.

The Airstream was perfect. While vintage, it was totally renovated in a style the looked modern yet retro. It was cozy and comfy. The bathroom was a bit small, but this was a vintage camper, after all. We sat outside roasting marshmallows at our included fire pit on our last night - definitely something we couldn't have done in a hotel room.

The staff was so sweet. They had us wine, chocolates, and a card waiting for us when we arrived. They even took our picture with the Easter bunny, which they emailed to us. The campground couldn't have been nicer or better maintained. Staying the weekend in the trailer made me want to get one of my own.

My fiancée definitely loved the weekend. Thank you, Flying Flags!

Room Tip: Book the Airstreams early as they fill up quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you and your fiancé enjoyed one of our new renovated Airstreams and the added amenities that our on-site team was able to provide for you on your special weekend. Whether you acquire your own trailer or want to stay in one of our Airstreams, cottages or cabins, we hope to have you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    71
    8
    11
    7
See reviews for
105
86
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Capitola, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground is a good central location for Lompoc Solvang a short distance from the park.. Buellton is a small town with restraunts shopping and fuel. Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground has great staff the park and bathroom are real clean. We stay there 2 or 3 times a year

Room Tip: A great layover coming or going to the LA area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for providing us with feedback. Our location is a detail enjoyed by many who visit us, since we are in such close proximity to numerous wineries and outdoor adventure destinations. We have recently made many improvements throughout the resort and we hope that these new amenities and upgrades enhanced your experience with us. We look forward to being of service to you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

On a spur of the moment, we booked a night at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground to stay in one of their 10 renovated vintage Airstreams. All of the Airstreams are completely different in size, shape and decor and we didn’t really know what we were getting until we got there. Serendipity at its finest! We ended up in the Marilyn Monroe Airstream and I think we lucked out – it was so chic and spacious! There was free WiFi throughout the park that worked really well, laundry facilities, a store with beer and wine and other camping sundries, a heated swimming pool and hot tub (even an adult only hot tub!), rec room and an off leash animal park. All that for a pretty affordable price for such a unique getaway.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kooop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us and the Trip Advisor community. We have recently made numerous improvements and have added amenities such as our refurbished airstreams, with plans to make additional improvements in the coming months. We are pleased to hear that our resort was able to provide you with a memorable experience and we hope you will visit us again soon to see all the exciting changes here at Flying Flags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Great RV park by every measure. Our ONLY grip is those God-awful triple-globe street lights right at rig window level on many sites....BRIGHT! We had to cover the windows with towels to sleep. And they are unneeded- they have down-lights on every power post.

Room Tip: Select a spot AWAY from the "street lights"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captaingort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We get lots of compliments about the lights at the power posts but unfortunately they don't provide adequate lighting for people walking on the streets. However, we are more than happy to provide our guests with a site situated away from the globe lights, if that's what they prefer. We want to ensure all of our guests have a memorable camping experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I were on wine weekend in the Central Coast and stayed at the fun Vintage Airstreams at this property.

How fun to remember and experience the a bit of the past in one of these beautifully decorated vintage Airstreams! Ours was in an art deco motif and very bright and happy!

Fully restored and decked out with the most comfortable mattress that rivals those of high-end hotels, we enjoyed a great night's sleep and the freedom to enjoy the outdoors in the morning. With all the new development planned for the park, the Airstreams "village" should be close to the new amenities.

As you would expect in an Airstream, the bathroom was a bit small but added to the ambiance of the good ole days! The park does have a bath/shower area shared by other RV'ers that can be used instead.

While we were able to enjoy only one night, we were delighted and will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your stay in one of our renovated Airstream trailers made for a memorable experience while you explored the many wonderful wineries in the area. We have been working diligently to add value to the experience of our guests and we hope that you will visit again soon and enjoy the many new amenities here at Flying Flags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Verne, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a wonderful three night stay at the Flying Flags RV Resort and Campground. It was our first time and we will definitely return. The campsites were comfortable, we were able to be near our friends. The showers were clean and comfortable. Lots of trails to bike within the park. We at at Anderson's Split Pea Soup Restaurant, within easy walking distance. We drove to Solvang one day, we visited La Purisima Mission another day - all in all a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay with us. We have many wonderful attractions in the area and it sounds like you visited quite a few! We have recently made many improvements to the resort and have more improvements being implemented in the near future. We look forward to sharing these new accommodations with you and being of service during your next stay at Flying Flags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have stayed at this location off and on for many years in a motor home. Most recently, we took three nights beginning on Wednesday over the Valentine's day, departing on Saturday. The President's Day holiday fell on Monday this year making it a long weekend for lots of folks, hence the park was filled to capacity by Saturday.

We were surprised to find that there were several improvements to the park, including a re-imagined patio area just off the swimming pool, and some nice upgrades to the facilities over all. If you travel with dogs, the park has a nice facility for off-leash exercise. They moved it from where it was centrally located to a more remote area at one corner of the property, but it still provides a nice space for your pets.

I had received an email from the park outlining a Valentines day bonus, here's the text from the email:

You'll get a special Valentine's Day gift just for being a Flying Flags email subscriber!
All you have to do is say, "Will you be my Valentine?" when you check in, and we'll treat you to our special package that includes a cuddly teddy bear, complimentary fruit and cookies for dipping into our decadent chocolate fountain, and a coupon for 20% off our delectable Valentine's Day BBQ (Friday night).

I started asking everyone in sight if they would be my Valentine when I checked in, only to get a goofy reply. Finally, somebody told my wife that none of the offers outlined in the email would be available until Friday.. Hmmmmm.

On Friday, we cruised over to the park office around ten and asked again about the offer. This time everybody knew about it - but it wouldn't start until noon. Skunked again.

We went wine tasting and returned to the park about three, and indeed we received the items publicized in the email - although the teddy bear looked more like a Chinese version of a bobcat.

We decided to join in on the Friday Bar-B-Q offering, and around five we headed back to the patio area to enjoy the meal. When we arrived there were several people waiting in a loose line that had formed adjacent to the pool area. We had purchased tickets inside the store earlier, so we assumed that it would be a simple matter to exchange the tickets for a plate of food.

No real information was posted about how to go about this, nor was there any information on the flyer about how the Bar-B-Q was organized, so we just joined the rest of the folks staring blankly at each other.

After about a thirty minute wait we finally had a chance to eat, but considering that there were only about twenty guests present, it seemed that the staff was struggling to make things happen.

If you are visiting the central coast in an RV, Flying Flags is a good option. As RV parks go, they are a notch above most, but since they are about the only option in this area; they are a bit pricy. The park is neat and clean, maintenance staff are always present attending to the many common areas dotted around the facility. The cost to camp here is reflected in the quality of the grounds and the attention to service.

None of the issues I bring here are deal-breakers, but it would have been nice if there was more information available and the staff was on the same page about it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlampingCampsites, Manager at Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
We are glad that you found Flying Flags to be a great place to stay in Santa Barbara wine country. As you noticed, we are at the beginning stages of a beautiful improvement project which will result in more camping options, a second lagoon style swimming pool, a new restaurant and a sports field just to name a few. We sincerely apologize for the misprint in our email. Our intention was to do something special for our guests on Valentine’s Day. The email really should have said come in between 12:00 pm and 8:00 pm on Friday, not upon check-in. And as you noted, the response to our BBQ was a little overwhelming. We served 60 dinners in the first hour! Our new restaurant opening later this spring certainly will help allow us to handle that volume more easily. We look forward to showing off more improvements the next time we see you here at Flying Flags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.2 mi away
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
#2 of 8 in Buellton
385 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#5 of 8 in Buellton
52 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
2.9 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground

Property: Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground
Address: 180 Avenue of the Flags, Buellton, CA 93427-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel the Highway West to Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground where you can unwind in unique accommodations such as vintage trailer and airstream rentals, cabins and cottages, luxury tents or your own RV or camping tent. Enjoy California's breathtaking central coast with a variety of on-site amenities including a swimming pool, resort playground and complimentary Wi-Fi. Flying Flags also allows guests to easily access many of the area's most popular attractions and destinations. Wine tasting at a local winery, the charming town of Solvang and the serene surroundings of Lake Cachuma and Los Padres National Forest are just a few of the points of interest situated just moments away from our resort. If you are looking for a memorable vacation experience in California's wine country, look no further than Flying Flags! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Flags RV Resort & Campground Buellton, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing