We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Danger! Stay at your own risk!”
Review of Country Lane Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buellton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Country Lane Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Danger! Stay at your own risk!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I were traveling on President's Day weekend and had no hotel reservations. As nighttime crept upon us, we desperately tried to find a place to stay. Everywhere, and I mean everywhere, was booked! There were no vacancies anywhere. After about an hour and a half of checking every hotel/motel in sight, we happened upon the Country Lane. It was both a blessing and a curse. There was indeed a vacancy, which we snatched up in a second, but we had no idea what we were in for. We were given room #1, reminiscent of the Bates motel, and proceeded to take our bags into the room. The room was scary! The bathroom, in particular, was disgusting. It looked like it was built in the '50's or '60's and had not been updated since. The white tile floor was cracked all over the place, and when you stepped on it, you coud feel it squish beneath you. God knows what was living under the tile. The furniture in the room was out of the 1970's and had not aged well. The chairs were all scuffed up, the lamp shades were cracked, and the table base was scratched and discolored. The only thing the room had going for it, is we did not see any bugs crawling around. Not saying there're were not any, we just didn't see them. However, the ancient baseboard heater did work well and kept us wam. This was the worst motel I have ever stayed at, and if we were not desperate, we would have walked out as oon as we walked in. So unless you are desperate, avoid ths motel at ll costs!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kvduarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wien
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

we did a west coast trip and had to find a night stop somewhere halfway between San Francisco & L.A.. First we wanted to stop in Santa Barbara, but our Lonely Planet guide advised to stay somewhere before or after it, because rooms in SB are fairly expensive. It was already 8.30pm, we just got off the 101 at Buellton & first stopped at the Marriott - $ 200 for a night! That was too much. So we decided to stop at one of the many Motels lining up after the 101 exit and took the first one for $ 52 (the next one would have been called 'Sleepy hollow'). The Country Lane Motel was scary enough. Maybe it appeared even worse to us as it was already night.
Anyway the room was ok - bed was comfortable, the bedsheets were clean, TV & heater were working (we didn't try the A/C). BUT the bathroom was not acceptable - there was mold EVERYWHERE. I don't know if it was only in our room and they had a broken water pipe some time, but it was bad in any case.
Besides that, our room neighbor next door had rubber boots standing outside & his door a little bit open - it was like in a scary movie. During the night we figured out that there must be some drug deals going on. We regularly heard the door, steps & cars locking with a honk.
It was not a very relaxing night as we were almost part of a real scary movie, never knowing when the mass murder in rubber boots would step in.. But it was definitely an adventure. Next time i'd probably pick the Marriott - pay more but feel safe ;-)

Room Tip: Only for adventurous travellers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buellton hotels

Callifornia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Stayed here on a night in July 2009. Checked in at 10p. Had to leave at 2AM due to the continuous noise and foot traffic going in and out of the room next door. That room was behind the motel and, according to the manager, was regularly occupied by the same person(s). They had to be dealing in either drugs or prostitution due to the continuous foot traffic in and out of the room. I left at 2AM and had to stay at a rest stop on highway 101 as everything else was closed down for the night. Called the manager of the motel the next day demanding a refund. They refused. Stay away from this hellhole.

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bayeleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2007

"Although Solvang seemed deserted during the day on Saturday the 27th, when we tried to get a room for the night there was, to coin a phrase, no room at the inn. It wasn't until we'd tried every hotel and motel in Solvang, Buellton, and Sant Ynez that we finally found a room--at A Country Lane Motel."Gee, nobody was here until after 5 o'clock" said the proprietor whe I reluctantly asked if he had a room. There were two rooms left. He handed me the key to #5 and told me to check it out. I went back to the car and told my friend that the proprietor had given me the key and we needed to check out the room. "Where's my fried chicken and a ticket to the murder ride?" he said, referencing the movie House of A Thousand Corpses. Yep, this looked like motel in a horror movie if there ever was one.But for $65 a night since it was our only choice, we took it.The room was clean but for one rather frightening stain on the base of a table that my friend pointed out to me the next morning. The king-size bed was firm but extremely comfortable, and with the lights off it was very, very dark and very, very quiet--something I truly appreciate in a rented room and rarely get. The shower was clean but oddly made and there was no bathtub, no shampoo, no hair dryer, no ironing board, no shower cap, etc. Just little soaps and a meagre assortment of towels. Oh well, for $65 a night in a town where I've paid as much as $200 to stay I wasn't going to complain.The door wasn't exactly plumb, and it was painted red along the edge so one could easily determine just how un-plumb it was! We put on the chain and I hoped that if a serial killer did come that he'd at least be quiet about it.The window looked out on what we called our "lanai"--a weedy lot and a fence. Behind the fence was what appeared to be a junkyard or at least a messy vacant lot. There was an air conditioner on the wall and a baseboard heater. We needed the heater.I don't think I've ever laughed as hard as I did at the prospect of staying at that scary motel with the faded sign and creepy bungalows. Someone told me later that she'd seen it used in a country western video, and that yes, it had looked like a serial killer motel then as well.Despite all that I had a good night's sleep, but my friend was restless and had nightmares. In the morning when I tried to check out I rang the bell several times before an elderly man with a cane appeared. I told him I was there to check out and he said "thank you," and took the key from me. That was it.I realized later that I didn't even have a receipt. Just another adventure in a series of "our horrible adventures" as my friend put it. But it gave him an idea for a story, so it wasn't all bad.I'd recommend this place if there's no other place to stay in the Solvang area, especially for those who like a little adventure in their lives...."

  • Liked — It was QUIET!
  • Disliked — The frightening stain on the table leg......
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Dion-Isis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.1 mi away
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
#2 of 8 in Buellton
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Ynez Valley Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#4 of 8 in Buellton
47 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
776 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Lane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Lane Motel

Property: Country Lane Motel
Address: 412 Avenue of the Flags, Buellton, CA 93427-9705
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Country Lane Motel Buellton, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing