We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Price/Value/Location for basic lodging in SB wine country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Price/Value/Location for basic lodging in SB wine country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Good, value-priced lodging for exploring the Santa Ynez Valley wineries on a budget. Nothing fancy - a basic 70s two-story motel underneath the Danish-themed trappings. Don't expect corporate or cute, but a clean well-maintained property with friendly and diligent staff. All rooms have mini fridge and microwave and face toward inner courtyard with pool/spa and breakfast gazebo. All rooms have balconies or patios, but they are not private and some are very public. It was pretty quiet during the week, but it got noisy on Friday night when the motel was fully booked. Lots of good local restaurants within walking distance, including namesake Andersen's Pea Soup. Nearby Albertson's has a great local wine section for avoiding high tasting room bottle prices.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if you want any amount of privacy from the pool or courtyard - you will still h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    187
    75
    12
    6
See reviews for
113
148
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Husband and I took a road trip up the coast to kind of celebrate and see some of the places we stayed at when we were married almost 50 years ago. This is the first place we spent the night. Had been up this way about 5 years ago, but did not realize Andersen's had an Inn. I called last minute and they had a smoking room available. Wound up staying there two nights as we visited Chumas Casino one night. The room was clean and nice and had all the amenties. Enjoyed the pool, the breakfast and the service. Wound up staying here one extra night on the way home. Prices were great and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at PSA once before, about 4 years ago, and this time it was for just a two night stay as part of a west coast holiday.
It's a functional, clean hotel, which is looking a bit tired and dated now I think, and the only reason I didn't give it more stars was that it does need some money spending on the rooms to bring them up to date.
But, you'll have a perfectly good stay I'm sure, and the breakfast room and pool area is kept very nicely; the pastries are nice and fresh also.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank backbeat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hotel was good has all you require very peaceful night has all you require continental breakfast very nice swimming pool and jacuzzi it's very quiet Anderson's pea soup right next door serves very large portions I ordered Greek salad a plate came big enough for 4 people so remember when ordering portions are big

Room Tip: No problems lovely big rooms have all you require for overnight stay restaurant next door serves mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Its not the newest place. But its the cleanest and pretty fun. The danish pastry for breakfast are from olsens in solvang. Perfect for families and couples. Front desk service very polite and friendly. Our family had a great time and will return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanleola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambodia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We drove from LAX to San Francisco on the 101, and let time decide where we would stop for the night - it happened to be a tiny town called Buelton. We tried a Motel 6 but it was full, so we finished up trying the PS Andersen's Inn. No problem there, the friendly guy at reception upgraded us to a suite right next to reception when he saw our golf clubs. Perfect. And it really was a suite, complete with separate kitchen and dining / dining room. The bed was really comfortable with plenty of good pillows. And the price was similar to Motel 6.
But the best was yet to come - he directed us to the PS Andersen's restaurants next door. What a wonderful, quaint place! And the food was great, plentiful and cheap - full of locals rather than travellers, so we felt we had a window into non-tourist America. The wine recommended by our waitress was excellent, and again reasonably priced. This is the perfect place to stop if, like us, you stop twice on the way up the 101. Enjoy it!

Room Tip: If you need space pay the few extra dollars for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishTraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Not glamourous, not trendy, not luxurious...
Yet it was clean, the towels were of a good size, we asked for a quiet room and we received a quiet room... The Continental breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, but the coffee was hot. Since the rooms have a refrigerator you can bring your own fresh fruit and yogurt to complement the pastries! Sure you could pay more for a room elsewhere and get more, but this was just fine - and I would return.
If you find yourself in Buellton on a budget, you won't go wrong with a stay at Pea Soup Anderson's.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.1 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#4 of 8 in Buellton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Property: Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Address: 51 E Hwy 246, Buellton, CA 93427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn Buellton, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing