We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the money!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have found an excellent to the high prices of Santa Barbara and that would be Pea Soup Andersen motel in Buellton (about 30 miles out from Santa Barbara). Friendly staff, very clean rooms and reasonably close to a lot of activities. Normally we stay at the Hotel Corque in Solvang but we were trying to be more cautious with the $$$$ and this was a bargain at $200 for 3 night stay (stay 2 nights get the 3rd FREE)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallyskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

This place is just OK. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The central pool area with the breakfast gazebo and putting green seem like a great place to chill out during the warmer months. I actually like that the first floor rooms have a sliding door that opens directly onto the central shared space. The hotel is also very conveniently located—it's right off the 101 freeway, about 1 minute drive (walking distance) to the Hitching Post II, and just a few minutes drive to Solvang and area wineries.

Unfortunately, there are a couple of things that bring down their rating. One is the super loud air conditioning/heating unit. That is easily the loudest unit I've ever heard. When it is off, you can keep the TV at around volume level 10. When it is on, you have to crank the TV up to about 40. And you have no choice but to run the heater all night because our room's front door had a terrible draft coming through underneath.

The other negative is the front desk lady that checked us in. Whereas the other lady next to her seemed incredibly nice and helpful to the customers she was dealing with, our lady was blunt and gave us no information other than where our room was. At one point, she asked for my credit card and then proceeded to ignore me as she listened in on a conversation that was happening to the side. Hello? You're the one who just asked me for something. She made no mention of the usual things you'd expect (checkout time, internet access, breakfast, etc).

If we return to the Santa Ynez valley, we'd probably look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

For the price we paid, I'd say that we made the right choice.
Everything went fine and I can't think of anything that didn't meet my expectation.

Location: right off the freeway exit, restaurants within walking distance
Service: staff were helpful
Room: well kept and clean
Bed: comfortable
Pool: not the best but good for a few days
Parking: plenty

I'd stay at this motel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level (2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Good, value-priced lodging for exploring the Santa Ynez Valley wineries on a budget. Nothing fancy - a basic 70s two-story motel underneath the Danish-themed trappings. Don't expect corporate or cute, but a clean well-maintained property with friendly and diligent staff. All rooms have mini fridge and microwave and face toward inner courtyard with pool/spa and breakfast gazebo. All rooms have balconies or patios, but they are not private and some are very public. It was pretty quiet during the week, but it got noisy on Friday night when the motel was fully booked. Lots of good local restaurants within walking distance, including namesake Andersen's Pea Soup. Nearby Albertson's has a great local wine section for avoiding high tasting room bottle prices.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if you want any amount of privacy from the pool or courtyard - you will still h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Husband and I took a road trip up the coast to kind of celebrate and see some of the places we stayed at when we were married almost 50 years ago. This is the first place we spent the night. Had been up this way about 5 years ago, but did not realize Andersen's had an Inn. I called last minute and they had a smoking room available. Wound up staying there two nights as we visited Chumas Casino one night. The room was clean and nice and had all the amenties. Enjoyed the pool, the breakfast and the service. Wound up staying here one extra night on the way home. Prices were great and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at PSA once before, about 4 years ago, and this time it was for just a two night stay as part of a west coast holiday.
It's a functional, clean hotel, which is looking a bit tired and dated now I think, and the only reason I didn't give it more stars was that it does need some money spending on the rooms to bring them up to date.
But, you'll have a perfectly good stay I'm sure, and the breakfast room and pool area is kept very nicely; the pastries are nice and fresh also.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank backbeat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Hotel was good has all you require very peaceful night has all you require continental breakfast very nice swimming pool and jacuzzi it's very quiet Anderson's pea soup right next door serves very large portions I ordered Greek salad a plate came big enough for 4 people so remember when ordering portions are big

Room Tip: No problems lovely big rooms have all you require for overnight stay restaurant next door serves mas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.1 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#5 of 8 in Buellton
77 reviews
3.3 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
929 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
833 reviews
3.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Address: 51 E Highway 246, Buellton, CA 93427-9723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range: £64 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn does have a full shuttle service. We do offer wine/beer tours and wedding transportation for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn Buellton, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing