We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO TOO BAD FOR THE PRICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“NO TOO BAD FOR THE PRICE”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife stayed here as a base to see Solvang, Santa Ines Mission, and to have a drink at the Hitching Post (the restaurant featured in the movie Sideways). The hotel itself, while a little dated, was ideally located for our 24 hour adventure. Our room was very clean and comfortable. While there is in room internet, it is through a wired connection so be sure to bring the appropriate cable. They do have wireless in the lobby. The continental breakfast was OK but not outstanding. As with all my ratings I try to award stars based on the total value of the establishment. Thus, when I add up all the parts and factor in price, this hotel definitely deserves three plus to a low end four stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    190
    76
    12
    6
See reviews for
120
151
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marina, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The rooms are clean, comfortable and are fairly large. The hotel itself is showing signs of age, but nothing too dramatic. We only stayed one night, but for a good place to stay close to Solvang, you can't beat it.

Room Tip: Just like everyone says get a room on top floor in the back for a great nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A bit of relaxation after the high prices of other Santa Barbara County locations.
The hotel is comfertable, the service is prompt and courteous and the access to the freeway is super easy.
Definitely a place to mark for stops on the way up or down the coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefLuigiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

The breakfast gazebo is very cute. The breakfast in itself was not quite as good as some reviews made me believe but found enough for the price. The room was nice and recently remodeled. I would come back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank losgatosadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We have found an excellent to the high prices of Santa Barbara and that would be Pea Soup Andersen motel in Buellton (about 30 miles out from Santa Barbara). Friendly staff, very clean rooms and reasonably close to a lot of activities. Normally we stay at the Hotel Corque in Solvang but we were trying to be more cautious with the $$$$ and this was a bargain at $200 for 3 night stay (stay 2 nights get the 3rd FREE)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallyskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas NV
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This place is just OK. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. The central pool area with the breakfast gazebo and putting green seem like a great place to chill out during the warmer months. I actually like that the first floor rooms have a sliding door that opens directly onto the central shared space. The hotel is also very conveniently located—it's right off the 101 freeway, about 1 minute drive (walking distance) to the Hitching Post II, and just a few minutes drive to Solvang and area wineries.

Unfortunately, there are a couple of things that bring down their rating. One is the super loud air conditioning/heating unit. That is easily the loudest unit I've ever heard. When it is off, you can keep the TV at around volume level 10. When it is on, you have to crank the TV up to about 40. And you have no choice but to run the heater all night because our room's front door had a terrible draft coming through underneath.

The other negative is the front desk lady that checked us in. Whereas the other lady next to her seemed incredibly nice and helpful to the customers she was dealing with, our lady was blunt and gave us no information other than where our room was. At one point, she asked for my credit card and then proceeded to ignore me as she listened in on a conversation that was happening to the side. Hello? You're the one who just asked me for something. She made no mention of the usual things you'd expect (checkout time, internet access, breakfast, etc).

If we return to the Santa Ynez valley, we'd probably look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

For the price we paid, I'd say that we made the right choice.
Everything went fine and I can't think of anything that didn't meet my expectation.

Location: right off the freeway exit, restaurants within walking distance
Service: staff were helpful
Room: well kept and clean
Bed: comfortable
Pool: not the best but good for a few days
Parking: plenty

I'd stay at this motel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level (2nd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buellton
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Ynez Valley
0.1 mi away
Sideways Inn
Sideways Inn
#4 of 8 in Buellton
47 reviews
3.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 10 in Solvang
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 10 in Solvang
890 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
3.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 10 in Solvang
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pea Soup Andersen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pea Soup Andersen's Inn

Property: Pea Soup Andersen's Inn
Address: 51 E Highway 246, Buellton, CA 93427-9723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Buellton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buellton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pea Soup Andersen's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn does have a full shuttle service. We do offer wine/beer tours and wedding transportation for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pea Soup Andersen's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pea Soup Andersen`s Hotel Buellton
Best Western Hotel Buellton
Best Western Buellton
Buellton Best Western
Pea Soup Andersen's Inn Buellton, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing