We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for the price.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portola Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portola Inn and Suites
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice for the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel was just average. The carpets felt like they had been cleaned but not dried all the way. Had to fiddle with the prongs to get the fridge and microwave to stay plugged in and turned on. Beds were comfy and the A/C worked. Other than that it was quiet, decent neighborhood, lots of shopping/food choices close by. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rearrange the tables so you have more space and if you plan on using the fridge make sure the plug i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear SamandJC,
First and foremost, we would like to apologize for having your carpet feel a little wet. Please know we are on a constant quest to ensure a very clean and comfortable stay for our guests. Therefore, our hotel goes through multiple deep cleaning steps throughout the year. We will work on ensuring that this does not happen to any of our guests in the future. At the same time we are pleased to know that your stay with us was of comfort and satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Thanking You,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    74
    53
    26
    32
See reviews for
126
44
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed in one of the two room suites which was a great deal for the type of room we wanted. Breakfast was a good kickstart for the day, obviously very continental and you shouldn't expect much more for the cost of the room. Spent the days away from the hotel, so the only comments are that the room was good enough to sleep in and wake up.

Room Tip: Take the two room if available, no neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear FortMacBob,
Thank you for choosing to stay with our Buena Park Hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay at our hotel was one of comfort and satisfaction. We pride ourselves in providing superior value for our guests at affordable prices. Look forward to serving you again on your future visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area!
Kind Regards,
-Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is owned by a young couple who obviously take pride in their property. All staff were very friendly. It is a good value for the low rates they charge. It is clean and well maintained. The small continental breakfast is just enough - coffee, OJ, toast, danish & some fresh fruit options. My only complaint was that they really needed new towels. Overall this hotel is Perfectly Adequate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Mike H,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks about our Buena Park Hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was one of comfort and satisfaction. We will share your comments with our top management and consider any changes that may need to be made. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Portolla was a great choice. The only thing I'd have to say is that the carpet in the room made my socks black as soon as I walked on it

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddieJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear FreddieJr,
We are pleased to know that your stay with us was one of comfort and satisfaction. We will look into your comment about the carpet. Please know our entire hotel goes through carpet cleaning twice a month and our management is very proactive regarding such issues. We look forward to serving you again on your future visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area!
Kind Regards,
-Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed here for a week while in the area for business. Room appeared clean and the smell of the room was clean. Free WiFi was slow and occasionally dropped out, though it was adequate for the work that I had to do while in my room. Continental breakfast was minimal, bread (w/ toaster, butter and jelly), fruit, orange juice and granola bars. Location was convenient to many restaurants and other attractions as well as two major highways. Rates were decent for what they had and I would quite possibly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPXW_CL_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Public Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear Anniversary_C0uple86,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at our Buena Park Hotel. We are pleased to know that your extended stay with us was one of comfort and satisfaction. However, we do apologize for any inconvenience caused to you due to Internet issues. We will look into this issue as soon as possible and look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area!
Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here because it was Saturday night and the hotels in Anaheim are expensive and we wanted to go to Knottsberry farm chicken. We thought this was alot closer than it was to knottsberry farm. The pillows in this hotel are as flat as a pancake and the beds aren't comfy. We got into town around noon and asked if we could check in early that said no because our room wasn't ready even though there was only 2 cars in the parking lot. So we left to get our chicken and came back at 2. Next time I will pay extra to stay somewhere else. The staff when we went to check out just said thanks for the keys to the room. Didn't even ask how our stay was. Shop around even if you have to pay more.

Room Tip: We asked to sleep in the back of the hotel because I read from trip adviser that the street noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertDwiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear DesertDwiller,
Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at our Buena Park Hotel. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay. However, Please know that our hotel typically sells out on the weekend and even though you may not see cars in the parking lot the next morning that doesn't mean rooms are clean and available for rent. We ensure that all of our rooms go through proper cleaning and checks so a clean, comfortable and fresh room can be provided to our guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to the area.
Best Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

The facility is clean and not as run down as some other small motels and inns in the area, but the over all experience was average. Positive thing was the presence of refrigerator and microwave in the room, which makes traveling easy with a kid. The channel choice on television was very limited compared to other comparable motels that I have stayed in previously at Buena Park. I also found the price to be slightly higher than comparable motels. Breakfast was disappointing (no milk or cereal, the only fruit choice was nectarines). Another disappointment was the air conditioner in the room which had no option for temperature control. Since turning it off made the room cold (I was traveling in December), I turned it on. It stayed on and I had to get up in the middle of the night to turn it off because the room was unbearably hot. I recommend this motel only if they are offering some special lower prices. You can probably find better options in Buena Park.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seharmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 8 January 2012
Dear seharmd,
Thank you for taking the time to providing us with feedback on your recent stay at our Buena Park Hotel. We would like to express our apology for the inconvenience caused to you due the the A/C thermostat malfunctioning. Please know we have a full-time property maintenance crew and any issues will be resolved promptly once brought to our attention by our guests. We do put a high priority in maintaining our facility on a daily basis. We hope you will give us another opportunity in providing a memorable experience at our Buena Park/Anaheim property.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#3 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
0.7 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Anaheim - Buena Park
1.5 mi away
Knights Inn Buena Park/Anaheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Property: Portola Inn and Suites
Address: 7921 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing