We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portola Inn and Suites
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Las Vegas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed there March 29th through April 1. The room was descent but it is not in a great area at all. While standing on the balcony my brother and I both got approached by a drug dealer/pimp asking if we wanted any dope or women. I find this very unacceptable; they should have adequate security to ensure things like this don't happen. We were afraid to leave our room because the man kept hovering.

Another issue I had is for the 85$ a night you would think that 1) the internet would work... we couldn't get any of their 3 internet connections to work; and 2) there would be more than just static channels. I also have a complaint because while I was there we were in a hurry to make check out, and I left a very important bracelet that my late grandmother wore at her funeral. When I got home to las Vegas I realized this and we got in contact with the hotel. I know where I left it and I told them this; stephany (the woman who answered the phone) said they were looking for it and couldn't find it. I proceeded to tell her which bed I left it on and her response was "Im not calling you a liar, but all of our maid staff have worked here for years, they turn in expensive laptops and cameras all the time, they know they are supposed to report things they find"....excuse me, but you cannot fit a camera or laptop in you pocket. A bracelet you can. I am very offended that the woman insinuated that I was lying, why would I lie about a priceless heirloom which I know was laying on top the bed?

I really hope that they do something about this; I have worked in hotels in las vegas and arizona and i know that not all maids have integrity. I have seen maids keep small things which cannot be seen (earrings, bracelets, etc.). I wish I got more sympathy and understanding from the staff instead of being called a liar. Let's hope they produce the bracelet, otherwise i will be forced to go to a higher authority.

I thought that leaving a great tip for the house keeper was enough.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms on the third floor towards the back, unless you want to be offered prostitution...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Eva Y,
We are extremely disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay. Please know that this is not indicative of the typical stay you should expect from our hotel. Our hotel is known to be one of the safest accommodations in the city and we do not allow any solicitors inside the property. We will look into other measures that we can implement to ensure this does not happen again. We appreciate your time in completing the review on our property and value your feedback.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    74
    53
    26
    32
See reviews for
126
44
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkersburg, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The website paints a glowing picture of the hotel. "Luxurious" is NOT a word the website should claim.
Like anything, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
The hotel is in a bad area of the city, the room was large but quite dirty. In one night, the kids had their feet blackened from the carpeting. The bathroom was dirty.
There were no rollaways as promised on the website.
Cable TV channels had little more than broadcast channels.
All in all, pay more to stay in a well known hotel that has pride in ownership.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Good hotel for the money... hotel is in walking distance to the major attraction and major restaurants. Hotel had a working hottub and a decent complimentary breakfast. Hotel was a little noisey but the stay was still good for the price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Mary F,
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay at our Buena Park Hotel. We are pleased to know that you found great value in our accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you by our other guests. We look forward to providing you with excellent service on your next visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area!
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The hotel was nice, affordable and relatively clean. Your site promoted premium tv with premium channels. Since it was my 4yr olds first hotel stay, having something like the Disney channel available really sold us. Unfortunately when we arrived our tv didn't show more than static on any channel. We called to inform the front desk, someone came to take a look was gone within two minutes and said nothing. When I called an hour later he said he had informed the manager and nothing could be done since it was due to the rain. It was raining pretty hard that day, but the next two days of our stay, there wasn't a rain drop in sight. When i called back again, I was told the same thing. the manager had been informed. No one likes to stay in a hotel room with a four year old and nothing to watch. It really ruined my experience with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommycade07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear mommycade07,

We appreciate your bringing this to our attention and apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your feedback has been taken seriously and the appropriate members of our team have been informed. Thank you for your compliments on our great location, customer service, affordable rates and comfy beds. We do hope that you and your family will decide to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel was just average. The carpets felt like they had been cleaned but not dried all the way. Had to fiddle with the prongs to get the fridge and microwave to stay plugged in and turned on. Beds were comfy and the A/C worked. Other than that it was quiet, decent neighborhood, lots of shopping/food choices close by. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rearrange the tables so you have more space and if you plan on using the fridge make sure the plug i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear SamandJC,
First and foremost, we would like to apologize for having your carpet feel a little wet. Please know we are on a constant quest to ensure a very clean and comfortable stay for our guests. Therefore, our hotel goes through multiple deep cleaning steps throughout the year. We will work on ensuring that this does not happen to any of our guests in the future. At the same time we are pleased to know that your stay with us was of comfort and satisfaction. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Thanking You,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed in one of the two room suites which was a great deal for the type of room we wanted. Breakfast was a good kickstart for the day, obviously very continental and you shouldn't expect much more for the cost of the room. Spent the days away from the hotel, so the only comments are that the room was good enough to sleep in and wake up.

Room Tip: Take the two room if available, no neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear FortMacBob,
Thank you for choosing to stay with our Buena Park Hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay at our hotel was one of comfort and satisfaction. We pride ourselves in providing superior value for our guests at affordable prices. Look forward to serving you again on your future visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area!
Kind Regards,
-Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is owned by a young couple who obviously take pride in their property. All staff were very friendly. It is a good value for the low rates they charge. It is clean and well maintained. The small continental breakfast is just enough - coffee, OJ, toast, danish & some fresh fruit options. My only complaint was that they really needed new towels. Overall this hotel is Perfectly Adequate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kabirbhagat, Guest Relations Manager at Portola Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Mike H,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks about our Buena Park Hotel. We are pleased to know that your stay with us was one of comfort and satisfaction. We will share your comments with our top management and consider any changes that may need to be made. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Anaheim/Buena Park area.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Coordinator, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
1.4 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#3 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 18 in Buena Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Anaheim - Buena Park
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
1.5 mi away
Knights Inn Buena Park/Anaheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Inn and Suites

Property: Portola Inn and Suites
Address: 7921 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3436
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Portola Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to Buena Park’s exciting attractions, the Portola Inn & Suites is perfect for family fun. Our Buena Park hotel’s 50 modern guestrooms feature comfortable accommodations. A variety of room types are available including smoking and non-smoking King rooms, smoking and non-smoking Double Bed Queen rooms, and Family Suites that feature two adjoining rooms with two separate bathrooms. Each room features a micro-fridge, hairdryer, iron, cable TV, and high-speed Internet. Each morning, enjoy our complimentary Portola Inn breakfast where you can indulge in fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portola Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel Buena Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing