We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”

Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 235 Restaurants in Buena Park
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Although there was the usual and expected lengthy wait in line the food was excellent as always. This restaurant is always a highlight any visit to the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    270
    185
    80
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Make this your dining splurge . . .”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is well worth a visit -- gave us an idea of the history and background of Knott's Berry Farm, a much needed time to sit down, and lots of yummy bosenberry goodies with the chicken dinner. Not inexpensive, but you get LOTS of chicken (and they do have other options). We ate ours for lunch and saved the rest for dinner, as well as some of the pie. Go at off times so you don't have to wait in line, especially if you are a large group. Highly recommend the bosenberry punch, butter, and pie . . . Yummy. It was much more memorable than just eating at a random fast food/chain place nearby. You will need your hand stamped because it is a two minute walk outside the park to go there. Pack a lunch, eat the hotel breakfast, have sandwiches for dinner, so you can eat here once during your trip to Knott's Berry Farm. You can get free ice water from any concession stand at Knott's Berry Farm . . . we did that instead of buying expensive drinks or the $10/person beverage plan . . . and saved almost as much as the meal cost.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken and lightest biscuits”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This restaurant is an icon for Knotts Berry Farm but located outside the park so you don't have to be in the park to enjoy it. The fried chicken is excellent and is the signature dish. We love the breakfast. The biscuits and gravy are complimentary and I'm not a biscuit fan but these biscuits were so light they almost float! Really delicious. You can get chicken and eggs which was a farm staple back in the day. The staff is very friendly, professional and they really aim to please. They were out of tomato juice which they normally have but is not on the menu. The waitress actually went across the street to another restaurant to see if sh could get some for me. Now that's old fashioned customer service!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Food is still great, but what happened to the service?”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It pains me to write this, but what on Earth has happened to the wonderful service one could always expect from Knott's Chicken Dinner employees? We so were looking forward to eating here. My parents have gone here for over 40 years, for about 20 total times over the years. We've been spoiled by great service. We visited on a Tuesday in July. It wasn't too busy, thankfully. When we first arrived, they asked how many were in our party and we forgot to include the 8 month old in our count. When we walked to the table, we realized our mistake (the table was way too small for our party), so I quickly told the waitress. She sighed and told me to go tell the lady at the front. I did so and she also sighed. I understand that we inconvenienced them a little, but no one had even sat down at the table. We didn't dirty any dishes or anything. And it wasn't busy at all. There was no one waiting for a table. I did not understand why this was such an issue. So after apologizing to the ladies and asking for a table for six instead of five, we finally were seated. Then we were ignored for the next five minutes. The waitress that turned out to be ours was talking and talking with a coworker. We assumed our waitress would be someone different, since this one made eye contact with us but kept right on shooting the breeze about her daughter's party over the weekend. After finally ordering, she did not stop by to fill our drinking glasses again, until we had to hail her down. And even then she was just talking with another waitress in the corner and laughing. She was not rude, but she could have worked harder to service her tables efficiently. The food was fine, although I think I am done ordering the baked chicken. It is so dry, especially in comparison to the wonderful fried chicken. If it were rotisserie chicken being offered, that would help with the taste. But my recommendation is go fried and just go skinless if you want to go healthier. I really think if the restaurant management does some re-training of the wait staff, things would go much more smoothly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DellaDidDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

It was a short walk to the restaurant. The food was average, they did give you a lot of food but I felt it was a little too expensive.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant also viewed

Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
Buena Park, Orange County
 
Buena Park, Orange County
 

Been to Mrs. Knott's Chicken Dinner Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing