We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Best Host Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Host Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Certificate of Excellence
EllaMiaMama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible!!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I can't believe how many good reviews this place has. It is terrible. In addition to the disgusting bathroom (and I mean DISGUSTING) there were spills of something on the sheets and hair in the bed. We were kept up all night by people in the halls talking and partying but when we asked the front desk to do something we were told that "people rent rooms there every night to have parties and that there was nothing that they could do to help that." We go ZERO sleep the entire night. The breakfast was slim pickings and they ran out of things very quickly. Arrive early or plan on buying breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: Be advised that when we complined about the noise durning the middle of the night we were told by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllaMaiMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    191
    60
    32
    38
See reviews for
428
114
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I'm stunned by the positive reviews of this place. Check in and check out were a pain - staff would start to help us and then stop to constantly answer the phone leaving us standing there. Check in and check out too ages!

The hotel is old, run down. The bed was clean but other than that, there was mold in the shower, broken pieces out of the floor, the hotel itself looked decrepit. Lots of people loitering around the parking lot.

The hotel opens to the outside and we were on the 3rd floor facing the road and we didn't get a wink of sleep. The road noise is so loud and the walls are paper thin. Kids and people running in the hallways didn't help.

The next morning we were outside and I leaned against the door and our door opened - no key required! You could just push our door open. I stayed there with my 2 kids - needless to say, this completely freaked me out.

The blow dryer in the room didn't work so I called the front desk and reported that and the broken door. Was told someone would be right up with a blow dryer and to check the door. 30 minutes later no one showed so we just left. Went to the front desk to check out and after standing there for 15 minutes while the guy took call after call after call, I advised him no one showed with the blow dryer and he was completely unconcerned. Asked him again to please check the door - it's a safety issue! He said it would be checked but anyone staying in 309 - check your door!

Also, while at the front desk, the guy was quoting rates. He gave rates for "remodeled" rooms and "basic unremodeled" rooms. The rate we paid was for a remodeled room but if the room we stayed in was remodeled, it was remodeled 30 years ago.

It is close to Knotts Berry Farm and it does have a breakfast that includes eggs and bacon but, the breakfast is in a tiny room with about 10 tables - there were about 30 people trying to squeeze into that room for breakfast. We ended up just standing with our plates because you are not permitted to take food out of the room.

You do get a welcome basket with wine, water and snacks but, it doesn't make up for the run down hotel rooms, broken door and blow dryer, the incredibly thin walls and loud traffic and poor customer service. I'll spend a little more next time and go somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must stay here, double check that your door actually locks and try to get a remode...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, California
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Been to a few motels in the last couple of months, but this motel has all thumbs up. And our host that helps us "GEORGE" is very friendly and makes you feel comfortable about staying there. Were still coming back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank misssweetthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel . Other chain hotel and there CEO and managers should stay hear and learn a thing or two about service A+ and nice clean room . Good breakfast and close to notts berry . I will return again and again if this level of service continues .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This place is really putting effort to clean up and live up to its name. I love staying here often because I feel like you really get the most out of your money - and feels safe inside.

I was helped by the George, the frontdesk man, who was very welcoming and professional.

It's right next to Knott's Soak City and close to Knott's Berry Farm too. There's Walgreens across the street.

I really like the remodeled rooms. It's brightly lit, unlike the depressing dim motels rooms, and is spacious.

Pros:
- Nice presentation when you enter the room (brightly lit); it seems for a limited time they offer this nice welcome basket that has wine, water bottles, and snacks inside.
- Nice amenities (shampoo/soap aligned nicely)
- Extra towels/trashcan
- Hairdryer
- Extra tissue/toilet paper
- HDTV
- Fridge and Microwave
- Good price (sometimes the price seems to change)
- Welcoming staff

They now require a $20 deposit that you will get back once you return their key at checkout.
Parking is free; you just have to put their permit on your dashboard.

Cons:
- The bathroom can use a little more remodeling like the bedroom; the tile colors and grout between looks a little unattractive.
- Not all rooms are fully remodeled yet; I stayed in their really old rooms before the first time and it was horrifying - it is night/day in comparison. Also one time I stayed, I got a nice remodeled room, but there was an old style fat TV that didn't even work.

Hopefully, they finish remodeling all the rooms completely and work out the minor details then this place can really be 5 stars.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel is less than a 10 min walk to knotts berry farm which saved us at least 30 dollars by walking to the park. The beds were super soft and the greeting basket was something unexpected. The only problems we had were the tv and bathroom. The tv was fuzzy couldn't watch tv really, and the shower wasn't good kept losing water pressure and would turn cold after 2 mins of showering. I would stay here again it's a good price for being so close to knotts and the front desk guy was nice his name was Neil. We didn't eat breakfast there so I can't comment about it and we didn't use the pool so I can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Stay here if you want to save money not just the room cost but parking costs as well. Second build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameliasmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I looked at hotels for a few days for my family's trip to knotts. There were 8 of us (3 adults and 5 kids), so we needed a suite to fit us all. We booked the family room and it was very nice. There was a bunk bed, sink, and cabinet in one room, and then two queens and a mini fridge/ microwave in the other. The shower was decent and clean. The bed was comfortable. The man at the front desk was nice and the staff in the breakfast room was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was bacon, eggs, pastries, different cereal choices, waffles, and yogurt buffet style. They have coffee and juices. This was a big deal for our large (picky) family that we had choices. Overall I would definitely stay again. Even just for a trip to visit family

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank momma2boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buena Park
0.3 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#2 of 18 in Buena Park
1,492 reviews
1.6 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#3 of 18 in Buena Park
663 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Anaheim - Buena Park
1.4 mi away
Portola Inn and Suites
Portola Inn and Suites
#15 of 18 in Buena Park
262 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pepper Tree
Hotel Pepper Tree
#26 of 118 in Anaheim
2,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Host Inn

Property: Best Host Inn
Address: 8530 Beach Blvd, Buena Park, CA 90620-3956
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Host Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you in town to take your family to Disneyland? Or perhaps you're visiting Buena Park to enjoy fun and sun on SoCal's best beaches? Whatever the occasion, Best Host Inn has the room or suite for your stay in the Buena Park and Anaheim area! Our property offers rooms that are both comfortable and modest in price. Here you will find beautiful surroundings and comfortable accommodations with newly remodeled guest rooms as well as deluxe rooms with in-room jacuzzi and upgraded furniture, and we provide a full breakfast included in your stay. We provide fresh cookies, coffee, fruit, and other snacks in the lobby for your convenience throughout the day as well. You might choose to relax around our newly renovated outdoor swimming pool or visit Knott's Berry Farm just a few steps across the street. We keep our facilities pet-free and smoke-free for clean, quiet accommodations that will give you peace of mind during your visit. Whether you are planning a memorable family vacation or simply a break from the hustle and bustle of daily life, we look forward to providing you a comfortable and relaxing stay at Best Host Inn soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing