We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved public areas and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Buena Park
Maidenhead, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Much improved public areas and rooms”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel has been undergoing a multi-million dollar refurbishment over the last 18 months or so. This started with the rooms. The old single pane windows were all replaced with new double pane (double glazed) windows which are much more efficient, some of the old ones didn't close particularly well and resulted in draughts. New carpets were laid to the rooms and the hall ways. Bedroom furniture and fittings all upated and new vinyl to the walls. Each room now has a refrigerator as well as coffee making facilities. Over all much improved.

The public areas have seen the most recent changes and I will post some photos below as there have been some very significant changes.

The bar, Marbles Lounge, has been opened up onto the lobby area making it appear part of the larger space, new furniture is coming in the next few days and in the pictures the old tables and club style chairs are still visible. They have incorporated some settles to make a couple of boothes on the western wall and the small window to the car park has been closed off and turned into a service area.

The restaurant, Ventanas, has all new tables and chairs and the boothes along the easterly wall have gone to be replaced by a long banquette seat with tables and chairs along its length.

The lobby is where most people will really notice the difference, you can compare my photos with the plethora of earlier photos, some on the hotels website, to see the differences. Somehow, although the dimensions are still the same it appears much larger, possibly because of the light colourings for wall and floorings. The marble tiles have all been replaced with new ones, stone or porcelain. The fireplace is still there and is very welcoming, new lobby furniture has replaced the old sofas and the piano has gone, a sad loss!

The banqueting rooms have all been face lifted too although I have not been in any to check them out and consequently do not have any pictures.

The old surfacing around the pool and Jacuzzi has been ripped up and now block paving laid, this continues around the Gazebo area and down towards the lobby doors past where the old fountain was which has also been removed as part of the re modelling. The pool area is really much improved by this and everyone is most complimentary. Lifts for people with disabilities have also been installed to both the main pool and to the Jacuzzi.

The staff are just as friendly as ever some of them have been here for decades, this is not a hotel with a high staff turnover which says a lot for the management.

There has been so much work done I have only concentrated on a small amount, I hope you enjoy my pictures if I have time I will try to add some more of the other areas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazz747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
WOW! You are well informed!! Thank you for your very detailed account of our renovations as well as the fabulous photos! We'll be soon getting professional photos taken and will upload them here as well. We truly appreciate your commendation and taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    173
    95
    26
    27
See reviews for
212
88
16
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The room was clean and over all quite. However, they were remodeling and halls smelled like paint and out first night we had to park far since the parking area was closed. We had a fridge and I had leftovers that I wanted to hear up and was told no microwave and the restaurant told me it's a policy not to hear up outside food. :-(

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank armando888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
We are pleased that you found our new rooms comfortable. Thank you for your feedback. We will share your comments with our management and Food & Beverage team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The room was very comfortable, with great beds. Refrigerator very useful - could have used a microwave too. Pool and jacuzzi were very big, and clean. Great to have free wifi. Breakfast included would have pushed this up a notch.

Room Tip: North side, away from 91 freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay and found our newly upgraded rooms comfortable. Please note that Platinum and Gold IHG Rewards Club members do receive vouchers for a free breakfast, as well as those guests that have upgraded to our Executive Level rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clio, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I'm in town for business. Lets start with VERY little parking, requiring a walk around the building to get back to the lobby to check in. The rooms are ok. The carpet looks like it's straight out of the '70s, but well taken care of. My first night I was awakened at 5am with a noise from the heater, sounding like the ole playing card in the bike spokes. Tonight, it was the 10pm "Lets randomly turn the power off for 20 minutes". I was told they had a generator, and they were "Trying to get it turned back on". I may be a farm boy from Michigan, but even MY generator will a) power the entire farm and b) do so within 30 seconds of power loss. I'm just glad I wasn't in an elevator, or worse yet, trying to sleep using a C-PAP machine. This was just completely careless on the hotel's part. They told me they left notes for everyone, but obviously not, else I wouldn't have had to walk down to the front desk to ask what the hell was going on!!

If you're here to see Knotts Berry Farm, yes, it's just down the road, and the location would make the stresses worth it, but otherwise, try to find something else..There's a Fairfield just around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We do appreciate your feedback and find it valuable for our team to learn from reviews such as yours. We have gone through a frustrating day of the electric company powering off our electricity for several hours to make some repairs. Hopefully that is done and in the past, as it is convenient for our hotel staff, management as well as guests. We are in the final stages of renovations throughout the hotel - having upgraded all of our guestrooms, replaced hallway and public area carpeting, our restaurant and lounge have had a major face-lift and this past week we were finalizing our lobby and front desk areas. We truly hope upon your next visit we will impress you not only with our services.. but also amenities and upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

When we arrived at the hotel in the evening we had a good reception. We had to carry our
Own luggage to our room. Room was basic USA carpet a bit dirty but overall. Clean.
I thought they could have more amenities only a fitness room on the 2nd floor the pool
Was outside in November it was a bit too cold to use they need an in door pool.
They were doing renovations to the hotel we were not informed of this by virgin holidays.
Overall a good package but room for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Stanmore703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We do our best to provide as many amenities and services as possible to our guests, but do appreciate learning where we can do even more. We are in the last stage of our renovations which should be completed very very soon and our amenities include: restaurant, room service, lounge, gift shop, Hertz Car rental, business center, gym, outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi, free parking, free local shuttle and bell desk, full meeting and catering services, free wifi, HD TV with premium channels. Any additional feedback in terms of requested amenities or services is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
181 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Booked this hotel after a mid-stream change of vacation plans. Very nice hotel with a very nice pool area. This is one of the bigger hotel pools that I have seen recently. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is within easy driving distance from Knotts Berry Farm, Disney, and Huntington Beach. Hotel has a very nice breakfast for IHG Platinum members. Parking lot tends to fill up fast so you may end up parking a long way away from your room. Nice comfortable rooms. I highly recommend the poolside rooms. We had three rooms side-by-side and really enjoyed being able to sit outside in our own private courtyards and eat lunch, drink coffee, or even check email.

Room Tip: Book a poolside room. Costs a bit more but it is really nice to be able to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tacoboy4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the poolside patio rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Just returned from a family holiday and spent 6 nights here as a family of 5 (3 adults and 2 small kids). Contacted the hotel in advance to ask for inter connecting rooms and was a little worried when they never replied but needn't have as they had sorted this for us.
Hotel is in great location for Disneyland and even better for Knott's Berry Farm which is walking distance if you don't mind a 15 minute trip.
The reception staff were great and the guest services I concierge guys were amazing with their knowledge and help. Think Benny was the head man and he was great at getting us booked onto the shuttle bus they ran to Disneyland multiple times a day. That service was amazing. He also remembered we were going to a basketball game and booked us a cab no worries.
Hotel rooms are great, as good as 4 star I would say and pool was big and warm considering it was end of October.
Would definitely recommend and stay there again in future.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank roly66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleaed you enjoyed your stay. We were surprised that you had contacted us prior to your stay without response.. as we do respond diligently to our guests before, during and after their stay. We'll look further into this, but we are very pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay. We appreciate the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
1.2 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#3 of 18 in Buena Park
1,535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#2 of 18 in Buena Park
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Anaheim North/Buena Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 18 in Buena Park
759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Suites Hotel Anaheim - Buena Park
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Buena Park
Courtyard Anaheim Buena Park
#6 of 18 in Buena Park
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 7000 Beach Blvd, Buena Park, CA 90620-1832
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Buena Park
#5 Business Hotel in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anaheim area hotel located in Buena Park, CA minutes from Disneyland, California Adventure, downtown Disney Shopping, Knotts Berry Farm, Soak City, Medieval Times and Pirate's Dinner Adventure, Holiday Inn Buena Park offers free parking and free shuttle to local attractions. This newly renovated hotel also boasts free wi-fi, the largest outdoor heated pool and whirlpool in the area, as well as a restaurant and bar serving breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service -kids always kids stay/eat free at Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference Buena Park
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel And Conference Center
Buena Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing