We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too Shabby!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not too Shabby!”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Just got back from my spring break vacation going to Disneyland, the hotel was pretty clean and was in a part of town with a lot of places to eat that you could walk right over too. i was surprised to find out that there was a mini fridge and microwave in the room along with cabinets and an eating area. No view though which wasnt what we were really there for. It was nice to have a shuttle take us to Disneyland but the only time it would come and go was 930am, to 1030 pm at night which meant if we didnt get a taxi we would of had to stay there for 13 hours which is pretty long. Towels could be better, complimentary breakfast could be alot better, but still free, but overall it was great for 40 bucks a night. Alot nicer than a motel 6.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbigail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    149
    134
    90
    127
See reviews for
362
90
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We booked for 3 nights during the Presidents Day weekend. Unfortunately for us we had an emergency and had to head back home to Las Vegas after one night. Amy, the Manager, was understanding and without hesitation, refunded me the two nights I was not to stay even though I used Wyndam Rewards to book it without cancellation refunds. She said "It doesn't make sense for us to charge you if you won't be staying here." The room was just what we expected for the price - $50 per night. It was basic and clean with a small fridge and coffee maker. The spa was being fixed but the pool was clean and decent sized.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I've stayed at the Hojo Buena Park about 4 times in the last 2 years, it is one of my favorites. Very convenient and great value! Two major highways (91 & I-5) are nearby, as well as a Mickey D's and other fast food restaurants. Centrally located in North Orange County for trips down to South OC & LA. In a semi-industrial area, so very quiet at night. Free Wifi and parking. Rooms decently sized. Never had a problem with the billing.
Yes it is an older facility, but every time I've had an issue (shower handle came off, light bulb burnt out, etc) a call to the front desk quickly fixed it. Two things that have to be dealt with is the low number of outlets (6) in a typical room that you will have to compete for use with the 9 hotel provided devices (refrigerator, micro, tv, alarm, hair dryer, 4 lamps); and the fact that management adds a daily safe charge, only removes it when you check out, and ask (they must check some kind of record it the safe was used).
Very surprised my experience has been diametrically opposed to a lot of other reviewers, but I'll continue to use this hotel as long as it meets my expectations. I wonder how many other good hotels I've missed out on believing sour-grapes reviews?

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaveRiceWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your opinion. This helps us to improve all the time and increase our team efficiency.
Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Buena Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

HJ hotel in Breuna Park is the best location and Services is very good. My wife and kids are love to go back this hotel again. only thing they may add on more breakfast that is my recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hung N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntington beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I was told wrong freeway get Howard Johnson (Buena Park) and didn't get there 3:00 am was so mad and nobody pick up phone at front desk.I finally made it was told phone lines were down complianed corp ofiice was told get partial refund haven't yet get it.Raymond Choi general mgr who sent emails back and forth with my credit i card nformations has never given refund? I will never stay here or tell any business partners to stay or familes.

Room Tip: Listen to other people bad reviews trust them and you have think really hard pros and cons the sayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgutierrez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Cindy Gutierrez,

We are extremly sorry for your experience at the hotel. But you called the reservation center which is located in Parsippany NJ and they would not be able to give the exact directions as the front desk locally. Even then the reservation center agent tried his best to give you direction.
Secondly we do not keep credit card information once the guest checks out and your check out date was 24th August 2011 so we had to get the credit card information through emails only. You responded to the email on February 19th 2012 and we gave the refund for $54.00 with the confirmation number from our credit card company.
It takes 4 to 5 working days for the credit to be seen on your side.
We try and do our best for all our guests, but your experience will help us to improve each time.
Once again sorry for all the inconviences faced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buena Park hotels

Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

First the good: The lobby area was clean and bright and the staff was friendly. Quick to check you in. The breakfast was decent with bulk Costco type food items along with a decent waffle maker. Location was pretty good, didn't look like a bad neighborhood. They offer free wifi and free shuttle service to Knotts Berry Farm and Disneyland, however there is only a single drop off time in the morning and a single pick up time.

The Bad: The room was really terrible. It was dated, the bed was lumpy, there were a couple of coackroaches outside the perimeter wall. The hallways were very narrow. AC/Heater did not work to it's fullest ... repairman said nothing was wrong with it. The shower was decent, however the bath towels were the size of postage stamps ... barely enough to cover me up and I'm not a big person. The doors are wood and you can see it rotting away. The carpets need to be replaced ... no amount of cleaning would make them look clean.

Overall I am used to staying at Motel 8's and Motel 6's ... this is definately worse than those brands.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Icu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saisai1, General Manager at Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your opinion about our services. We have renovated all our rooms as shown in the pictures in 2011. We use all vendors from our franchise suppy list, as we follow all the standards decided by the franchise. We have clean rooms, clean walls, beds and mattress, carpets, vanity renovations were recently replaced as per the franchise requirements. Hallways would be narrow as they built. We have all the pictures as shown on our site.
We are extremly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Howard Johnson hotel. But your opinions will help us understand and be more efficient in the areas we lack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

A great convenient location -- lots of room, great rates, quality breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buena Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
Good Nite Inn Buena Park
#2 of 19 in Buena Park
725 reviews
1.5 mi away
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
Knott's Berry Farm Hotel
#3 of 19 in Buena Park
1,582 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Host Inn
Best Host Inn
#1 of 19 in Buena Park
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Buena Park Hotel & Conference  Center
1.8 mi away
Knights Inn Buena Park/Anaheim
0.8 mi away
Portola Inn and Suites
Portola Inn and Suites
#16 of 19 in Buena Park
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm

Property: Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm
Address: 7039 Orangethorpe Ave, Buena Park, CA 90621-3323
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Buena Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Buena Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Buena Park/Near Knott's Berry Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Buena Park Hotel Buena Park
Buena Park Howard Johnson
Travelodge Buena Park
Travel Lodge Buena Park
Buena Park Travelodge
Buena Park Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing