We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of The Tangerine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tangerine
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The room was nice and looks new. We got really good shower products in the badroom. Hygiene was good. The staff was friendly. In the morning we could take al kind of coffee and tea and there was pattisery from a very good bakery for all the guests.

Price-quality was very good.

I really should go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-S-C89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

The best thing going for the Tangerine is its location. It is a stone's throw from major studios, and within walking distance to many fine restaurants. It is an anomaly, this 1950's style drive-in motel sitting amongst modern office buildings like a remnant of another time. Thankfully, the hotel has been renovated in a very modern style. The rooms have concrete floors, which may feel cold to some. I found the room very basic, but immaculately clean. Although I requested a 2nd story room, I was given a room on the first floor, which was very dark. However, it was pretty quiet, even though it was situated under a stairway. The pool is tiny, but clean. I enjoyed the included coffee and pastries each morning.

One small problem: my key card wouldn't work on the door to my room more than once. It was a bit of a pain to have to request help from the front desk each time I wanted to get into my room, but the staff was very friendly (and the front desk was only steps away from my room).

There is parking in back of the hotel (complimentary), but it often fills up. Beware the restrictions when parking on the local streets. While parking is plentiful, there is a time limit on most streets. Pay attention, so your trip won't be ruined with a citation!

I recommend the Tangerine for a short stay in the Burbank area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongBeachTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights when visiting LA. The hotel looked modern (recently renovated I guess), the staff was amazing (very friendly, helpful) and the location was great (near some restaurants, modern neighbourhood and 15 min drive from Hollywood). I would stay here again, no doubt!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly and an almost hot, lightly sated, crystal clear pool. The hotel is modern and 'sharp'. It is easy to find and there is plenty of parking. Enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumshoovering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Excellent choice in Burbank area. Great location, near the major studios (including Universal Studios). There is no luxury in the room, but everything is new, clean, nice modern decoration, silent, safe. Great bed! Free parking, free WiFi. There is a small but inviting pool. For breakfast, there are delicious pastries served on the reception, as well as hot beverages, to go. Staff was extremely friendly and professional. Would definetely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiviVini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip to Burbank. The room was clean and quiet and the staff was amazing, they were very friendly and accommodating. I will be staying here the next time I come to town.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms appeared to be most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

during our 2-nights' stay in Tangerine, we found it very comfortable. Parking was easy, and a swimming pool is nice and attractive.
The guys at front desk are really amiable and friendly. We got detailed directions to universal studio, science park, and even to the nearest shopping centers.
Thanks to these guys, esp. the elder one (we didn't have much chance to talk to the younger one).

Room Tip: We only stayed on the 2nd floor. Rooms on that floor are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mason l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burbank
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
The Garland
#14 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amarano Burbank
#7 of 20 in Burbank
889 reviews
Safari Inn
#3 of 20 in Burbank
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tangerine

Address: 3901 W Riverside Dr, Burbank, CA 91505-4327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Price Range: £138 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tangerine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangerine Hotel is a newly remodeled boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance any visit to Burbank, Hollywood and Los Angeles. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; equipped with the requisite modern amenities and quality linens, we have also introduced elements to give each room a distinct personality that we hope our guests appreciate and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing