We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”
Review of The Tangerine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tangerine
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Augustine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I enjoyed my three nights at the Tangerine. As others have said, yes, it is a motel with the rooms updated. I stayed in a room upstairs overlooking the courtyard. It was very hot while I was there and all the air conditioners were blowing out hot air onto the walkways outside the doors. Nothing to be done for that with all the individual AC units. Usually the LA basin is cooler, but I couldn't find anything over the hills I could afford. The front desk people were very friendly and helped me get around the immediate area. I had a small problem with something plugged in not working and they immediately sent someone up to take care of it, which they did successfully. I had not planned on eating any pastries for breakfast while I was there, but I ended up doing just that, and they were quite good. I liked the modern decor of the room just fine and was quite comfortable. I enjoyed the Bulgari soap which had a very nice scent. The part of LA that is Burbank is a good location for most visitors. My business was in Sherman Oaks and I had no problem getting there and back, and for fun I drove out to Santa Monica, came back via Beverly Hills and West Hollywood, which took me awhile but it was late afternoon, and nobody can deny that LA traffic is pretty much the worst thing about the area. I definitely would stay there again. Oh, and the parking in the back is really RIGHT in the back and you don't have to walk around again to Riverside Drive; there's an opening from the back parking area which leads directly to the inside of the "U" of the hotel.

Room Tip: There are some rooms at the corners of the "U" which wouldn't get much light from outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    241
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
222
259
41
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

The room was nice and looks new. We got really good shower products in the badroom. Hygiene was good. The staff was friendly. In the morning we could take al kind of coffee and tea and there was pattisery from a very good bakery for all the guests.

Price-quality was very good.

I really should go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-S-C89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The best thing going for the Tangerine is its location. It is a stone's throw from major studios, and within walking distance to many fine restaurants. It is an anomaly, this 1950's style drive-in motel sitting amongst modern office buildings like a remnant of another time. Thankfully, the hotel has been renovated in a very modern style. The rooms have concrete floors, which may feel cold to some. I found the room very basic, but immaculately clean. Although I requested a 2nd story room, I was given a room on the first floor, which was very dark. However, it was pretty quiet, even though it was situated under a stairway. The pool is tiny, but clean. I enjoyed the included coffee and pastries each morning.

One small problem: my key card wouldn't work on the door to my room more than once. It was a bit of a pain to have to request help from the front desk each time I wanted to get into my room, but the staff was very friendly (and the front desk was only steps away from my room).

There is parking in back of the hotel (complimentary), but it often fills up. Beware the restrictions when parking on the local streets. While parking is plentiful, there is a time limit on most streets. Pay attention, so your trip won't be ruined with a citation!

I recommend the Tangerine for a short stay in the Burbank area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongBeachTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights when visiting LA. The hotel looked modern (recently renovated I guess), the staff was amazing (very friendly, helpful) and the location was great (near some restaurants, modern neighbourhood and 15 min drive from Hollywood). I would stay here again, no doubt!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly and an almost hot, lightly sated, crystal clear pool. The hotel is modern and 'sharp'. It is easy to find and there is plenty of parking. Enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumshoovering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Excellent choice in Burbank area. Great location, near the major studios (including Universal Studios). There is no luxury in the room, but everything is new, clean, nice modern decoration, silent, safe. Great bed! Free parking, free WiFi. There is a small but inviting pool. For breakfast, there are delicious pastries served on the reception, as well as hot beverages, to go. Staff was extremely friendly and professional. Would definetely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiviVini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip to Burbank. The room was clean and quiet and the staff was amazing, they were very friendly and accommodating. I will be staying here the next time I come to town.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms appeared to be most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burbank
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,946 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Hotel Amarano Burbank
#6 of 20 in Burbank
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#108 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tangerine

Property: The Tangerine
Address: 3901 W Riverside Dr, Burbank, CA 91505-4327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tangerine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangerine Hotel is a newly remodeled boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance any visit to Burbank, Hollywood and Los Angeles. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; equipped with the requisite modern amenities and quality linens, we have also introduced elements to give each room a distinct personality that we hope our guests appreciate and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing