We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect base for a Burbank visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tangerine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tangerine
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect base for a Burbank visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very hip little motor court, in the middle of Burbank studios, restaurants, shops. Walk everywhere!
Rooms are recently refurbished, extremely clean and comfortable.Kamal was very nice and helpful. Large (empty!) fridge, cable TV, free wifi, coffee,plus Porto's famous pastries in the lobby for breakfast! We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanneburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    235
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
213
248
39
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently. The hotel is what you might call a boutique motel. It's decorated to a modern if arty standard, but hey this is L.A.!

Rooms are clean and we'll decorated. Flat screen TV and mini fridge. Coffee facilities too.

There is also a small pool area too which is nice.

Reception is like a small hotel reception with its flat screen TVs and seating area. A limited range of pastries and coffees are available here in the mornings to take away.

Parking and wifi is free.

Location is ideal for Universal studios, Warner Bros and the Hollywood Bowl. There are also some great restaurants in walking distance.

Recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ImprovisedTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Despite jumping up in price over the last year or so by about 50%, it's still better value than other hotels in the area (who also raised their prices). Don't take the fact that it's obviously converted from an older motel as a bad sign, awesome giant beds and pillows, nice work table, great wifi, cable good quality TV, coffee machine, small but good bathroom and plenty of room.

Free parking makes the room price more attractive and you can walk to plenty of eateries, coffee shops and even a few bars.

Driving? You can be in Hollywood in 10 mins.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BackinthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem! At first from the outside I thought it looked a little tacky but the rooms far exceeded my expectations. Spotlessly clean and nicely decorated with a very comfy bed! Would definitely stay again and would Reccomend this location if you plan on doing universal studies or warner brothers tours.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Starbug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I spent four nights at The Tangerine Hotel on a business trip. I just loved it. So much more personal and fun than the chain hotels where I usually stay when traveling on business. ..plus affordable! The Tangerine Hotel is a remodeled and redecorated motor court. As you can tell from the name 'tangerine'..lots of orange but it works! The room was so quiet and comfortable, great bed, nice linens and amenities. The Tangerine is sort on minimalist without being stark. The lobby has a self serve upscale coffee machine that automatically makes lattes and other espresso drinks. They have wonderful pastries in the morning. There's a small outdoor pool..I didn't use it but others were enjoying hanging out. Lots of fun restaurants very close. The staff was so helpful..all were great, especially Juno. If you're there on a Friday night don't miss muscle car and car hop night at the original Bob's Big Boy burgers right down the street! I look forward to staying again the next time I'm in Burbank.

Room Tip: There's no elevator so if taking luggage up and down stairs is a problem may not be for you. I s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kidlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Original planned to stay for 2 night but had to cancel the first night due to personal reasons. Check-in was quick and easy and people at the desk were very nice and pleasant. I have some mobility issues and they accommodated my needs beyond what I needed. The room was very clean, comfortable and after a long day of driving very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

located in the center of Burbank, the hotel is quiet, comfortable and has all the amenities including a small pool. The staff is helpful and friendly. We used an inflatable mattress which was comfortable.

Room Tip: consider a room on the breezeway, it is extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloud1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burbank
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Hotel Amarano Burbank
#5 of 20 in Burbank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#105 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tangerine

Property: The Tangerine
Address: 3901 W Riverside Dr, Burbank, CA 91505-4327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tangerine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangerine Hotel is a newly remodeled boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance any visit to Burbank, Hollywood and Los Angeles. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; equipped with the requisite modern amenities and quality linens, we have also introduced elements to give each room a distinct personality that we hope our guests appreciate and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing