We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the decor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tangerine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tangerine
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved the decor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Tangerine Hotel was all that we needed, a base close to Universal Studios with easy access out of the city.
The hotel itself was clean, the room comfortable and the service excellent. Even after checking out they he were happy to hold onto our luggage while we visited Universal Studios which is only a 10 minute drive away.
We wandered out for dinner and found Mo's place - excellent food in nice surroundings with live music at a reasonable price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    235
    37
    10
    3
See reviews for
214
249
39
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This place is a 10 to 15 minutes drive to Universal Studio and Hollywood Blvd. ($12 in taxi) and 15 minutes walk to Warner Brothers. Is very nice, clean, have good service and the breakfast is included (Good pastries and coffee). There are some nice restaurants really close by. I couldn't rent a car, unfortunately, because my licence was expired at the time. I highly recommend it, though. Los Angeles is a very spread apart kind of city and public transportation is not good at all. Even one employee of the bus station had me taken the wrong bus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights during a trip to LA. Rooms were excellent with a colourful modern design, good bathroom and very comfortable bed. Free car parking which is a bonus in LA, complimentary wifi and coffee and pastries in the morning. The pool looked good but we never used it. Burbank was a great area and there were loads of good places to eat very close to the hotel including the Mexican next door which was excellent. A great choice for a trip to LA.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redmirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

A friend recommended the Tangerine for our weekend visiting friends in Studio City. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms have been renovated are clean, modern and very "LA." Yummy breakfast pastries and a coffee machine with lots of options were just what we needed after a long flight. Not lots of amenities, but the heated pool is great and it's a good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPL5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This "hotel" started its life as an average looking motel. Someone with a very stylish eye renovated the rooms to include a flat screen TV, clock radio with iPod dock, and WiFi.

The small hotel office has a fancy coffee maker that produces everything from cappuccinos to lattes and cafe mochas. For breakfast, they offer complimentary pastries from a local Cuban bakery which are amazing !!

There are a number of casual restaurants within walking distance of Tangerine. I particularly liked Olive & Thyme (I had breakfast there one morning, and a light dinner with wine one night)

To get an excellent rating, Tangerine needs to upgrade some room amenities. (eg how about a laundry bag in the closet? a bathrobe? drinking glass in bathroom instead of plastic cup)

Those little things make the difference between a "Hotel" and a 'motel".

Even without these extras, Tangerine is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights during our trip to LA. Hotel was great, nice modern décor, lovely and clean, great dressing table area, beds very comfy, and particularly liked the magnifying mirror for makeup etc! The pool was lovely after a long hot day, and note overcrowded at all. Found the area very good and felt lovely and safe, with nice restaurants nearby. Juno at reception was always smiling and very helpful and the hot drink machine we loved, along with the pastries! We had also prior to arrival requested a 1st floor room as I had an injury after booking which required bringing a wheelchair, which they kindly were able to accommodate.

We loved the Tangerine and would definitely recommend it, and hopefully return again one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HappyHops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel was very quaint, the staff was super friendly, the room was clean and it was quiet. We enjoyed the complimentary coffee/tea station. It was an added perk. It was quite close to Universal Studios and Dodger Stadium.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkybeancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burbank
The Garland
#10 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Hotel Amarano Burbank
#5 of 20 in Burbank
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#105 of 349 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tangerine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tangerine

Property: The Tangerine
Address: 3901 W Riverside Dr, Burbank, CA 91505-4327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tangerine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tangerine Hotel is a newly remodeled boutique hotel offering its guests an eclectic and colorful backdrop that promises to enhance any visit to Burbank, Hollywood and Los Angeles. Our thoughtfully appointed rooms are a fresh reinterpretation of the classic motel room; equipped with the requisite modern amenities and quality linens, we have also introduced elements to give each room a distinct personality that we hope our guests appreciate and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tangerine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing