We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again but a few areas of improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Burbank
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a long get-away weekend. We wanted to do the typical sightseeing things - Griffith Park, Hollywood Blvd, Santa Monica Pier and Venice Beach. We had a great time and the hotel was a great value.

It was easy to come and go - free parking was a big plus. There was a real heat wave when we were there, and we appreciated that it was covered parking so the car wasn't too hot when we needed it.

The lobby is big and comfortable. Everyone who works there is very helpful. The place is clean.

The breakfast buffet is a great value. Great, fresh, hot and cold food. Not a huge variety of choices but plenty enough for us. Everything was fresh and tasted very good. A nice way to start each day.

OK, so a few nits. The hotel was full when we checked in. There was quite a wait for the one elevator car in the middle of the building. Later I learned there was a glass-enclosed elevator down at the end of the building. The elevators and hallways don't seem to be air conditioned. The lobby felt cool enough, but by the time we got off the elevator at the 18th floor it was steaming.

Because the hotel was full we were upgraded to a "junior king executive" or something like that. It was big. Great view. Bed was comfortable. The air conditioner turned on but did not really cool the air. We were so tired, we just went to sleep. But in the morning we had to call for someone to repair the unit. The repairman came right up - we went out for the morning and when we came back it was fixed.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksoj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We always choose hotels from favorable guest reviews on the Internet, like Tripadvisor, Hotels.com and similar. We had booked for 5 nights in Burbank, to be near Hollywood and Beverly Hills, but still away from the most heavily populated city areas in LA. Our booking included breakfast, free parking, safe in guest rooms, free wi-fi and a room with a view.

Check-in was effective and the lobby area looked much better than we had expected. What happened next was NOT expected:

We were given a room on the 4th floor. A room with a view - to a multi-storey parking house. The room had a strong smell of some kind of cleaning fluid. Further, we had a lot of problems with the key cards. The day we arrived, we had to contact the front desk four times (!). Finally they sent for a couple of caretakers, who - after a couple of attempts - finally solved the problem. We also contacted the front desk to get a room with a view, and they told us to call at noon the next day. There was no safe in our room, but this was due to wrong information on Hotels.com where we booked our room. There was supposed to be a desk too, but there was just a round table. That is not a desk.

On day 2 we went to the breakfast room, and after a very good breakfast, we were presented a check. We told the waiter that we had a bred and breakfast deal, and was told to sort this out at the front desk. At the front desk we got breakfast coupons/vouchers for all 5 days. These should have been given us on arrival!

As promised,we were offered a new room, and got 2 choices: 10th floor facing south with some traffic noise, and one on the 13th floor, facing north, with a mountain view. We chose the latter.

After having moved our baggage, and called the front desk for one more problem with the key card (!), things settled, and we could enjoy the rest of our stay.

Unlike the stylish area around the lobby and restaurant, the rooms were dated and nothing more than ordinary. Still acceptable and clean.

There was a swimming pool , but only 6 sun beds. This is not acceptable for a hotel this size. In addition there were some tables and chairs.

There was also a self-service laundry facility, very convenient. In the lobby there was a small shop and an ATM. Our rental car was parked in a big parking house (mentioned above). There was plenty of parking space.

There were no convenience stores around the hotel, which was situated in an area with quite a number of restaurants. For shopping, we chose to visit the neighbor city Glendale, and the Glendale Galleria.

All in all our stay went from a 2-days' "Fawlty Towers" to a nice and comfortable stay for the last 3 days. We'll give two stars for the "Fawlty Towers" days and four stars for the rest of our stay. Overall rating: 3 stars.

We will still recommend this hotel, but make sure that the front desk staff have noticed what is included in your booking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TVTravelerHaugesund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is ridiculous. I reserved a non-smoking room and am a Platinum Priority Rewards member; and they had the audacity to put me in a smoking room. My itinerary stated that it was for a non-smoking room. The hotel completely ignored the itinerary and preferences. Hotel staff was rude. Hotel management may need to be clued in that smoking is really not a crowd that needs catering any more (maybe that is what is wrong with California).

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Burbank, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Will R,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry for the unacceptable service you received during your stay. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Although this hotel has a great location, near shops and restaurants, we were told check in time would be at 3:00. At 3:00pm, they had no clean rooms ready, and we were told we'd have to wait another half and hour before we could check into our room. The lobby was full of people waiting to be able to go to their rooms. The key card they gave me would not open up the business center (where the computers are for guests to use), and when I finally was let into the computer room, only one computer was working. I attended a dinner party at the hotel. There was a long wait in between the salad and the entree, and the waiters forgot to serve some of the tables (including mine) coffee afterwards. There was no complimentary breakfast in the morning. Fortunately, there was a 50's diner nearby.

Room Tip: Be ready to spend a lot for very little in return....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbrgdmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I somewhat randomly chose this hotel for a week in the area for business mainly because the location looked decent. I was right and then some. Easy on/off the 5 and 134 to get anywhere in the LA area fairly easily. Right in the heart of the comercial downtown area so restaurant choices were plentiful in walking distance. Room was a fairly standard room, clean and not too old. Front desk and Restaurant staff were quite helpful and friendly. Free parking at an urban hotel is always a plus, the need to get a new ticket and get validated for each in-out was a bit tedious but easy enough to tolerate. This will be my new go-to hotel for trips to the LA area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seawall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Overall the Holiday Inn Burbank is pretty good hotel; it is clean and convenient to downtown Burbank.

Stayed in a corner room on a high floor next to the back elevators. Rooms have an outdated look with carpet that is coming up but don't let the looks fool you, it is actually pretty clean. The closet is not enclosed which has benefits and downfalls, guess it depends on your style. We did not have a place to put luggage off the floor, but our friends had two permanent luggage stands in their room. Bed was comfortable with nice clean sheets and pillows. Bathroom is a bit small but clean and functional. Towel bar is directly in front of toilet and at a level that could lend itself to hitting your head as you stand up, if you slightly lean forward, so be careful. Bathroom amenities were good as was the shower water pressure. Bathroom fan comes on with light and is quite noisy, no option to turn off the fan unless you turn off the light but no big deal. Air conditioning was a little weak.

Lobby is very beautiful and has a renovated look - very different from how the rooms look. Lobby desk staff was nice and helpful but my friends said the hotel bar staff was rude.

Location is great! Hotel is close to many restaurants and shops. Everything is within walking distance. Parking is free with validation at the hotel.

I would definitely stay here again (although rooms could use renovation/updating); it is an affordable option for the area which is located extremely well with clean rooms. Note that you should book early because this hotel tends to sell out.

Room Tip: Request a room on the opposite side of the highway to get a nice view of the hills and to avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I travel to Burbank regularly on business and I've looked for an interesting hotel but, to be honest, I've struggled to find one in the area. So, after trying a couple of boutique motels (which were OK, but not all that) I decided to give the big Holiday Inn a try. Here goes with the bad stuff first - it's predictably bland, a bit of a family tourist hotel and pretty lacking in atmosphere. The rooms are OK (pretty big, but fairly empty) but nothing to write home about but the beds are comfy and it's clean. But here's the good stuff: the location is great, right in the centre of downtown Burbank and literally next to the I5 (so good stuff is easily accessible). It's a 20 minute drive to West Hollywood and about the same to Downtown so if you do feel the need to escape to somewhere with a bit more vibe (Burbank can be pretty sleepy), it's no so hard. The prices are pretty good, the service is good and friendly and the ample free parking is very welcome.
Honestly, it's not the most exciting hotel in the world but it does its job well. This is basically my Burbank hotel now - job done.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plusfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burbank hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burbank Downtown
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Angeles Burbank Airport
2.6 mi away
Los Angeles Marriott Burbank Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portofino Inn Burbank
Portofino Inn Burbank
#13 of 20 in Burbank
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Los Angeles Burbank/Downtown
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Burbank Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Burbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Burbank

Address: 150 E Angeleno Ave, Burbank, CA 91502-1911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Burbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Burbank
Price Range: £113 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Burbank 3*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Burbank - Media Center! Conveniently located for the business traveler, as well as the vacationing traveler. We offer: free parking, excluding meetings & banquets, Burbank Airport shuttle service, standard rooms, suites, meeting rooms, banquet facilities and catering; make your reservations today! Conveniently located to downtown Burbank, Disney Studio, Warner Brothers, Dodger Stadium, Universal Studios and Magic Mountain. Old Town Pasadena, home of the Rose Bowl, is just a few miles away also. Stroll down Hollywood and Highland located minutes from the Holiday Inn Burbank Media Center. Come explore all our fantastic hotel has to offer for the business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Burbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Burbank Hotel Burbank
Burbank Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing