We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoy it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trapeze European Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trapeze European Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Trapeze European Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 171 Restaurants in Burlingame
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Burlingame Ave.
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoy it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have been there a couple of times. The ambiance, food presentation and service is quite good. It can get on the noisy side, but if you ask to sit by the window, it is the perfect spot for a nice conversation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sejs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
843 reviews
650 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Nice Mediterranean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Mediterranean
Had only come here for lunch before
Love their pancetta appetizer
Nice layout, banquet room in the back
We enjoyed the Caesar & house Trapeze salads
They have homemade pasta dishes that we did not try.
The spinach fettucine & spaghetti sausage dishes were good
Have whole wheat pasta, by request
Nice wine by glass & by bottle; full bar
Great bread pudding dessert
Excellent service by Calli & the support staff

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great find, will be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

In SFO area on business and a ex colleague recently moved to Burlingame and met up for a meal. #1 or 2 on Open Table and good reviews on here as well so thought I'd try it although I'm picky with Italian food (and European).

Awesome experience. Great food and service, very traditional atmosphere although a little quiet. Only let down was the lack of quality beers.

Will be back for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andybee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrific find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I visit the Bay area frequently, and usually stay in Burlingame. I happened upon Trapeze several weeks ago for a business dinner and had the pasta with clam sauce, which was very good. About a week ago, I returned and had one of the best steaks I've ever ordered.

I arrived at Trapeze in a carnivorous mood. On the menu were two meat options for the nightly special--lamb shanks and ribeye steak. I asked the waiter which he preferred, and he recommended the steak without hesitation. I'm glad I followed his advice.

I was expecting a small "special", but the steak that arrived was nearly the size of my plate. It was perfectly prepared (medium rare) with minimal waste, and was grilled in what seemed to be an extra-virgin olive oil preparation. Although it was not described as Bistecca alla Fiorentina, that's what was on my mind. It was delicious, as was the generous side of gnocchi and spinach. The whole meal, with a glass of wine, was under $30.

This is a great restaurant, and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
197 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Relaxed but with nice ambience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We were on a business trip, staying in Burlingame for the meetings. One evening, we took the town trolley shuttle to downtown. Not far from the train station, we found this restaurant with sidewalk tables. It turned out to have excellent service, fresh salads, and nicely done, good food. It has a definite European atmosphere, much like the street cafes found in western European cities. There is a parking lot across the street, making it more convenient than some urban locations.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kcw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trapeze European Cuisine also viewed

 
Burlingame, CA
 

Been to Trapeze European Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing