We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Convenient, Courteous Service - But Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Certificate of Excellence
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
292 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Clean, Convenient, Courteous Service - But Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had an early flight out of San Francisco this week and needed to be close to the airport. The prices for the airport hotels are astronomical including the Hilton Garden Inn. By the time I checked out, I paid $257 for 7 hours of rest in a standard room - no breakfast. That amounts to 62 cents per minute to sleep. Sounds ridiculous, right? It is. But there is a shortage of hotel rooms in this part of the Bay Area and no shortage of demand. So the hotels will continue to gouge the traveling public and the city (in this case Burlingame) will continue to gouge for taxes.

As for the hotel, it was standard HGI. They assigned meI have been staying at an HGI in Albuquerque for a long term assignment (2 years, for 2 weeks out of 3) and paid $80/night. I have reviewed that hotel elsewhere, but it sets the standard for me with what an HGI is. I rated that hotel 5 stars as best in its class. This one is no different in terms of what it offers. But it falls down simply because it is not a good value.

But hey, it's better than risking a low cost hotel and having to share my bed with bedbugs, unidentified stains or worse.

Plenty of parking. 7 minutes to SFO or 10 minutes to the rental car facility. Quiet, good breakfast (I paid), good internet, workout room and clean sheets. But $257/night including tax? A bit much!

Room Tip: I was given a water view room on the top floor which provided a great view of the SFO Airport approa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMFLYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    253
    69
    12
    11
See reviews for
146
174
58
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed here for my friends wedding. This hotel was conveniently located in proximity to the wedding location. The staff was very helpful, the room was clean and quiet. The hot tub was "hot" and the cold pool was warm which I liked very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, TN
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We recently stayed one night at this hotel, and it fit our needs greatly. The staff was very hospitable. Our room was clean & quiet. The cookies were a nice touch. The best perk was the airport shuttle, available 24/7. We took our rental car back to the airport since we had an early morning flight, and was able to hop on the hotel shuttle back in a short amount of time. We also used it early the next morning to go directly to our terminal. This allowed us to bypass the rather long "plane train" from the rental car area, saving us lots of time. The only drawback is that there aren't a lot of restaurants within walking distance. We drove a short distance to New England Lobster Company, which was great. Overall, it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thera20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Well, it's been a while since I've reviewed but wanted to do it now before I forget this hotel experience. So, we arrived to San Francisco early for Stanford's graduation. We thought it best to stay in Santa Clara during graduation and spend sometime in San Francisco before our departure back home. The Hilton Garden in was was chosen based on its trip advisor hotel review.
The hotel was clean but it lacked the welcoming feeling I'm use to.The front desk staff was indifferent. Some spoke and some didn't. We stopped by the hotel 2 days before our stay to see what it looks like and were greeted with a "what are you doing here? We said attending nieces graduation from Stanford and we wanted to stop by and see what this hotel would look like. Front desk staff said "why would you want to do that? We said bc that's our plans and we read about you guys on trip advisor. We finally checked in about 2 days later and when eating buffet breakfast $12.95/ person which was not a bad price, we chose to take some yogurt and a box of cereal to the room. The person over breakfast kept watching us like we stole something. Then I ordered French toast and my husband ordered scrambled eggs (eggs had black stuff in them so my husband didn't want them- he was told it was there bc he wanted his eggs well done!) My husband sent it back. No offer made by waiter to cook him anymore. My husband then said could he have French toast and the waiter said "she's already had French toast!" My husband said " its for me." it was almost like my husband couldn't have more food. I thought this was a Buffett? Also, I ask if they had dental floss and was told, yes they sale it in the hotel shop. I didn't ask to buy it.They can't provide free floss? What's up with that? I'll give this hotel a 3 out of 5. Unsure if I would stay here again just bc of the uncomfortable welcome and breakfast mishap. Others may find it a wonderful place to stay and that's fine. For me not so comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaceful1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very welcoming staff and very clean environment. Hotel is centrally located out of the city but easy access to downtown SFO and all that the city has to offer. Great place to stay for both business and pleasure

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Perry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Omg hands down they service best oatmeal blueberry cookie bars at front desk complimentary ..... YumMMmm
This is a great location it may not have view of the bay but, the service , price , parking are perfect. Day I wanted book a room all hotels in burlingame location were sold out. So I came here , I was greeted immediately ( outstanding service) I was asked about pillow firmness soft or firm , also there bed has settings to adjust soft or firm I'm loving it . My husband had his on firm I put my alittle on soft side like I was resting on a cloud . Room decor was little average hotel nothing dirty or ugly. Love the service you can go wrong .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truely7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

After a flight from Las Vegas, we walked out of SFO Terminal 3 and found the shuttle to the hotel.

Check-in was smooth. The room was clean and comfortable. Internet access worked without problems.

Since it was 4:10 PM and the restaurant was not open yet, we went down to the reception to see if we can buy a couple of food items. The staff at the reception was extremely helpful. She gave us six tea bags, six packets of sugar, two cups so that we can use the coffee-machine, and two bottles of water.

The biggest disappointment was the food at the restaurant. I ordered the slow braised short ribs with mash potatoes. The meat was tough and very dry. My wife ordered the Wings of the World (chicken wings tossed in spicy Szechuan orange) and found it too tangy.

The beds were comfortable and we slept well that night.

Breakfast was much better than the dinner we had.

Shuttle to the airport was on time.

I will definitely stay here again, and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelumbo-Nucifera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
1.5 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
Address: 765 Airport Boulevard, Burlingame, CA 94010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Burlingame
#1 Business Hotel in Burlingame
#1 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport/Burlingame hotel, located only two miles from San Francisco International Airport. Situated just five minutes from downtown Burlingame, the hotel is near shops, restaurants and entertainment venues. Downtown San Francisco and Silicon Valley are both 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame Hotel Burlingame
Hilton Garden Inn Burlingame
Hilton Burlingame
Burlingame Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing