We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great SFO spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Waimea Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great SFO spot”
Reviewed 25 May 2008

When flying in and out of SFO the Doubletree SFO made it easy. I returned the rental car early (saved myself a $15 parking fee) and took their courtesy shuttle in the morning to the terminal. Arrived earlier than the posted check-in time (a bit odd to have one for an Airport hotel…) and desk clerk was able to accommodate us and gave us two warm cookies. The rooms were plush. I loved their “Sweet Dreams” bed, was very comfortable. TV was an older non-flat screen. (I guess the newer flat screen LCDs spoils me)

Surprised by two things, no fridge or complimentary Internet.

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Disliked — No Complimetary Internet
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank el_senor_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    633
    283
    111
    65
See reviews for
305
352
183
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2007

The Doubletree at SFO is a good, generic mid-level business hotel. I've stayed there dozens of times over the past two years due to my company's corporate rate.

The staff is very friendly, eager to please and they work quickly to resolve any issues. The rooms are generally comfortable with upgraded beds/linens and reasonably maintained. Even though Hwy 101 is close by, you won't hear road noise in any room. One rather puzzling maintenance item, though, are the windows which as far as I can tell haven't had their exteriors cleaned in 2+ years.

The workout room is disappointing, with only two updated bikes, two treadmills and two ellipticals usable. The other aerobics are shot; the weights are laughable (four sets of 1950's style hand iron).

The restaurant has a decent buffet each breakfast with good selections but it doesn't change AT ALL. They really should think about changing the eggs or potatoes every other day.

Decent value for single business travel (you'll see lots of airline people staying there -- one benefit of that type of traveler is one can frequently check in at odd AM hours). I wouldn't use it as a base for touring the Bay Area, there are much nicer places than the DTree close by for that.

  • Liked — Staff; efficient check-in/out
  • Disliked — Facilities need updating
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqTravBizPleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney,Australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

Stayed for a night before connecting to an international flight- the 8th floor room was large, well appointed and very comfortable. Unfortunately there was an interconnecting door and the noise (and light) travelled between rooms through the door and the gaps around it- the person on the other side coughed most of the night. Avoid this type of room.Another niggle ladies- there was no shower cap provided- I think this may apply to all Doubletree hotels.

  • Liked — location near SFO arport
  • Disliked — noise between the rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farawaymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We stayed at the Doubletree Hotel SFO on Sept. 7 and again on Sept. 21 simply because of the ease in arriving there and the stupendous park and fly package. Although we chose to stay there two nights, we could just as easily have booked one night for the additional 14 nights free parking. At $125 plus tax, this is solid value. Slowly but surely the hotel has been upgrading its rooms to give guests very comfortable pillow-top beds and several pillows. Although fairly small, the rooms allow two individuals sufficient space to move about with a reasonable amount of luggage. Room service dining permits guests to share courses and bring their own wine and drinks, although the Chutney Grill is also open for meals. What distinguishes this hotel, however, is the reception at the desk. Jennifer is a gem at making guests feel welcome and special. Even the rest of the staff seems to be more aware of how important it is to give a personal touch to guests.

There are a couple of notes that prospective guests may wish to consider. For one, the hotel shuttle shares its van with two other properties in order to consolidate fuel and time. Our major complaint, and one that most properties seem to share, is the lack of safety bar in the bath tub area. To prevent slipping, all hotels should be required to install safety bars, not just for those with disabilities but also for those seeking secure footing in the tub/shower area.

We have stayed at the Doubletree on and off for almost twenty years and are pleased that the staff is keeping up with the times. Check their web site for packages and don't forget those large chocolate chip cookies that will be waiting for you upon arrival.

  • Liked — The personalized attention and upgraded amenities.
  • Disliked — The lack of safety bar in bath area.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank M-man11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

We dropped off our rental auto the night before & free shuttled back to hotel. SFO is a nightmare re sufficent signage & informed personnel at the Info Desk. The rental car desks are accessible only by Air Trans & returning car the night before our flight back home to Hawaii was the best option to save us time & stress.

Staff on property are friendly, rooms are clean, bed is very comfortable, room service meals are delicious & quick. For ease of convenience, we would stay here again.

$15 per night for parking a rental SUV is a lot less than $49 per night in the City.

  • Liked — Location to SFO
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trucks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

Stayed for one night between flights.
Very friendly staff.
Nice Room (although a tiny bit dated)
Very Clean and comfortable with good value dining options.
Free shuttle from the airport

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coronado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

My family and I spent two nights at this hotel, and I was very pleased. We booked through Priceline, but at checkin I was given exactly the type of room I requested. The room was large and very clean, the beds were comfortable and the service was great. I left the maid a note, asking for extra towels. We not only received the towels but extra toiletries. The breakfast buffet in the cafe is a little pricy at $12 each, but the food was good and the atmosphere was refreshing. The only downside to the hotel that I could find was the $15 parking fee.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burlingame hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.0 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport (SFO) - Waterfront
1.3 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
Address: 835 Airport Blvd., Burlingame, CA 94010-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
#6 Business Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Burlingame
Doubletree San Francisco Airport
Doubletree Burlingame
Burlingame Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing