We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Not impressed.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Beware of this place. They advertise it as a deluxe hotel with much to offer. The rooms are very basic and small. Bathroom not very nice. Standard bed, small TV. Could see a little of the bay out the small window. No refrigerator or microwave, but you can get one brought up if you like. They advertise high speed internet, but the free Wi-Fi is for your first night only. There is no pool or spa. They told us we could walk to the hotel next door and use theirs. They have breakfast until 10:00 am. But it is not complimentary. I got charged $16.00 per person, because we assumed it was. My breakfast bill came to $221.00 for 10 of us. I put some dirty dishes outside my door and they stayed there for two days. We had 3 rooms. They were all the same way. Parking costs per car also. My son had a room at the Best Western down the street that was $5 cheaper and far nicer that this. I wont stay here again. There are so many nicer hotels.

Room Tip: Dont expect much from the basic guest room. Everything nice is EXTRA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvxmas57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdth, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us on TripAdvisor. At our hotel, we know that the look of our guestrooms is very important and we apologize that you were disappointed with the amenities. We are sorry that you were unaware of the cost of breakfast and we hope that the next time your travels bring you to the area you’ll stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Mike McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    614
    277
    105
    62
See reviews for
286
342
175
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Been here for my last 2 visits in SF. Good location, 5 mins away from airport and 30 mins away from downtown SF. If possible, try to book on weekends as its almost half the price compare to normal business days. Very helpful staffs, half decent breakfast and 3.5 star accommodation. Ask for the new tower at check in, its way newer.

Room Tip: ask for new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdth, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Tony L,

Thank you for taking the time out of your travels to review our hotel.

We are pleased to see you enjoyed your last 2 visits with us, we love having loyal customers to make us feel like we're doing something right! Our proximity to the San Francisco Airport is one of our most loved features of our hotel and we are pleased to see you appreciated that as well. We have a complimentary shuttle to and from the SF Airport, if you havent used in the past we highly recommend taking advantage of during your next stay.

Again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Mike McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just a one night stay in the Bay Area on business - the hotel is close to the airport - shuttle bus was excellent and quick both ways. Hotel was clean, tidy and friendly, and the rooms comfortable. Air con unit was a bit loud, as is common with the in-room units, but apart from that, very good. I liked the stand-alone shower - more room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdth, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Al M,

Thank you for taking time out of your business travels to review our hotel. We understand these take time and we appreciate yours.

We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay will in the Bay Area. We pride ourselves on great service and clean/comfortable accomodations, and it looks as if we did just that. Our proximity to the San Francisco Airport is a great feature we have and we are pleased to see you were able to take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle.

Again, thank you for the great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mike Mckee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location and I believe the last shuttle stop on the way to the airport. Very fast service / drive. Parking is safe and secure and although not directly on the bay the extra buffer zone allows for a quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdth, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear David L,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We understand these take time and we appreciate yours.

We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide great accomodations with excellent service for each of our guests, and it looks as if we did just that. Our proximity to the bay is a great feature for our guests. The trail along side has beautiful views and clean air for any guests looking to get out of the city and hotel and into nature.

Again, thank you for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mike McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very happy with our stay. The warm cookies upon registering were a nice touch! Service was top notch. The rooms were very clean and presented well. Would definitely stay again when in the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdth, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Bob S,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. We understand these take time and we appreciate yours.

We are pleased to see you were happy and satisfied with your stay with us. We love hearing our guests comments on our complimentary DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie at check-in! We think they are very delicious and we appreciate the great feedback.

Again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mike McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it - It offers some great views of the SF Bay, is within minutes of the airport, and has went through a number of updates in the common areas. I stayed here about five years previous and the common areas were dark and dated. They have updated since then and have a very open and bright restaurant and bar. The only downside is that the rooms and hallways are due for the same update the commons went through. These areas were clean but dated. Furniture and walls were showing their age. I would probably stay at the Hilton, Embassy Suites, or Hilton Garden Inn nearby instead of this property again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tankdagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdth, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear tankdagger,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand these take time and we appreciate all feedback.

We are pleased to see you were satisfied with your stay with us. Our newly renovated property is getting a lot of great feedback from our guests and we are happy to see you enjoyed it as well.

We are sorry to hear you felt our rooms were dated. Many of our guests seem to love our guestrooms, but we understand everyone has different opinions. Perhaps the room you stayed in needs to be looked over again by housekeeping? Please message us your room number and we'd love to take a look and see what the problem is.

Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon, so we can change your impression of us to a great one.

Sincerely,
Mike McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Let's start with the positives of this hotel. It is very conveniently located to SFO. Our room actually had a great view of the airport and the arriving and departing planes. Something we enjoy. The staff was wonderful. Everyone always said hello to us throughout our stay and seemed genuinely appreciative of our business. The rooms are typical DoubleTree. I do not mean that in a bad way. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are neat, clean, and well furnished. I must say that the GIANT FAX machine in the room seemed a bit odd, considering they had a business center downstairs and in reality, who sends a FAX any more?
Here are the two negatives we found. The shuttle drive did not speak a word of English, except to try and pronounce the names of the hotels he was going to, and even then, we could not understand him. He kept repeating the same thing over and over again whenever we asked if he was going to the DoubleTree San Francisco Airport Hotel. I finally had to call the hotel from the shuttle and get clarification I was on the correct shuttle.
The next problem was after we checked in. I realized I had forgotten my razor. I called down that evening and they immediately brought a disposable razor to my room. Great! The next mooring when I went to use it, it was so cheap and so dull that I was in pain as I attempted to shave. I eventually gave up and walked down to the little store behind the front desk and spent $10 on a real razor. They really need to upgrade their complimentary razors to at least a brand that will not cause so much pain and hack your face to death.
All in all, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a hilton Honors member like me, make sure you get the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDX_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdth, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear RPWFOURplus1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback, both good and bad.

We are pleased to see you were satisified with your stay. We strive to provide great service and clean/comfortable accomodations for each of our guests and it looks as if we did just that.

We are sorry to hear there was an issue with our shuttle driver. Your review will be forwarded to our Director of Front Office Operations to ensure this issue is resolved quickly.

Again, thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Mike McKee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burlingame hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Francisco Airport (SFO) - Waterfront
1.0 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
Address: 835 Airport Blvd., Burlingame, CA 94010-1922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Burlingame
#6 Business Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Burlingame
Doubletree San Francisco Airport
Doubletree Burlingame
Burlingame Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing