We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Enjoy The Natural Beauty!”

McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Burney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular hiking, camping and fishing park.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go Enjoy The Natural Beauty!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Breathing taking water falls! My family and my kids enjoy it so much. We went camp at Lassen NP at 1st week of August, 2013. This beautiful falls is located 30 minutes north from Lassen, a flat easy Highway drive. The falls is very close to the entrance. $8 entrance fee. You will find amazing views at the top, midway or at the bottom of the falls. Excellent picture spots. A lot of rocks find at the bottom of the falls, very fresh cool water. Kids love jumping around the rounds while adults sit down to relax and enjoy the little spray from the falls. You can even hear the roar from the falls. The weather was perfect, sunny but not too hot. We brought lunch down to the falls. It was so joyful to have our sandwiches and enjoy the beautiful falls at the same time. A very easy trail heads down the falls. There is also a Fall Loop Trail if you have another hour to spend. I am glad I find this beautiful water falls. It was a highlight of my camping trip near Lassen. A must see if you are in Northern California!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunloverCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    64
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Most unique waterfall!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Burney Falls are truly very unique. They are outflows of natural springs, and therefore surface drought does not affect the flow rate and volume of these falls, which are almost constant year round. I would recommend a visit in the early or first part of the day, as the glare from the sun later in the day will affect the quality of your view. Do take the 1.2-mile loop trail if possible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkelingJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Wow. We saw this over 20 years ago and it is more beautiful than we remembered. Great facilities, too. There's over 100 campsites but book early or stay in nearby Burney.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Albizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Go. See. Get Out of Town.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Burney Falls is a great spot to visit, even if you're not a camper.

The Falls are great-- if not spectacular. The trails in the surrounding area are accessible and easy to hike. And if you're in the mood, there are boat, kayak and canoe rentals on the lake. It's a fabulous spot to spend a few hours or half a day.

The trick is to get into Burney and then get out. Burney, like other NE California towns, is not for the educated, sophisticated or high-end traveler. There are great locations to see-- such as Mount Lassen-- but few reasons to linger unless you're a camper, fisherman, or in the FBI's Witness Protection Program. Burney Falls are a high-altitude treat. Enjoy, then drive on.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pristine pool of chilly wonder”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hike to the falls, and back, is easy and gorgeous. The entire loop is moderate. The hike back behind the falls is uphill and in the sun, so if you want to stay in the shade on an easy hike don't hike the entire loop--just turn around and go back the way you came. Lake Britton is a short drive through the camp ground. The water is nice but the beach was crowded and noisy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamburger_Queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park also viewed

Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
California, United States
 

Been to McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing