We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Gables Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Gables Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Burney
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

This motel offers a nice, clean room at a reasonable price in a very beautiful area. Burney is a cute town with some good restaurants. The Green Gables offers a nice sized room with a large bathroom and a Jacuzzi tub. The TV offers a nice selection. The motel was quiet and easy to get in and out of. The beds were comfortable and the motel offers a frig and microwave. A good bargain.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    34
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
35
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SW Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Green Gables on a layover on a road trip from Lake Tahoe. We were greeted very pleasantly and checked in efficiently. We stayed in a two bedroom suite-style room that was more like a small apartment. The one thing that is most important for us when staying in independent motels of this nature is cleanliness and we found our room(s) at the Green Gables to be immaculately clean... much cleaner than the fancy condo we rented in Tahoe. The court yard of the Gables is shaded and pleasant. Location is great - we took in MacArthur Burney Falls and then hung out at Lake Britton... just down the road. We would definitely stay here again on our way through Northern California.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breathingtokens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tonawanda NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We have travelled to Cal. three times in the past five years to visit family and always make Burney a part of our stop. It would not be the same without staying here.
Rooms are cute and efficient with a microwave and refrigerator. We love sitting outside, watching the world go by and smelling the wonderfully fragrant pines!
The staff is friendly and helpful. The pool was unfortunately closed due to new state regulations a few years ago. We were given passes to the new community pool a short five minute drive away It is a lovely facility and well needed after hiking on a 100-plus degree day.
There is a very small continental breakfast in the morning, but a McDonald's right next door. It is also our third time eating at the diner a short five minute walk down the road.
We would never dream of staying anywhere else in Burney!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne-Chiarmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Perfect place for all types ( family, travelers .. etc) you can't beat the price and the staff is really friendly. Not to mention it's literally 15 mins away from Burney Falls! My parents enjoyed sitting out in the little porch out front catching the breeze and admiring the view of their gorgeous pines. The room we booked fit 6 of us comfortably and there was even a little kitchenette for those on a budget. There was only one bathroom to share amongst us.. so keep that in mind for shower schedules.

Room Tip: In the age of technology its weird but pick up the phone and call the office. They run three differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Things to keep in mind: You are in a small town and the same person owns a few of the hotels here. Without any real competition, don't expect much.
The place is old. Really old. Sheetrock screws seem to be the fastener of choice. They are used to hold down everything including the picture frames. AC's were put in - smaller than original ones - no problem; just crew some paneling in around it. Some repairs are less than 1st quality. That said, the place is clean. Bathroom was clean and mold free. Wooden soap dish scieved us a bit, but again, old but clean.
Breakfast is coffee with powdered creamer and the cinnamon rolls in plastic that you get at Wal-Mart for like 100 for a $1. I saw all this and bailed, but getting back to the car, found out my son wanted one. Went back in, but I was now a minute too late - they had pulled them all back behind the counter - "Breakfast just ended"
Overall, if you need a clean bed, this place will work.

Room Tip: The woman at the front desk recommended the steak place accross the street. Not a winner. Way over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forseeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We like to do some fishing in the Burney area and decided to stay here, this time, because of the ratings which were right on. The facility is old but it is clean and everything worked well enough for us except the wi-fi was slow. The main drag in burney is busy at night with trucks rumbling by and our room was at the front so the noise was bothersome at times. The staff was nice but the breakfast was useless. All in all, we were pleased and would come back here on our next fishin trip.

Room Tip: Stay in the back away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dizzycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We chose this motel because it had the best reviews among all motels in Burney and there was no other choice. We stayed in a 2 bedroom house (room #47) for $139/nt. It has a small kitchen, a living room and a dining room in addition to the bedrooms. The rooms were ok for a motel. Lots of towels in the bathroom. Wifi was terrible. My iPad and iPhone kept losing connection but it seemed to work on my son's laptop. Free breakfast selections were very limited, with some pre-packed danish bread and boxed juice but for a motel this was actually beyond our expectations. There was a guest laundry in the next motel complex (forgot the name) but no detergent was available (not even for sale) although you can buy it from the RiteAid store nearby. Pretty convenient location. McDonalds, Subway, RiteAid are all within 5 min walking distance. There's also a Chinese restaurant within walking distance. Staff was friendly. Overall it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jqin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burney hotels
0.1 mi away
Shasta Pines Motel
Shasta Pines Motel
#3 of 5 in Burney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charm Motel
Charm Motel
#4 of 5 in Burney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burney Motel
Burney Motel
#2 of 5 in Burney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Motel

Property: Green Gables Motel
Address: 37371 State Highway 299 E, Burney, CA 96013-4371
Region: United States > California > Burney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Burney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Gables Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Gables Motel is family owned & operated AAA approved, pet-friendly, non-smoking lodging located 10 minutes from Burney Falls State Park. All of our exceptionally clean, cozy, comfortable rooms feature microwave, fridge, coffee makers, free wifi, & cable TV. We have fully stocked kitchens, spa tubs and full-sized houses available. BBQ grills, picnic tables and fish cleaning area available seasonally. Ice machine, Coin laundry, over-sized & truck parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Green Gables Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing