We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Adorable”
Review of Green Gables Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Green Gables Motel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Burney
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Made our reservation for Fri., Aug. 6, 2010 due to past good reviews & hoped for the best. Checked into the office, which is between the Green Gables & the Charm Motels on the East side of the road, obviously having the same owner. We were very pleased with our small, but clean & cute room. It came with a double and a twin bed, large bathroom (could use a table to put toiletries on though), pine furniture, frig, microwave, coffee pot, TV & adequate continental breakfast.

The motel is shaped in a U & all the rooms look like little cottages tied together. And, each room had it's own porch with 2 chairs. For dinner we just bought a roasted chicken & cole slaw at Safeway (across the street) & ate it in our room.

The rate of $79 + tax was more than reasonable & we would certainly stay there again. (Oh.....for a GREAT breakfast or lunch at great prices, don't miss J's Cafe near the corner of Hwy's. 89 & 44.)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worddujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Green Gables. Upon check in, the staff was friendly. Although the motel seems very outdated, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was larger than many but there was no place to set your toiletry bag. The room was quiet even though the motel is right off the highway and the price was what we expected ($70) for the accommodations. They offer a continental breakfast consisting of prepackaged pastries, breakfast cereals and juices. There are restaurants within walking distance and a Safeway store right down the street. This was a fishing trip for us so it was a plus that they had a fish cleaning station and BBQ’s for guest use.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jalfani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

The Green Gables Motel is a throwback to the good old days of personal, road side motor lodges. The simple facts are that the hotel is right on the highway (HWY299 50mi. outside of Redding and close to the junction HWY89 going to Shasta or Reno), very clean and recently refurbished. It is quite quaint and 'old school'. I was looking for a safe clean place to stay knowing I didn't want to drive at night in this area (DEER!!!) and my wife and I were extremely happy with this find!
The rooms are on one floor with exterior opening doors around the parking lot. (Seriously, it's right out of the 1940's & 50's) The property was clean and well taken care of. The check-in is next door, but extremely close. I believe all the motor lodges (a grand total of 2 or 3 more) are right next to each other and are all owned by the same proprietor and all check-in at the same office. The McDonald's is in an adjacent lot and there is a bar and grille across the road.
The room itself was also extremely surprising in a good way!! We had a king room that had a fridge (nice size), a microwave and a small coffee maker. The flooring looked brand new, the paint was fresh, and the furnishings were clean and well kept (some seemed new). There is no room to do a workout, but it more than served its purpose and seemed cozy (especially with the front porch and chairs provided just outside the door).
Our bathroom was really large. The shower and bathroom overall were very clean as well. The shower had good water pressure and the cabinets and shleving provided plenty of space for travel stuff. In fact, you could probably do your excercising in the bathroom if you wanted.
Quite honestly this was just a cool little place to find. Our family finds ourselves driving on HWY 89 quite often and it's nice to know that there is a clean and nice place to stop if we get a late start and want to settle down for the night instead of playing 'Deer Tag' with our car. It would also seem a great fit for any fishing buff trying to pull some trout out of Hat Creek or people playing at Burney Falls . . . by the way, the even have a pool.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandSinNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small and clean and the bed was comfortable. But our room evidenced lack of maintenance. Things just did not work well. The noisy air conditioner had an on-off switch but no thermostat and no fan speed control, so we were up during the night to turn it on and off. Two of the four bulbs in the bathroom mirror fixture were burned out. One power outlet in the bathroom was dead, despite resetting the GFCI. Wi-Fi was fast when it worked, but connections were frequently interrupted. Breakfast consisted of coffee, juice in cardboard packs, and granola bars. All told, this lodging experience was on the low end of $70 rooms where we have stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JollyMan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

First, this hotel is well managed, clean, and in a superb location to visit Burney Falls State Park as well as Lassen Volcanic National Park. That said, it is probably not going to meet the expectations of many as a resort hotel. It is functional and used by the many contractors and service people active in the area. There is a convenient and very modern laundry facility in the adjacent hotel owned and managed by the Green Gables for guests to use. A fridge and microwave were appreciated in the room. The room, while not spacious, was efficient and met our needs. Joyce at the front desk was a great help in recommending places to eat, clean clothes, and generally get refueled for more hiking adventures. Breakfast was bare minimum with packaged juice and fruit with breakfast bars to go.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

The staff were friendly, the property is fairly cute on the outside, complimentary breakfast was okay. Our room was just so very small is was absolutely uncomfortable for the three of us plus our poodle. When I was in bed I was 6 inches from the window. Other rooms may be bigger or may have only one bed which would be about right. The bathroom was large, but no fan and no counterspace. Burney is a cute little mountain town and the Blackberry restaurant (this isn't the exact name) up the street serves great meals at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Convenient, clean and recently refurbished (nicely). Stayed in many small non chain motels and this is of very high standard. Friendly staff. Would recommend, easy access to Lassen Volcanic national park.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ols_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burney hotels
0.2 mi away
Burney Motel
Burney Motel
#2 of 5 in Burney
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shasta Pines Motel
Shasta Pines Motel
#4 of 5 in Burney
72 reviews
0 mi away
Charm Motel
Charm Motel
#3 of 5 in Burney
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rex Club
The Rex Club
#1 of 1 in Burney
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Green Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gables Motel

Address: 37371 State Highway 299 E, Burney, CA 96013-4371
Region: United States > California > Burney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Burney
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Gables Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Gables Motel is family owned & operated AAA approved, pet-friendly, non-smoking lodging located 10 minutes from Burney Falls State Park. All of our exceptionally clean, cozy, comfortable rooms feature microwave, fridge, coffee makers, free wifi, & cable TV. We have fully stocked kitchens, spa tubs and full-sized houses available. BBQ grills, picnic tables and fish cleaning area available seasonally. Ice machine, Coin laundry, over-sized & truck parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Green Gables Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gables Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing