We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in town to stay!”
Review of Shasta Pines Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shasta Pines Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Burney
Newark, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place in town to stay!”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Recently remodeled, stayed in a queen suite room upstairs. (155) The Hotel grounds and room where spotlessly clean, free wifi which worked fine by way. Wonderful location next door to restaurant and many other restaurants where up and down Main St. including a well appointed Safeway. My cell phone had no bars so thank goodness the room had a phone. Lovely view of Mt. Lassen, a nice grassy area with picnic tables so the kids can let off some steam. I really enjoyed having a couch to sit on while watching the nice flat screen tv, I cannot lie on the bed to watch it hurts my back. Now if our boisterous downstairs group quiet down by 9 pm, I will be a very happy customer. This will be our place to stay on future visits to see family that live in Burney.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RhonnaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    21
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
24
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Clean, comfortable, quiet, nicely appointed room. I especially liked the plush towels! We were lucky to find such a lovely and reasonably priced place to stay.

The proprietor went out of his way to make us comfortable and see to our needs.

If Burney is on your path, be sure to stay here and see some of the surrounding sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djinni_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We had a large, very well equipped king room in what appeared to be a newer block. Everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained, and despite being on a busy road, it we were not bothered by traffic noise. The adjoining restaurant was convenient and served excellent steak

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AesRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was our third visit to Shasta Pines over the last few years and it has always been a great experience. We were assigned an end unit in one of the remodeled rooms and found it to be spacious and clean. The management is very accomodating and offered an additonal discount for cash. We will definitely continue to make this establishment a stop off on our way to Lake Tahoe.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed in a king suite in August of 2012 and enjoyed it very much. These rooms are clean, quiet and very comfortable. The beds were really great too. Nice bathrooms - great shower and separate sink and countertop area. Gary - the proprietor is such a nice guy and really cares about running a great hotel. Guests always come first. I've read some of the reviews that were less than flattering and I'm wondering where they're used to staying - maybe the Ritz! This is a great place to stay - especially for a small town. By the way - don't bother with the restaurant right near it (Art's Outpost) - yuk. Old fasioned dinner club style and not good food.

Room Tip: Didn't see any other rooms, but really enjoyed the king suite - second floor in the new building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed in a king suite. The "suite" was a single room typical of the size of a normal hotel room. From reading other reviews, it appears that the non-suite rooms are very small. The room was clean and smelled fresh (no industrial cleaner smell). A number of items in our room either needed to be replaced or repaired. No breakfast was provided, but there were a number of restaurants as well as a grocery store near the hotel. The family managing the hotel were curteous and prompt. We spent one night after driving through Lassen National Park and would stay at this establishment in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_Travel_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

When staying at a basic hotel/motel like this, you really only want a few things: a clean quiet room, a comfortable bed, good climate control, a safe location, at a good price. We got all of that and more. We had a "king suite" on the 2nd floor. These are newer rooms, and may not be representative of the older rooms.

The AC kicked in well and kept the room comfortable all evening and night. The bed and sheets were comfortable, the TV was a flat screen with good selection. The shower was high with good temp and pressure, but the thinnest soap you've ever seen - think Kraft cheese slices. I dropped it by mistake - it shattered. :-). The room was clean and well lit, and there was a ceiling fan if you prefer that to the AC.

The "suite" part included a sitting area with a couch that was a nice addition, though not essential. There was a fridge in the room. Wi-fi worked well. a Lot of parking. There is a steakhouse next door if you don't want to drive out for dinner. No breakfast at the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the new rooms, in the 2 story annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tywwia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Burney hotels
0.1 mi away
Green Gables Motel
Green Gables Motel
#1 of 5 in Burney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charm Motel
Charm Motel
#3 of 5 in Burney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burney Motel
Burney Motel
#2 of 5 in Burney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shasta Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shasta Pines Motel

Property: Shasta Pines Motel
Address: 37386 State Highway 299 E, Burney, CA 96013-4377
Region: United States > California > Burney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Burney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Shasta Pines Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a AAA two diamond; 14 new rooms & suites and 16 rooms renovated in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Shasta Pines Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shasta Pines Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing