We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Buttonwillow
Wasco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Excellent Stay!!!
We stayed in Econolodge at Buttonwillow as it was near to our work place and we needed nice deal for our extended stay. After shopping around with nearby hotels we finalized on this one because the rates for extended stay was a steal. When we say steal we really meant it $160 for a week with all the modern amenities in the room. Also various restaurants are nearby to choose from and gas station next door. Motel is immaculately clean , pool was always clean too. Morning breakfast was much more we expected at this price - different cereals, milk, coffee, breads, waffle, juices and honey buns.
We stayed for 2 weeks and will return whenever work gets us to this area.
Before I forget all the staff members were pleasant and will go extra mile to assist you !!!
Stay here if your passing by I5 or have work nearby !!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    26
    17
    21
    44
See reviews for
30
32
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I arrived in the late evening to what appeared to be a near empty hotel and was told that no ground floor rooms were available. I was given a second floor room that smelled like it had been closed up for months. The bed was worn out and smelled pretty bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegularCustomer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I apologize that your late arrival did not allow for a ground floor room. Some rooms may have been out of service for repairs or deep cleaning when you arrived. We won’t rent a room that isn’t in good condition. While we haven’t had any other reports of odor problems or bedding issues, we will recheck our second floor rooms and address any issues we find. We’re constantly cleaning, repairing and improving to make sure every guest is satisfied. For any ways we failed you, I’m genuinely sorry.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Buttonwillow hotels

Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I enjoyed staying at this motel. We had a suite which was very clean and quite affordable in price. There was lots of space, and the kids went in the pool. Their wifi worked well, which is a must for me because I work online. I really liked their breakfast too. I would definitely come back again on my way back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank emily f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

No, this isn't a review of a long forgotten Spencer Tracey movie. This is an actual story about a hotel that exists this very day, The only reason I'm giving it 2 stars is because I always thought that people who gave 1 star reviews were congenital malcontents. Now I know better. This hotel is 1/2 way between San Diego and home in N. Cal. Since it is part of the Choice Hotels family and there was no Comfort Inn or Quality Inn I picked this hotel expecting it to be the best of the Buttonwillow hotels. We were disappointed. We had a "suite" which actually consists of 2 former rooms with an opening cut in the wall between with one room serving as a bedroom and the other as a living room. Not a bad concept but in this case it was poorly executed. I don't know if the owners did the remodel themselves or if they just didn't want to pay for a quality job. This "suite" still has both exterior doors from the original 2 rooms as well as many uneven wall/ceiling irregularities where walls formerly stood. In addition, the carpet was not only extremely dirty but appeared not to have been vacuumed as there was litter present. The Wi-Fi service did not work and even though I made a second request, management was either unable or unwilling to correct the problem. I resorted to going to the local McDonald's where the Wi-Fi works very well. But, like any good movie, there was some comedy relief. There were 2 televisions , one in the living room area and another in the sleeping area. They were both set at the same remote control frequency so when the person in the sleeping area changed the channel on 1 TV it also changed the channel on the TV in the living room area. Spencer Tracey never had it this bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandfatherFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. We take pride in the quality of our rooms, and I’m sincerely sorry if we fell short of your expectations in any way. I apologize for any lapses in cleanliness or maintenance. We work every day to make this property better and better. While hundreds of guests each week are satisfied, we’re sorry we can’t meet everyone’s expectations on every occasion even though we strive for 100 percent satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Convenient location next to i5.
Check in staff friendly & helpful.
Room basic but noisy. Heating didn't work properly so room was cold. Budget hotel but not good value for money. Cleanliness could be better.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skydivescott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting. I’m sorry that the room you were assigned didn’t meet your needs. We could have moved you if the heater was broken, but we haven’t had any other reports of a broken heater. We strive to provide the best possible combination of value and amenities, and I’m sorry if we fell short in your estimation. I hope you’ll give us another try. We work to make this place better and better every day, and I believe it shows.

Thanks,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Seldom have I experienced rooms that smelled worse than these. They tried to mask the moldy smell by "covering" the rooms with air freshner. When this was brought to staffs attention we were told all motels do this and this was our problem. When we asked for a refund we were told no. When I asked the lady attendant for a card and her name, she became rude. I did not understand her name and when I asked her to please spell it. She rudely said, "Don't you know how to spell.". I would rather keep driving or sleeping a rest stop than stay in this establishment. with the help of corporate Member Services we were able to get the charges reversed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank shefnmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgeinnandsuit, Webmaster at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your last visit.

We also appreciate the effort you have taken to give us review and we take them quite seriously towards improvement.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you had whatsoever.

The Staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which our valued guests are to be treated.

The entire issue related to the cleanliness and other hygiene related problem in the room has been investigated. Appropriate steps have been taken and this will never happen again.

We hope you will make a note of this and shall choose us once again when you visit our area and see the change.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttonwillow
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#9 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
#43 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wasco Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Days Inn Lost Hills
Days Inn Lost Hills
#1 of 2 in Lost Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
17.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
20.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 20688 Tracy Ave, I-5 and Hwy 58 Exit, Buttonwillow, CA 93206-9782 (Formerly Homeland Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Buttonwillow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Buttonwillow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Inn and Suites is conveniently located 28 miles west of Bakersfield, off the I-5. We offer an outdoor swimming pool, guest laundry, and Early Starts continental breakfast every morning. All guestrooms have free wireless internet, remote control TV with cable that includes HBO. The Econo Lodge is located just minutes away from the Buttonwillow racetrack. Whether traveling for business or pleasure this Econo Lodge Hotel provides friendly customer service, relaxing accommodations, and affordable rates. We look forward to seeing you soon.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Hotel Buttonwillow
Homeland Hotel Buttonwillow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing