We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet beach but hotel has Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo Beach
Reviewed 1 February 2012

There are good and bad things about this hotel. I will list them separately.

BAD
(1) I complained 3 times about the television in my room. The picture had lines across it on all channels, some channels were much worse than others. My partner says its a sign of a problem with the installation - electrical interference affecting the cabling. People did come to look at it, but nothing they did actually removed the problem. Eventually I gave up complaining.
(2) The carpet in my room had several stains on it (have photos)
(3) Several tiles in the bathroom were cracked (have photos)
(4) Mould in the bathroom (have photos)
(5) Dirty window in my room (slightly spoiled the nice view for me)
(6) Musty smell in the corridor and signs of water damage (have photos)
(7) Musty smell in the chest of drawers
(8) While we were fetching our dessert at the buffet supper the first night, our table was prematurely completely cleared, including my unfinished Appletizer. That and the cost meant we didn't go back for dinner the next night.
(10) The shark nets have been removed from the beach. The lifesavers don't know when they will be brought back again. Since safe bathing was a reason for choosing this hotel, this was quite dissapointing.
(11) There is litter alongside the wooden walkway to the beach.
(12) The change rooms next to the pool smell strongly of urine
(13) There is an unpleasant stagnant smell coming from water dripping from the gutters on the games room building.
(14) A pocket-pack of tissues in the bathroom room instead of the expected box of tissues
(15) Soap scum on the back of the bath mixer.
(16) The shower curtain on the bath often stuck to me while I was showering. A glass shower door may well be a better idea.

GOOD
(1) Staff was very friendly
(2) The linen on the bed and the towels were very clean.
(3) Housekeeping promptly replaced the down-filled pillows with non-down ones, once they understood what it was I was talking about.
(4) The breakfast buffet selection is good.
(5) The mutton curry at the dinner buffet is excellent
(6) Nice view from my sea-facing king room on the third floor- could sit in bed and see the sea.
(7) The nightly chocolates by the bed were a nice touch

So, in summary, my weekend trip at the end of January 2012 was dissapointing. It wasn't terrible, but I don't think I'd go again to this hotel, unless they did some thorough refurbishment, upped their maintenance game and did more staff training.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room faced the sea and also the railway line. The room lacked for nothing, comfortable bed, nice sized desk from which to work. That part of the coast has a rialway line which runs in front of the hotel and the sea. The trains were not disturbing. What a beautiful beach, which is accessed by a bridge from the hotel grounds over the rail track. We had no meals at the hotel as we wanted to explore both the South and the North Coast of Natal and ate at various coffee shops and restaurants which abound in that part of the world. We would love to pay a visit in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ayr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Staff are friendly and kind. Service was to the tee. Rooms are beautiful. We had a sea view. A very peaceful place to go as a couple. I went for my honeymoon and I simply loved the place. It was just want I wanted. The food is divine. I loved the omelette it was great. You can even go as families as well. There is a pool, putt putt and lots of games to keep the kids entertained.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatassiaDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

I would like to comment on all the STAFF! They are always on the ball and willing to go the extra mile. Keep it up!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Karridene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank julien591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbert T, Front Office Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pblot60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jairor876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illovo Beach
11.9 mi away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
225 reviews
20.0 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
11.0 mi away
Island Hotel
Island Hotel
#1 of 1 in Isipingo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1,512 reviews
22.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
22.7 mi away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#8 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach

Address: Old South Coast Road, Illovo Beach 4126, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Illovo Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo Beach
Price Range: £51 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Karridene Beach - Where Business and Pleasure Meet. Only 20 minutes south of Durban, this modern and luxurious South Coast hotel resort is well-known for its excellent accommodation, wonderful food, friendly hospitality and first-class service. Nestled between the lagoon and the beach at Illovo; views are a given. It also boasts an award-winning caravan park. Bring your rackets, clubs and swimwear because there is plenty to do nearby. A wheelchair-friendly boardwalk is also available, leading onto the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Karridene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing