We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown Cow

Brown Cow
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Chatburn
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal and the waitress couldn't do enough for us we will certainly be back soon. Very good value for a nice family meal.

Helpful?
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Went here for a Sunday lunch, good choice of food at reasonable prices, pleasant welcoming staff and a nice atmosphere, oldie worldly feel to the place, the staff are attentive but not pushy.
£40 for 2 courses and drinks, pretty good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mothers Day at the Brown Cow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Really lovely meal and free meal for two of the mums in our party including me! Excellent value for money. Only downside is the place could do with a makeover having said that it felt homely and very relaxed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P6660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across the brown cow and had Sunday lunch. The 3 course set menu is good value and all the food was great. Good choice of roast dinners. The highlight is the service though. A friendly landlord who seems genuinely pleased to serve and a brilliant waitress who is about the friendliest and most personable we've come across. Keep it up!

Helpful?
2 Thank Greywolfboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnoldswick
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“poor value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

After a long day out we were relieved that they were still serving food. It was only 4 pm but they had run out of a lot of items. Since they are open until nine this does seem like bad planning. The worse thing was we treated ourselves to the Luxury Fish Pie which at £13.95 we expected to be sumptuous. For a start one of the pies was almost all prawns and not king prawns. These were frozen catering, small rubbery and not at all tasty. The other pie was all one sort of fish and not great either. The sauce was thin and tasteless and the potato had no sign of cheese. Vegetables were hard and uninspiring. To top it all they had run out of the only pudding we fancied. I am ashamed to say I did not complain. The staff were very friendly but the bar was cluttered with regulars who only reluctantly moved when I was paying the bill. Too embarrassing to make a complaint a that point. The only luxury aspect of the pie was the price. I will be making my own pie this weekend for much less and without the rubber prawns. Pity, it is a nice pub in a lovely village.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown Cow also viewed

 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Brown Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing