We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon meal”
Review of Brown Cow

Brown Cow
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Chatburn
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Afternoon meal”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Great place, landlord very welcoming, service was excellent, prices ok (little high), food was very good though, and as the saying says " you get what you pay for" we had ploughman's, steak sandwich and gammon. Will visit again and they do good offers during the week.

Helpful?
Thank GaznCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service, great food, great price”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Came to this lovely pub in chatburn for the first time a couple of weeks ago as one of my friends recommended it for great food at a competitive price, I had the luxury fish pie which I must say was absolutely cooked to perfection with nice big chunks of haddock which was a nice touch, while my girlfriend had a hot steak sandwich which she said was very tasty, we received wonderful service from the waitress who made sure we were happy throughout our time in the pub, and was eager to make sure we had no problems and any think we asked for she was very happy to help, will be returning soon, very impressed

Helpful?
Thank jeffthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Comfortable pub friendly and great home made food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Came with a group of walkers including kids and a dog all made welcome efficient service with a very friendly waitress with a really nice character very entertaining three real ales and food was restaurant quality nice and home made and good value the area is great for walks we did the ribble way good for scenery dogs n kids and easy to get to by regular bus or train

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevemasonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You have to try this place”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Went here after purchasing a voucher from local radio station. ..got to say the steak ciabatta was wonderful and my wife was very impressed with the haddock....it was early friday evening and the place was starting to get busy but nothing was too much trouble for the waitress/barmaid...we were already planning our next visit before the main course was finished....well done to all at the Brown Cow

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 465DaveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Poor Value and food”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

we went here for a meal, the steak was full of gristle and far overpriced, for a pub, my wife had shoulder of Lamb with roast potatoes not good at all, sorry but the whole meal was poor 2 glasses of wine 2 main courses, 2 desserts £50 very overpriced, staff was wonderful.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brown Cow also viewed

Chatburn, Clitheroe
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 
Bolton by Bowland, Clitheroe
 

Been to Brown Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing