We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Stayed here mid July 2011. Accommodation is fitted out to a very high standard and is a very comfortable place to stay. Plasmas in the living room and both bedrooms. Two things the cottages lack, a washing machine and an oven. If you were to buy a share in these, I would have thought these would be important if you were staying for a week.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, breakfast is plentiful and of good quality. Ate in the old clubhouse at lunchtime, good quality pub food, defiantly recommend.

The Machrihanish Dunes course is about 7.5 miles from the cottages. Some excellent holes but lots of blind shots! Enjoyed it a lot and hope the greens mature a bit in the coming years (only 2 years old!) There are also restrictions on what they can do with the course due to environmentalists, so as a result the paths are not well defined and very rough. Course is a tough walk due to all the hills. In a couple of years this will be a very good links.

Also played Machrihanish, good course in excellent condition. Plays a lot easier than Machrihanish Dunes.

Great place to visit and excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

This was second time we have stayed at the cottages on our yearly trip to Machrihanish and we will certainly be staying there next year. Comfortable, excellent facilities,a top breakfast and friendly hosts. What more do you want !!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAT2574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Stayed at the Ugadale Cottages while on a golfing trip with two friends. The standard of the accommodation in the cottage was second to none. I can also recommend a round or two of golf at The Macharanish Dunes Golf Club. The Staff could not have been more friendly. highly recommended i know three people who will be going back.

Room Tip: large & spacious rooms,beds are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbo1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I can't recommend The Ugadale Cottages highly enough. We were travelling in a group of five, and the others blew out two tires in a road accident. The staff were amazingly helpful getting this sorted out and extended our stay at a discount rate. The Cottages themselves are first class, new and charming, which is rare.The restaurant is good and a fun place to have drinks in an area with not that much else on offer. Some people will find the extreme undulating fairways and greens on the course annoying, but that's links golf -- it's a good challenge and there are lots of spectacular views. Plus the Old Course is right across the street from the Cottages so this is a must-play area for anyone who doesn't mind wind and isn't obsessed with his scorecard. All in all, this is one of the best dealsI've ever gotten, and I'm certainly going back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffersonchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Rating:
Cottages- 10 out of 10, i have only stayed in one accomodation of this kind which was better and this was £2 million villa in algarve. Quality furnishings, large screen TV in every room. top grade kitchen (not that we used it). only slight issue, none of us could work out the heating system or the gas fire, oh and there is a dial in master bedroom that we still dont know the purpose of it.
Food- had dinner in pub and breakfast, service was brill, staff really friendly, and not in that we want big tip way, food was excellent, could have been there for hours with breakfast choice. Even let us take food back to cottage for 2 peeps who couldnt get up in time.
Staff- really friendly, very helpful in everything. Very flexible with us over booking, we cancelled second day booking due to high winds as we didnt want to pay and nopt play again, but when we woke up the wind was weaker, staff suggested we go up and see what it was like on course before deciding, then when we were up there, they phoned to say it would be ok to go on for free as we hadnt got to play yesterday. Many other places would have just taken fee right away. All staff went out of their way to promote future deals, seemed really committed to making the place work. Management take note, pay rise should be considered.


OUR STORY
we took advantage of the may golf and stay offer. Alas we chose the two days that had the strongest winds recorded in may for many a year. Drive was long, but who can ever tire of Scotland. Upon arrival at course we were advised by other golfers it wasnt playable. But after 4 hour drive you want to find out for yourself. 5 holes in we gave up and trooped in like scene from Ice cold in Alex. To be offered what is the best bowl of soup ever in the clubhouse.
We then headed into Mach for accomodation, upon arrival we were told there was a power cut across west of scotland, so no hot food, draft beer or entertainment. Luckly it returned after an hour or so in accomodation. And off we went to the the pub.
After many local ales we headed back to luxury cottage for quality sleep.
Woke up next day to amazing view of atlantic out window and headed for breakfast, well some of us did, excellent food and service.
headed to course to try again, still windy, but great experience, course is amazing, but be prepared to be sand blasted if wind is up, came up minus 2 layers of skin less.
all in all brilliant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed 2 x nights mid-May as part of a Discovery Package (discounted price if you attend time-share/fractional ownership sales presentation). The accommodation in luxury self-catering two-bed cottages is really first class - very well-presented, very comfortable, cosy and all done to a very high standard. Large en-suite bathrooms with large walk-in showers, but no bath tub though. We could easily have been swayed to commit to buying here, the only issue being there's very little to do if you don't play golf... and it's not the easist location to get to. That being said, the golf at the new Machrahanish Dunes course is superb - raw, pure links golf, blind shots, wild bunkers, undulating greens, and all in magnificent view of the rolling Atlantic breakers. Exhilarating and then some. When the wind blows (all the time) it makes it a very challenging golf experience to say the least. We played just on the playable side of severe gusts (this was the wild weekend that saw storms with trees down and ferries cancelled.) The only issue is that the Mach Dunes course is a 10-15 minute drive away from the cottages, whilst the Old Mach course is only a minutes walk across the road -never got to play as the weather conditions deteriorated so much by the next day we were due to play it. Definatley worth a trip for any keen golfer.
The local Ugadale pub/clubhouse serves good food if limited menu, as there is a limit to where you may want to eat in nearby Campbeltown. Breakfast was good although they ran out of jam on the second day? Staff were very nice friendly,locals who were knowledgable about local area and proud to be involved with thier new development. Certainly worth a return trip, Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Choose the upstairs apartments for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

If you are planning golf in this part of the world, you could not do better than staying here. The tastefully decorated modern lodges are just in the edge of the Atlantic with the pub/restaurant just 50 metres away. The staff were all friendly and added to the whole ambience of the accasion. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
24.9 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
775 reviews
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#1 of 3 in Brodick
3,756 reviews
5 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
594 reviews
5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
291 reviews
5.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range: £152 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing