We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Macrihanish was an awesome experience-outstanding golf ,food accommodations and the best hospitality I have ever experienced.These folks really care about their guests . As an example,I had the misfortune to fall and injure my knee. The resort driver took me to a local clinic for treatment and waited to drive me back even taking me on a sight seeing tour of the local village.Also our flight was late and they waited up until 3AM to transport us from the dock where our transfer boat landed to the resort.You will not find a more friendly location to spend a few days golfing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakentCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

Four of us stayed two nights at two of the Ugadale cottages while playing both Machrihanish
Old and Dunes. The cottages were both great, very reminiscent of those at Bandon Dunes. The staff was wonderful, and the food at the bar and restaurant great (try the scallops). It is well worth the drive down the A83 'the long and winding road' to play golf there. I discovered while there that Paul McCartney wrote that song about the drive
down the Kintyre peninsula. Both golf courses are classic
links courses and well worth playing twice. One can walk across the street to play golf at the old course, look at Islay, or just watch the sea birds on the water. Our cottage had a very large living room with kitchen, and two bedrooms each with private bath. The interior was very nice and seemed brand new. All and all it was a wonderful stay with not one hitch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neilnlre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Ugadale Cottages at Machrihanish are a perfect location for a golf trip to Kintyre. The cottages are well appointed and the nearby bar & restaurant is perfect for relaxing after the challenges of Machrihanish Dunes golf course. The menu is varied, and food is good quality and value for money. All the staff are friendly and very helpful, and transport is provided to and from the golf course. If you don't play golf, it's a great place from which to explore the Kintyre peninsula with rugged coastlines and a variety of wildlife on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Get there before your friends do!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and I went to Mach Dunes with our two children in September 2011. The cottage was absolutely fantasic for a family stay, it was immaculate and finished to the highest standard. My son and I played at Mach Dunes and were blown away by the scenery and the set up of the course, its a golfers paradise. After our round we finished our day with a pint and a meal in "The Old Clubhouse". The food is of a very high standard ,reasonably priced and was enjoyed by all the family. Overall stunning scenery, immaculate accomodation all topped off by the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had a golf outing and the 4 of us stayed at the Ugadale cottages. It was one of the best accomodations paired with gracious hospitality i have ever experienced, Directly accross the street from the beach and Macrihanish GC-We walked there with our clubs-The course was fantastic. Also played unlimited golf at the Machrihanish Dunes-Great golf! The pub was Very friendly though the food was bland. They bent over backwards to accomodate us and even provided transportation to/fro Cambelltown where we came in on the Kintyre express (highly recommended). We all loved it and highly recommend the cottages.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

From the moment we arrived from the moment we left it was spectacular. The setting is picturesque with the beautiful beach, and the quaint village. The rooms super big, cozy and immaculate. The set up is nice with the 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms, which are huge and great shower, nice products and I lived in the bathrobe because it was chilly there even though it was August. We did an in room massage which was perfect after a long day of good golf. Course challenging but scenery worth it.
Another highlight was early morning run on the beach and thru the village, as the sun came up, it was peaceful and serene-only ones up were me and the sheep.
But the best part undoubtedly was the staff. They were kind, truly sincere, and accommodating. Amazing first trip to Scotland. This was our first stop as our trip continued but this by far the best overall part.
Also food was delicious at Pub and golf house. Great atmosphere and reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NEMMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Excellent accommodation. Very friendly service and reasonably priced. Intersting golf course. At first I was not sure so I came back and played it 6 weeks later and it is a must play for Links lovers.
It is not perfectly manicured, however if you are looking for that go play in the U.S. but see how many holes you can remember.
It can be disconcerting at first with some blind tee shots but you must remember what the designer is trying, and in my view has accomplished, - the way golf began. Be sure to play it off the correct tees - no room for machoism, I play off 1 and the whites were long enough for me.
Also some excellent views of the sea and Ireland beyond.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tictof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
5.0 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
80 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
576 reviews
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
282 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
296 reviews
5.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range: £115 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing