We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mach n Pleased” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mach n Pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

Visited Machrihanish with my wife, brother and sister in law. The Ugadale cottages were perfect suited for our stay. They were new, clean, comfortable and very well suited to the golf courses and clubhouse. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. The bedrooms were equiped with private baths and the common areas were perfect for relaxing after our golf rounds. While there is not a ton of "activity" around this area, the scenery provided the Scottish experience we desired. The food was amazing and my sister in law has a new found addiction to Hagis Nachos. Great visit and cannot wait to reurn.

Room Tip: Our cottage had no rooms on ground level which kept things very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    44
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
87
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Macrihanish was an awesome experience-outstanding golf ,food accommodations and the best hospitality I have ever experienced.These folks really care about their guests . As an example,I had the misfortune to fall and injure my knee. The resort driver took me to a local clinic for treatment and waited to drive me back even taking me on a sight seeing tour of the local village.Also our flight was late and they waited up until 3AM to transport us from the dock where our transfer boat landed to the resort.You will not find a more friendly location to spend a few days golfing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakentCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Four of us stayed two nights at two of the Ugadale cottages while playing both Machrihanish
Old and Dunes. The cottages were both great, very reminiscent of those at Bandon Dunes. The staff was wonderful, and the food at the bar and restaurant great (try the scallops). It is well worth the drive down the A83 'the long and winding road' to play golf there. I discovered while there that Paul McCartney wrote that song about the drive
down the Kintyre peninsula. Both golf courses are classic
links courses and well worth playing twice. One can walk across the street to play golf at the old course, look at Islay, or just watch the sea birds on the water. Our cottage had a very large living room with kitchen, and two bedrooms each with private bath. The interior was very nice and seemed brand new. All and all it was a wonderful stay with not one hitch.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilnlre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Ugadale Cottages at Machrihanish are a perfect location for a golf trip to Kintyre. The cottages are well appointed and the nearby bar & restaurant is perfect for relaxing after the challenges of Machrihanish Dunes golf course. The menu is varied, and food is good quality and value for money. All the staff are friendly and very helpful, and transport is provided to and from the golf course. If you don't play golf, it's a great place from which to explore the Kintyre peninsula with rugged coastlines and a variety of wildlife on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Get there before your friends do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

My wife and I went to Mach Dunes with our two children in September 2011. The cottage was absolutely fantasic for a family stay, it was immaculate and finished to the highest standard. My son and I played at Mach Dunes and were blown away by the scenery and the set up of the course, its a golfers paradise. After our round we finished our day with a pint and a meal in "The Old Clubhouse". The food is of a very high standard ,reasonably priced and was enjoyed by all the family. Overall stunning scenery, immaculate accomodation all topped off by the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had a golf outing and the 4 of us stayed at the Ugadale cottages. It was one of the best accomodations paired with gracious hospitality i have ever experienced, Directly accross the street from the beach and Macrihanish GC-We walked there with our clubs-The course was fantastic. Also played unlimited golf at the Machrihanish Dunes-Great golf! The pub was Very friendly though the food was bland. They bent over backwards to accomodate us and even provided transportation to/fro Cambelltown where we came in on the Kintyre express (highly recommended). We all loved it and highly recommend the cottages.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

From the moment we arrived from the moment we left it was spectacular. The setting is picturesque with the beautiful beach, and the quaint village. The rooms super big, cozy and immaculate. The set up is nice with the 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms, which are huge and great shower, nice products and I lived in the bathrobe because it was chilly there even though it was August. We did an in room massage which was perfect after a long day of good golf. Course challenging but scenery worth it.
Another highlight was early morning run on the beach and thru the village, as the sun came up, it was peaceful and serene-only ones up were me and the sheep.
But the best part undoubtedly was the staff. They were kind, truly sincere, and accommodating. Amazing first trip to Scotland. This was our first stop as our trip continued but this by far the best overall part.
Also food was delicious at Pub and golf house. Great atmosphere and reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEMMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Property: The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing