We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthwile Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worthwile Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We recently had a long week-end at The Ugadale Hotel at Machrihanish, and must say that the experience was just great. The reception, service and general atmosphere of the Hotel and surroundings were first class. The food at the Restaurant and the adjoining Pub were excellent and good value. The Hotel in general was clean and tidy. Well worth another visit. Their sister Hotel, The Royal Hotel in Campbeltown is equally as good.

Room Tip: The Classic rooms are good on then first floor, overlooking the car park to the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    44
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
87
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a golf (me)/walking break (her). Our room (No.6) was amazing, we booked a standard classic room, but it may have been an upgrade to a suite (?) as it was really big, had armchairs, a flat screen digital TV and a well equipped bathroom. The hotel offered a free shuttle bus service to/from the Ugadale hotel to the Royal Hotel in Campbeltown, the Machrihanish Dunes golf course and Campbeltown airport. As the hotel restaurant was full on the Saturday night (a partly of Danes had come in for the weekend on a private plane!!) and closed on the Sunday and Monday, we ate twice in the Old Clubhouse pub next door and once used the shuttle bus to eat at the Harbourview Grill at the Royal hotel. The hotel is close to the beach and next door to the Machrihanish Old golf course (Mach Dunes is about a 12 minute drive away). The staff were all really friendly and helpful, especially the shuttle bus drivers. This is a great place for a golf break - we will be back.

Room Tip: Our room (No.6) was at the back corner of the hotel, but still had a side on view of some of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed late July/early August. The reception and dining room staff could not be more helpful, or welcoming. We loved that there was a lift to take us, and our heavy bags up to the first floor. Our 'ocean view' room 4, was HUGE. The bed was Emperor-size; the bed linens were the finest quality. The abundant range of pillows meant that there was a pillow for every preference. Our room had a comfortable sitting area, a writing desk, multiple bag racks, a separate bar/sink area, and an in-room safe.
The bathroom was amongst the largest we came across on our Scottish holiday. I loved the twin vanities, ample bench space, gorgeous deep bathtub, separate power shower, soft towels and lovely toiletries. Rather than tiny little inaccessible bottles, the shampoo/conditioner containers had wide mouths; so that one could easily access the product! Voila!
Our 'view' room, had a lovely aspect to the ocean and the corner of the golf course.
Marvellous maitre`D, Dean, did a wonderful job looking after us, and our guests, in the 'Kintyre Club' dining room. We were glad we chose to dine 'in-house' as there didn't appear to be many options nearby.
Breakfast the next morning was fabulous. The chef produced the best scrambled eggs I have ever had.

Room Tip: Luxurious Room 4 was huge, and had lovely views over the ocean and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank u7jf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in one of the Ugadale Cottages with some friends! We were nearing the end of our trip and I must say the wonderful accommodations were greatly appreciated. The bed was one of the best during out stay and I can't say enough about the nice large shower. All of the staff was very accommodating as well. We showed up early afternoon and headed straight to Machrihanish Dunes in hopes of getting to play it a day earlier than we had arranged. " Absolutely" was the response! The very nice lady behind the counter even called the main golf shop to change it for us, made us a wonderful lunch, called the hotel to let them know we would be checking in later, and then even called and made us a dinner reservation at the Old Club House Pub! Now that is service!

We played both courses during our stay and both were simply breathtaking!

The internet was a little slow, but the front desk receptionist was wonderful with trying to help us check in for our upcoming flight!

In response to previous reviews....as an American visitor....the coffee was wonderful and freshly brewed, not instant like most of the places served on our trip! We love fresh brewed coffee!

See you Soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donaldrossgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Our all male group of friends recently stayed in the Ugadale Cottages as part of a golfing trip to Machrihanish. Although Machrihanish is a little out of the way to get to we arrived to find the accomodation was first class and staff super friendly and helpful. Cottages were immaculate inside and perfectly set up for our golfing group. Top quality linen and one of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. The adjacent pub and restaurant were excellent and would be highly reccomended. Staff here were very friendly and efficient. We ate there both nights and couldn't fault the standard of food or the service. Definitely reserve a table at the pub if its a weekend night.
A top weekend and a top location....5 stars!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nodroge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

WE arrived at this beautiful part of Scotland on the ferry from Ardrossan. Even before we had arrived we had the pleasure of soaking up some pretty fabulous views towards Arran with the sun starting to set behind this and the islands beyond. Arriving at the hotel was particularly pleasing as the last time we had seen the hotel it was still being renovated when we were staying at the Ugadale cottages. Our expectations were high as the cottages had been decorated to a very high standard and we had really enjoyed our stay. The Ugadale did not disappoint from the moment we walked into the reception. The hotel has been decorated sympathetically in a traditional style that combines comfort and luxury with generous sized rooms and there is a feeling of light and space throughout. The room on the orner of the hotel exceeded our expectations with windows on two sides with beautiful views looking onto the sea and hills respectively.

The service was impeccably delivered by Andrew, the front of house manager and his team. They could not do enough for us, including asking one of the staff to come out to advise us on a trip to the Isle of Gigha. We did not golf on this trip but both courses have a backdrop that is hard to beat. Both the dinner and the breakfast in the Kintyre restaurant within the hotel were delicious. The quality delivered by the hotel on accomodation and service is first class and and I am looking forward to returning soon with friends to enjoy the golfing and the spa. The pull to return is particularly strong as we look across to the Mull of Kintrye from our hometown of Ayr.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

With family at a recent wedding and was very impressed with luxurious accommodation and the helpful and cheerful staff. They made a wonderful wedding absolutely perfect, and the sun shone the whole weekend! Would return for a short break and golfers would love this place, challenging course I have been told!

Room Tip: We stayed in the very well equipped cottages, couldn't fault them if there were more than 2 peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowChristineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
24.9 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Property: The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing