We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic experience.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I just got back from Machrihanish and wanted to add my praise for the accommodations, golf and people associated with Machrihanish Dunes. I have been a member at Machrihanish Golf Club for 20 years and love it dearly. Over the years I and my guests have stayed pretty much everywhere in the Campeltown hotels and the Machrihanish B&B's. This year I went over with three guests. We spent the first two nights in a Ugadale cottage which was wonderful then moved to the Royal Hotel. The whole experience could not have been better. The cottage at Ugadale was spacious and the the staff was so helpful and friendly. It's a wonderful breakfast- where you start with helping yourself to a continental bar with coffee and the best croissants among other things. Then order from the menu. The van and exceptional drivers (thanks Billy and Andrew) took us around to town for dinner as well as Machrihanish Dunes when we wanted to go. The Royal Hotel was exceptional too and we loved the contrast between staying in the village of Machrihanish and then moving into town.

I have played the Dunes several times since it opened and I was wonderfully surprised this year at how much it has improved in playability. We played it twice and truly enjoyed the course but my heart will always be at Machrihanish Golf Club. I love the Club's staff and especially the membership. You really should have caddies if you want to enjoy the course, history and experience. Plus they will shave eight shots off your round through local knowledge.

Some places to go would include Seafeld House in Campbeltown which has new attentive ownership. The food was wonderful, the pints are generous (Belhave and Caledonian are my favorites) and probably the widest selection of scotches in the country. If you like Indian food, we have always frequented Taj Mahal on the waterfront across from the Information Center. The bars in Campbeltown are a treat- love the Commercial and this year we "discovered" Burnside- another pub right around the corner. (The bar at the Royal is great as is the bar at Ugadale that was originally the Beachcomber.)

You also need to take the tour of the Springbank distillery. This year we had a special tour with Frank McHardy that included a luncheon and touring all three distilleries then ending with some sampling.

So salutes to Ugadale, the Dunes and the Golf Club and the wonderful people on the Mull of Kintyre. Last comment- you can fly to Campbeltown but if driving on the left side of the road doesn't scare you- it is so Beautiful going through "Rest and Be Thankful", around Loch Fyne and down through Tarbert. Have fun!
BOBBY JONES

Room Tip: I didn't try the spa. There is a wonderful modern nautitorium in Campbeltown for swimming travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyJonesJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    45
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
37
89
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the accommodation 16- 19 sept. There were 10 of us so we shared 2 cottages and one suite in the hotel. The cottages were exceptional and the suite was the same .The cottages consisted of 2 double rooms with one on suite and a separate washroom for the other room .A fully equipped living room cum kitchen diner which was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful . We ate in the pub on the site and the food was very good .There was a shuttle bus which took us into Campbeltown on the 2nd night at a cost of £3 a head. The breakfast like the rest of the stay was good with a good selection and it set you up for the day .With unlimited golf on the machrihanish dunes golf thrown in with the cost of the hotel this was a ery good deal .The staff at the the course were very friendly and like laa the hotel staff made us feel at home. All in all a very worthwhile and enjoyable trip even after a 600 mile round trip but well worth it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clakcker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Getting married this July at Machrihanish Dunes was a truly magical experience. Although I (the bride) grew up in the area, nothing could prepare my husband or I for the exceptional level of accommodation and service we received from this impeccable company. On planning our wedding, we quickly established what we wanted. It needed to be laid back, a little bit luxurious, affordable for us and our guests, and above all fun. Well, Machrihanish Dunes certainly delivered on all of the above, and some......it turned out to be a party to end all parties! All our guests were treated to a weekend of absolute bliss and total relaxation. They stayed in the beautifully renovated Ugadale hotel and luxurious cottages and were well fed and watered at both the Kintyre Club and atmospheric Old Clubhouse pub. Friends and family enjoyed endless golf on the dunes course, walked along the beautiful beach, swam, surfed or simply drank in the views from the hotel across the atlantic ocean to the isles of Jura, Islay and beyond. The venue and surroundings were quite simply breathtaking.

However, that all said, none of this would have mattered if the people behind the organistation were not also first class. From the moment we booked the venue, back in 2011, to the day itself, the level of service we received from staff throughout the organisation was, without exception, outstanding. The professionalism, friendliness and willingness of everyone to help us out was so apparent - it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.

The unique location, venue and staff are the main components that set this company apart from all others we considered for our wedding or have had the pleasure of being wedding guests at. We cannot praise Machrihanish Dunes highly enough as a world class wedding venue and would encourage anyone to consider this amazing venue for their wedding day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katieoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hotel was fully booked and we had to spend two nights at another hotel in the area which was ok.
Managed to get a room in the Ugadale on our last night, as usual the hotel and the staff were excellent,pity we only managed the one night this time but hope we will have many more trips to the Ugadale 10/10.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Ugadale at Machrihanish is an overall amazing experience. Very, very comfortable hotel, friendly helpful staff, excellent food both in the hotel and in the Black Sheep pub.
The location is stunning giving you the feeling it will not be long until you return - thanks for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in the Cottages for a wedding and the facilities and setting were beautiful. Hotel staff were exceptional and even accommodated us when we missed breakfast after the wedding :-)

Not cheap, but you pay for the location. I would avoid eating at the onsite bar as the food wasn't great but otherwise a great wee watering hole. the beach is seconds away too. if you are a golfer, you would love it too.

All in all, a lovely place when the sun is shining.

Room Tip: Cottages were amazing, very spacious. if there are two couples or a family, this is a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We spent 5 nights in one of the "cottages". The units accommodated 4 easily. Each room has its own bathroom and the shower was tremendous especially after a round of golf. The staff went out go their way helping us by having a breakfast early for us the day we left and finding some Ardbeg for us. The meals in the restaurant were great and the pub was a great atmosphere. The golf at Machrhnish and Machrihanish dunes are a must. RO

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rkoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
5.0 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Property: The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing